We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere and surroundings match the great food and service”
Review of The Farmhouse

The Farmhouse
Ranked #104 of 164 Restaurants in Morzine
Price range: US$50 - US$89
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and surroundings match the great food and service”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

If you are looking for a special night with good food and company then book a meal at The Farmhouse. As soon as you enter the building you will start to feel there is something magical about the place. It is warm and softly lit, comfortable and not at all stuffy. We were offered a champagne cocktail to begin with and this was followed by delicious canapes. We were then led through to the dining hall where there was one long table for all the guests to sit and eat together. An extremely tasty three course meal followed with plenty to drink (all inclusive) and attentive service. Everyone was so friendly and it was one of the most fun evenings of our stay in Morzine. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whichresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    2
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Be Prepared To Be Treated As A Commoner”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I'd picked out a restaurant to visit on our chalet hosts night off, but persuaded by their recommendation, we booked The Farmhouse instead.

The evening didn't start well, as we spent 20 minutes walking backwards and fowards trying to find the building. Eventually, there were enough people in the same situation as us meaning we could knock on every door until we found it. There was/is no sign of The Farmhouse, but instead a very dimly lit building with a French name on it (Google Maps shows it on the wrong side of the road, by the way).

As we entered, we were met by the English owners who eyed each and every person to see if we were worthy. When I commented that a lit sign outside would be useful, one of the residents (the restaurant is primarily a hotel) stated, "perhaps we don't want to be found".

We sat in the parlour after struggling to be served, but were very quickly asked - "are you here on a booking - oh, then follow me....", by one of the staff. We were hearded out of the lounge area with the rest of those unlucky enough to have booked a table.

After being shown to a small room and sat down, the staff disappeared, closing a curtain behind them. A few minutes later, someone arrived to show us how to eat Escargo (which most people didn't), and then went on to explain how to use the hot plate in front of us to cook the main course.

As you can see from my photo, the room was almost pitch black, and had a very low celing. 4 people were expected to share the hot plate, cooking a selection of meats and vegetables in the dark. Very clearly, you didn't have a prayer of cooking anything properly, so most of the food came out done to a crisp, Because of the size of the room and the 7 hotplates smouldering away on the table, everyone else had also started cooking very nicely!

Clearly, the wine included was incredibly expensive, as the only person we saw during the majority of the meal was a lone waitress who popped her head through the curtain every 45 minutes to dribble some wine into our glasses. Please feel free to spot the full wine glass in my other photo! I guess they must have been too busy eaiting on the table of residents on the other side of the curtain.

The finale to the meal was having my desert wrenched from under me mid-mouthful. When I turned to explain that I was actually still eating, the waitress just ignored me and wandered off with my half-eaten apple pie.

Quite clearly, the owners of this restaurant feel that anyone visiting is sub-standard to their normal guests, and only tollerate them to pay the rent. If you would like to part with £50 per person to be treated as some kind of imbecile, then please feel free to try this place out.

I have eaten in some exceptional restaurants around the world, but NEVER been made to feel the way I was that night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ratkinsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An atmospheric evening with a Twist”
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

A very Special evening with excellence Food. Dining by candlelight in an Old farmhouse Building 1772 made this a memorable Dining experience with a difference.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We went on the Wednesday night as it was our chalet staffs night off. All i can say is what a gorgeous place to eat, the oldest building in Morzine and its steeped in history. Check this place out!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morzine, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional cuisine in outstanding surroundings”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We came here a couple of months ago for their 7 course New Year banquet. It was absolutely sensational and the chef did an outstanding job of serving up course after course of delicious creations. The skills shown by the chef team were amazing; home made champagne foie gras, Asian crab and prawn ravioli, fillet of beef, a local cheese course to die for! This is just a few of the courses we enjoyed and all were accompanied with different and complimentary wines. The service was really great as well and is was all topped off by a fun New Year party in the bar afterwards! Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Farmhouse also viewed

Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to The Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing