We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheeky and very rude chalet chef, terrible food and not enough room for babies”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
R&S - Chalet Madosa
Ranked #33 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheeky and very rude chalet chef, terrible food and not enough room for babies”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here over christmas 2012 and it was horrendous. although the owners were nice ppl the staff where terrible they all fought among each other and the cook! (Dave) was not a people person to say the least! Telling us one morning that wee were spending to much time with our babies and keeping others back! And the next morning sorry u wont be having breakfast u shud have got up earlier!! He also told one of the other guests young son that he was not to move from the table until he had ate most if not all of his dinner! Rude. Every nite bar 1 the desert was "cheese board" disappointing considering it was just some left set out from the previous evening. Coming in from a day on the slopes we wers told there wer nice buns and cakes tea coffee and hot chocolate... not the case a store bought lemon drizzle cake and make ur own tea facility, we did not get the nice homebaked pastries that other chalets had. We did get left a nice little bag with cheap baby wipes and nappy bags out of date yoghurts and solid sponge fingers for the babies as well as getting charged the bargain price of £150 per child for these useless items and pureed carrot and potatoes for our children's dinner every nite, the Rooms where uncomfortably hot at nite and once the travel cot was up there was no room to move around the room at all. Morzi is a gorg little skiing village but this place brought the entire holiday down and the sad thing about it all was that the christmas tree was so small blink and u missed it and NO GRAVY OR STUFFING with christmas dinner !!!! altogether very disappointing We would never recommend this place to anyone. Avoid over priced and like being sent to a bootcamp my husband had better experiences in Iraq

Room Tip: Book some where else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank frances m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rideslide, Owner at R&S - Chalet Madosa, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Hello Frances, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your holiday on Trip Advisor.

Our aim is 100% customer satisfaction and it’s disappointing that you feel we did not achieve this for you. We now have over 100 independent reviews of our chalets on Trip Adviser and yours is the first that did not achieve a 5 start rating.

We were aware of an issue on the first morning of the holiday where your group had caused the other group in the chalet to miss their ski lessons due to you needing more time with your children than had been expected. Our chef tried to convey this to you in a jovial manner but you obviously didn’t take it this way so I visited the chalet to discuss the situation with other members of your group (you were unavailable at the time) and to apologise for any offense that had been caused. This was taken in very good nature by the other members of your party who agreed that things needed to be more organised in the mornings so other groups didn’t miss their lessons.

The following morning you did not arrive downstairs until after the breakfast time had finished so although there was no cooked breakfast for you our chalet team had realised you hadn’t eaten so arranged for the majority of the buffet continental breakfast to still be available to you, and that they would come back to the chalet during their non-working time to clear away after you.

We offer two cheese boards during the week plus we provided an additional cheese board on the Christmas day 5 course banquet (but not in replacement of a dessert). We have found over the years when offering 3 course meals in a chalet people usually do like a mixture of cheese boards and desserts during the week – something that you are informed of when booking the holiday.

All of our afternoon cakes are made in the chalet sometimes with the exception of the staff day off – although on this day we do still provide an afternoon cake/tea.

On return from skiing at the end of the day there is an extensive range of teas, coffees, juices & drinks, breads, jams and biscuits available to you although you do need to make the tea or coffee yourself – as with all catered chalets.

Our charge for children under 2 years old is £150 per week – considerably lower than many chalets childrens/baby prices. In addition we provide a welcome pack with essentials to help you at the start of the holiday. This includes a pack of nappies, baby wipes, and nappy sacks. There is a fridge stocked all week with snacks for the baby – yoghurts, fruit compotes, purees, biscuits and anything else that is requested by the group which is available to you all day every day. All of the snacks are in-date as we check these each week – having our own baby means we are fully aware of things such as this. I’m not sure on the price difference between different brands of baby wipes but we supply the same ones we use for our own children as we find these to be the best ones. In addition, our chef provides whatever type of meals you require for your baby as was discussed with you at the start of your holiday.

All of our rooms in this chalet have independent heating in them so all you would need to do is to turn this down if the room is to warm for you. You were also in a room that comfortably sleeps 4 adults so I’m not really sure why you felt the cot being in the room made things too cramped.

Our Christmas tree was over 6 feet tall and more than 4 feet in diameter, any larger and we would have struggled to fit it through the door! We realise that a Christmas holiday isn’t just the same as most ski weeks and go to great lengths to decorate the chalet and provide a wonderful Christmas experience.

Overall it’s disappointing you feel the holiday did not meet your expectations and also disappointing that you didn’t feel like you could talk to us about your issues. We visited the chalet many times during the week to chat with both members of your group and the other guests in the chalet so it does come as a surprise that you wait for 6 months to provide the feedback rather than allow us to address your issues – for example if you didn’t know how to adjust the heating in your room we could have quite easily shown you.

I hope you can continue to enjoy winter holidays in other chalets & hotels. Some of the other guests who shared the chalet with you have already booked to stay with us next winter so I personally feel that this fact, and our other reviews on Trip Advisor are a more accurate reflection of our chalets and the services we provide.

Jonathan & Lisa, owners of Ride & Slide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here march 2013. Morzine was a fantastic ski resort and is ideal for all levels. I'm a beginner and the hubby is a pro-but there were so many areas we could both ski together.
The chalet was warm, cosy, modern and very well equipped. There's a great hot tub for relaxing after a hard day on the slopes. We didn't use the sauna while we were there. The main kitchen living area has everything you need,tv (with wii dance for a dance off with your chalet mates!) , fire, a fridge filled with beer,soft drinks, sweets which u can buy as you go along. Free wine at any time of the day. Tea and coffee making facilities. There is a games room with a pool table. The food was amazing!! Eggs benedict, omelettes etc for breakfast. Great cakes for afternoon tea, and a beautiful resteraunt standard 3 course meal in the evening.
There is a shuttle service to the slopes but if you don't want to be restricted you can just jump on the free bus outside that runs every 15mins. Only a 10min walk into town. The staff -Julia, Trinny and Dave were very friendly, helpful and so hard working. Ride and slide seem to have it all covered..would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Morzine is a great location with a short flight and transfer and Chalet Madosa is an excellent place to stay. Very well organised from start to finish including the airport transfers, ski equipment hire and ski passes. The chalet staff (Trini, Julia, and Dave) were very friendly and professional and made us feel at home from the outset. The food was very good and my specific food requirements were catered for extremely well.

The chalet itself was the best equipped chalet my partner and I have ever stayed in, with hot tub, sauna, games room, and games console. With the exception of the sauna we made good use of all of these particularly the hot tub after a hard day's skiing with a beer or a glass of wine.

The shuttle bus to and from the ski lifts was very useful although the town centre was within easy walking distance (without ski boots!).

We would come back here again and definitely recommend RIde & Slide and Chalet Madosa.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surinder V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Good Transfer from Geneva with Skiddy Gonzales, though took a bit over the one hour because of the Geneva Motor Show. Excellent accommodation, Ski & Boot Rental delivered to Chalet & Lift Passes, really good group of fellow guests, very friendly Hosts, Chefs & staff (Dave, Julia & Trini) who were so kind, helpful & informative as to weather & where to go, also, lifts at start & end of the day, if you did not want to either walk 10 mins with skis & boots(only 5 mins in normal footwear) or catch the free bus.
I have had skiing holidays with Scott Dunn amongst other companies & Ride & Slide scored very highly & excellent value of money ~ really recommend. Karen L

Room Tip: I sleep with the window open & it was very quiet. Spacious room with double bed, lots of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rideslide, Owner at R&S - Chalet Madosa, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you so much for all the positive reviews we have received recently, its great to know that we are getting it right in every way and its also great for the Team at Ride & Slide Chalet Madosa to see such positive reviews in print.

Once again thanks for choosing to come and stay with us I do hope we see you back here again

Kind Regards

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

If you are going to book a holiday and want to be really looked after then do not bother with anyone else and book Chalet Madosa with Ride & Slide. From the minute you arrive it is all done for you in a very relaxing environment. Great bedroom with plenty of room and quality furnishing and the rest of the chalet is spacious, giving it a real home from home feel. Then there is the food prepared and served by the wonderful team definitely restaurant quality and all beautifully presented unlimited wine and a very reasonable honesty bar (unlike staying in a hotel). We have been skiing in the area for over 10 years, but if this is your first time then there is loads of help on hand to make sure you get exactly what you are looking for. Thank you for a brilliant time and we will be booking again as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Nyon room has a balcony, it faces onto the road but we did not find the noise a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Once again we return from yet another fantastic holiday with Ride & Slide. Chalet Madosa is excellent for those wanting that bit extra. It's luxury accommodation, central position, & most importantly the hot tub, which was well used at the end of the day to relax & discuss our days skiing!!
The team are excellent & really look after you, but you may need to diet when you get home cause the food is rich, tasty & plentiful.
We have been going back to Ride & Slide chalets for the last 7 years, they are definitely worth a visit.
Tracey & Billy
Carlisle

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony which was lovely, we also had a bath in our room but not necessary as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed with Ride and Slide at Madosa on 5th Jan 13 with my wife and two of our friends.

Had an excellent stay from start to finish. Reception was very welcoming and informative, they accommodated my pregnant wife's dietary reqiurements with no problems whatsoever.

Within an hour we were clued up on all there was to know about the village we would be staying in. Dave and Trinny the chalet hosts were top class. Dave seemed to have a lifetime of knowledge about the slopes and gave great guidance on the best places to go each day. His cooking was fantastic and we never went hungry! Also, thanks to Trinny his assistant, the service was of restaurant quality, there was never an empty wine bottle on the table!

We went there as a group of four and met another four at chalet, so eight of in total staying. Everyone got on really well, the social area was big enough for us all and if we needed our own space there was also the hot tub and the sauna to spread out in :)

To finish off I left my camera in one of the transfer vans on the way to the airport (Skiidy Gonzalas) and Ride and Slide managed to track it down for me and return it. Cant thank them enough. Thumbs up all round on a great skiing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorMusselburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rideslide, Owner at R&S - Chalet Madosa, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
On behalf of Jonathan and myself just want to say a big thank you to all our guests for their great reviews and kind words. We strive to achieve the best we can and aim to give our customers the holiday they deserve. All this is only possible with the help of our staff who do an amazing job, so thanks guys... top team.

Once again thanks to all our guests for being such great people to spend good times with.

Lisa & Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
3.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#46 of 50 in Morzine
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#38 of 50 in Morzine
39 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Atria-Crozats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R&S - Chalet Madosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R&S - Chalet Madosa

Property: R&S - Chalet Madosa
Address: 994 route de la Plagne, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Morzine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing