We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, banter, service and skiing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
R&S - Chalet Madosa
Ranked #31 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, banter, service and skiing!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Having had a great time with Ride and Slide last year I was keen to book with them again, this time with a larger group of friends. This time we were a little late in booking so only chalet Madosa was available which was lucky considering it was a Saturday to Saturday transfer and we were Sunday to Sunday.

We arrived early Sunday Monday and were immediately picked up by the driver John (the owner) had arranged and in less than 90 minutes we were meeting chalet hosts Jordan and Zoe and tucking into lovely carrot cake that chalet chef Dave had prepared. Half an hour later and we were heading up the mountain with Jordan while the rest of the group unpacked and explored the town. For anyone considering skiing on the day of arrival the debutant lift pass should give you enough area to play around with. It's only €21 vs €35 for the whole area pass for 5 hours or €39 for the day.

By 4.30 we were completely worn out and were able to meet Jordan again at 4.30 for two minute lift back to the chalet for yet more cake followed by a trip to the sauna and then hot tub. This is the life!

At 7.30 the groups in the chalet came together for dinner (6 couples) and had a really tasted beef dish that just melted in the mouth. Within the groups there was a veggie as well as someone that was gluten and diary intolerant but they were very well taken care of. House wine (red or white) was freely available at the table and following desert there wasn’t a big debate about taking the last of the bottle to the lounge area.

Our first day really set the tone for the week for the week. A tasty breakfast followed by a quick lift or two down the lifts from Jordan, followed by a hard day’s sking/boarding. Most days we managed to meet Jordan for the return lift but on the rare occasion we were late it was only a 10 minute walk in snowboard boots (12 minutes in ski boots). If we weren't in the sauna or hottub then we were playing pool downstairs sipping a cold beer.

Dinner was always around 7.30 and we had a variety of starters and main meals during the week including fish, chicken and my personal favourite- tartiflette as well as a tasty selection of deserts. Unlike La Feme a Mamy the cheese and port selection only came out once in the week but this time we had Jordan’s cheesy jokes to contend with.

Wednesday night was chalet night off and Katy (Ride and Slide manager) had booked us into a local restaurant (L’Etale). Be warned this place serves great food but is super busy and they couldn’t find our reservation. Luckily another group had cancelled so we got their table although the other group had to wait about half and hour to be seated. It was a messy night but we made it back in one piece and were up bright and some of us were up bright and early in the morning.

Overall we had a great time in the chalet and really enjoyed the hosting from Jordan, Zoe and cooking from Dave. The only slight negative I could say about the chalet was the fact that the bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms were not the largest (especially in comparison to their other chalet). That being said we did not spend a huge amount of time in them and they were clean, comfortable and the water was always hot. We also were supplied decent toiletries (shower gel etc) as well as slippers and robes for the sauna etc.

Speaking on behalf of the group we would definitely return if only to hear more of Jordan’s cheesy jokes and debate 90’s music with Dave! If the snow's good later this season we'll be back for more.

Room Tip: All the rooms upstairs are similar size although i think one had a bathtub/shower. Two of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic week at Chalet Madosa. Amazing food cooked by the chef Dave. Our holiday was made complete by the excellent chalet hosts Zoe & Jordan.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, they were very accommodating to everyone in the chalet
The chalet was in a great location, very spacious and comfortable. Best chalet we have stayed. Thanks again for a great holiday.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Snowgirl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rideslide, Front Office Manager at R&S - Chalet Madosa, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
On behalf of the team at Ride and Slide I just want to say a big thank you for your review. It is great for the Team at Ride & Slide Chalet Madosa to see such positive reviews in print.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us this year and we hope to see you again in the future!

Katy

Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Have just returned from a week here with my other half and had an amazing time.

The chalet is great, loads of space, separate bar area, loads of seating, great bedrooms and lots of lovely little touches like bathrobes, slippers etc. Location was perfect for us, not right in the heart of the noisy town centre but close enough so we could get anywhere we wanted with ease. The chalet even do a minibus service to from the lifts if you want it - seemed a bit pointless to us, we were happy to either walk or jump on the free ski bus that stopped right outside!

My high lights of the week were a combination of the Daves amazing food and the service provided by Zoe & Jordan. Nothing was too much trouble, they were really friendly but professional and pitched everything just right.

Was a truly fantastic ski trip - we're big Morzine fans and having tried quite a few chalets/companies in Morzine now this one is certainly one we'll be coming back to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugisinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rideslide, Front Office Manager at R&S - Chalet Madosa, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we really appreciate the time you've taken to write something about us! We strive to achieve the best we can and aim to give our customers the holiday they deserve. All this is only possible with the help of our staff who do an amazing job, so thanks guys... top team.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us this year and we hope to see you again in the future!

Katy
Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just come back from a week at Chalet Madosa and what a great time! Perfect perfect perfect. Fantastic chalet, loads of space, nicely furnished, free full size pool table, hot-tub, sauna, UK tv, free wifi, just everything you could want. Location is great, not right in the centre of the noisy town but not too far out that it felt like a chore getting anywhere. Add to that the minibus service, plus a free ski bus right outside and the Super Morzine's an easy walk away and you couldn't get better.

Highlights of the week - Dave's food was fantastic, probably the most perfect Duck I've ever eaten and a blueberry tart desert that I could have gone to heaven with!

Zoe & Jordans hosting of the chalet was exceptional - just the right balance of professionalism, enthusiam and friendliness - they seemed to just know what we needed before we did!

Booking was a pleasure and the SNOW concierge made everything so easy for us - all we had to do was turn up!

This was my first trip with Ride & Slide, the owners Lisa & Jon came by on plenty of occasions to make sure everything was running well and it certainly was. The team in the chalet are a credit to the owners and we will certainly be returning again - hopefully this winter!

Room Tip: We had Bedroom 1 - it's the only bedroom downstairs and is off of the pool room but there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSnowFun27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rideslide, Front Office Manager at R&S - Chalet Madosa, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We would like to say a big thank you for your fantastic review! Dave, Zoe and Jordan really appreciate seeing that their hard work has paid off!
We are so please that you have enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Again a big thank you from Team Ride & Slide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a week at Ride & Slide last winter and loved it so much we've just rebooked for next year.

The chalet is great, plenty of space, seating, separate bar area (with free pool table!) and our bedroom could easily sleep 4 adults - we were a couple and there was no surcharge on the empty beds in the room either. The hot-tub and sauna just add extra sparkle to a great chalet.

Location is really nice, it's not right in the centre so you don't get disturbed by noise from the bars but it's close enough to everything so you can get anywhere you want easily. There was a minibus to the slopes in the morning and back after snow time but to be honest we rarely used the service.

The things that really set the chalet and Ride & Slide apart from the other places we've stayed (lots of other chalets in Morzine and across the Alps) is the standard of food and the level of service/professionalism.

Chef Dave put outsome amazing dishes, we've never eaten such a well prepared and varied weeks worth of food - and that's with one of us being a rather fussy vegetarian! His daily weather updates were awesome as well - he seemed to know what the weather was going to do before it did! Julia & Trini both kept the chalet in an immaculate state and nothing was ever too much trouble.

The whole booking process with Ride & Slide was faultless - Lisa & Jonathan seem to have a real passion for their business, an amazing level of professionalism but it's all personal enough to show that they really care about their guests.

Overall we can't fault it - we've rebooked for next year and imagine we'll be going back for years after that as well!

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs mezzanine room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncamsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here over christmas 2012 and it was horrendous. although the owners were nice ppl the staff where terrible they all fought among each other and the cook! (Dave) was not a people person to say the least! Telling us one morning that wee were spending to much time with our babies and keeping others back! And the next morning sorry u wont be having breakfast u shud have got up earlier!! He also told one of the other guests young son that he was not to move from the table until he had ate most if not all of his dinner! Rude. Every nite bar 1 the desert was "cheese board" disappointing considering it was just some left set out from the previous evening. Coming in from a day on the slopes we wers told there wer nice buns and cakes tea coffee and hot chocolate... not the case a store bought lemon drizzle cake and make ur own tea facility, we did not get the nice homebaked pastries that other chalets had. We did get left a nice little bag with cheap baby wipes and nappy bags out of date yoghurts and solid sponge fingers for the babies as well as getting charged the bargain price of £150 per child for these useless items and pureed carrot and potatoes for our children's dinner every nite, the Rooms where uncomfortably hot at nite and once the travel cot was up there was no room to move around the room at all. Morzi is a gorg little skiing village but this place brought the entire holiday down and the sad thing about it all was that the christmas tree was so small blink and u missed it and NO GRAVY OR STUFFING with christmas dinner !!!! altogether very disappointing We would never recommend this place to anyone. Avoid over priced and like being sent to a bootcamp my husband had better experiences in Iraq

Room Tip: Book some where else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank frances m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rideslide, Owner at R&S - Chalet Madosa, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Hello Frances, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your holiday on Trip Advisor.

Our aim is 100% customer satisfaction and it’s disappointing that you feel we did not achieve this for you. We now have over 100 independent reviews of our chalets on Trip Adviser and yours is the first that did not achieve a 5 start rating.

We were aware of an issue on the first morning of the holiday where your group had caused the other group in the chalet to miss their ski lessons due to you needing more time with your children than had been expected. Our chef tried to convey this to you in a jovial manner but you obviously didn’t take it this way so I visited the chalet to discuss the situation with other members of your group (you were unavailable at the time) and to apologise for any offense that had been caused. This was taken in very good nature by the other members of your party who agreed that things needed to be more organised in the mornings so other groups didn’t miss their lessons.

The following morning you did not arrive downstairs until after the breakfast time had finished so although there was no cooked breakfast for you our chalet team had realised you hadn’t eaten so arranged for the majority of the buffet continental breakfast to still be available to you, and that they would come back to the chalet during their non-working time to clear away after you.

We offer two cheese boards during the week plus we provided an additional cheese board on the Christmas day 5 course banquet (but not in replacement of a dessert). We have found over the years when offering 3 course meals in a chalet people usually do like a mixture of cheese boards and desserts during the week – something that you are informed of when booking the holiday.

All of our afternoon cakes are made in the chalet sometimes with the exception of the staff day off – although on this day we do still provide an afternoon cake/tea.

On return from skiing at the end of the day there is an extensive range of teas, coffees, juices & drinks, breads, jams and biscuits available to you although you do need to make the tea or coffee yourself – as with all catered chalets.

Our charge for children under 2 years old is £150 per week – considerably lower than many chalets childrens/baby prices. In addition we provide a welcome pack with essentials to help you at the start of the holiday. This includes a pack of nappies, baby wipes, and nappy sacks. There is a fridge stocked all week with snacks for the baby – yoghurts, fruit compotes, purees, biscuits and anything else that is requested by the group which is available to you all day every day. All of the snacks are in-date as we check these each week – having our own baby means we are fully aware of things such as this. I’m not sure on the price difference between different brands of baby wipes but we supply the same ones we use for our own children as we find these to be the best ones. In addition, our chef provides whatever type of meals you require for your baby as was discussed with you at the start of your holiday.

All of our rooms in this chalet have independent heating in them so all you would need to do is to turn this down if the room is to warm for you. You were also in a room that comfortably sleeps 4 adults so I’m not really sure why you felt the cot being in the room made things too cramped.

Our Christmas tree was over 6 feet tall and more than 4 feet in diameter, any larger and we would have struggled to fit it through the door! We realise that a Christmas holiday isn’t just the same as most ski weeks and go to great lengths to decorate the chalet and provide a wonderful Christmas experience.

Overall it’s disappointing you feel the holiday did not meet your expectations and also disappointing that you didn’t feel like you could talk to us about your issues. We visited the chalet many times during the week to chat with both members of your group and the other guests in the chalet so it does come as a surprise that you wait for 6 months to provide the feedback rather than allow us to address your issues – for example if you didn’t know how to adjust the heating in your room we could have quite easily shown you.

I hope you can continue to enjoy winter holidays in other chalets & hotels. Some of the other guests who shared the chalet with you have already booked to stay with us next winter so I personally feel that this fact, and our other reviews on Trip Advisor are a more accurate reflection of our chalets and the services we provide.

Jonathan & Lisa, owners of Ride & Slide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here march 2013. Morzine was a fantastic ski resort and is ideal for all levels. I'm a beginner and the hubby is a pro-but there were so many areas we could both ski together.
The chalet was warm, cosy, modern and very well equipped. There's a great hot tub for relaxing after a hard day on the slopes. We didn't use the sauna while we were there. The main kitchen living area has everything you need,tv (with wii dance for a dance off with your chalet mates!) , fire, a fridge filled with beer,soft drinks, sweets which u can buy as you go along. Free wine at any time of the day. Tea and coffee making facilities. There is a games room with a pool table. The food was amazing!! Eggs benedict, omelettes etc for breakfast. Great cakes for afternoon tea, and a beautiful resteraunt standard 3 course meal in the evening.
There is a shuttle service to the slopes but if you don't want to be restricted you can just jump on the free bus outside that runs every 15mins. Only a 10min walk into town. The staff -Julia, Trinny and Dave were very friendly, helpful and so hard working. Ride and slide seem to have it all covered..would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
3.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
30 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Les Rhodos
#45 of 50 in Morzine
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R&S - Chalet Madosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R&S - Chalet Madosa

Property: R&S - Chalet Madosa
Address: 994 route de la Plagne, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Morzine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing