We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Joran”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Highs Chalet Joran
Ranked #80 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in Chalet Joran from March 25 to March 29. A beautiful chalet in Morzine well placed for the Prodains Lift - straight up to Avoriaz. We arrived on the Tuesday night and were only going to be there for 4 days so Steffi and Dave changed the night off for the chalet hosts so that we would get a meal every night. Very considerate. Great food and great service. We were driven to the lift of our choice every morning and collected in the evenings. Comfortable rooms, lots of hot water and excellent food. Big TV with some films if you wanted it. The town is about 10 minutes walk away. Hot tub and steam room also available. We had a great stay and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks to the chalet hosts Olly and Kat who were both very good.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

Hi Mike,

Very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Ollie and Kat looked after you so well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at Chalet Joran in March 2014 and from the pick up from the airport to being dropped back, the whole experience was fabulous. Dave picked us up in a brand new minibus with child seats for our 1 and 5 year old and we were met with cake and coffee on arrival at the chalet. The food we had at every meal was superbly cooked by Olly and Kat, both of whom went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and they cooked separate meals for the children including make-your-own pizza one afternoon. The finish on the chalet is outstanding, and the view from the enormous window in the living room is incredible! Access to the slopes was easy, Olly dropped us off in the minibus in the mornings or there is a bus stop right outside for a 5 minute bus journey to the lifts. The living room is a particular highlight with the amazing window and fireplace which was lit for us every afternoon. We will definitely be booking with Alpine Highs again next season. Thanks again to Dave, Steffi, Olly and Kat :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatyVDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

Hi Kate,

Thanks for your lovey review. It was a pleaseure having you all stay and enjoyed Mikes' Defender enthusiasm!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed in the chalet over New Year 2013-2014 and couldnt have wished for a nicer place to stay.

The accommodation within the chalet is perfect with an amazing communal dining area and lovely bedrooms, bathrooms and beds that I actually got a good sleep in (I don't normally sleep although the apres ski may have helped).

The food was the most amazing thing about the stay. Every meal was 5 star and made the restaurant that we ate out in look distinctly average.

We'd reccomend heading to the Avoriaz area for skiing which is only 5 mins up the road, especially if you have a mixed ability group.

Oh, and last but not least the hosts... Kat & Ollie were fantastic and went the extra mile to look after us and were a real credit to Dave & Steffi.

I'd highly recommend this chalet for a lot of fun, good skiing/boarding, apres ski, amazing food and a few hazy alcohol infused evenings (hangovers don't exist in the air of avoriaz).

Thanks for having us.
Drew

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hey Drew,

Thanks for such a nice review! It was a pleasure to have you guys stay with us and we're glad that you got the most out of it and you get the award for best snow angels in unusual places!

I know Oli and Kat enjoyed looking after you and they are very pleased you loved the cooking!

Dave Steffi, Kat and Oli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Wonderful chalet with everything you'd want. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Dave and Steffi terrific hosts and full of good advice. Olly and Kat looked after us really well daily and could not do enough for us. Food out of this world.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for the lovely review Sarah, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We returned to Apartment Joran for the third time and its as lovely as ever - we can't imagine staying anywhere else in Morzine! We feel completely at home in the apartment and we just picked up from where we left off last year!

Dave & Steffi are great hosts, along with their staff Olly & Kat, they made sure we had everything we needed for a great holiday. From the moment we arrived, everything was taken care of - lift passes & ski hire arranged, fabulous food & drink, and lifts to the resort all delivered with a smile. It feels like we're staying with friends!

The great ski area keeps us coming back for more; we explored more of the region this time too which was great and have added some more runs to our list of favourites.

Thanks again guys for another fab holiday - see you all next year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheltenhamOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hey Lai,

Great to see you guys again and thanks once again for a great review! So glad Tim could get out and make the most of his knee in the end!! Here's to more adventures in Switzerland!

Dave Steffi, Oli and Kat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Usually when we go for a winter break the accomodation isn't a high priority but this time we decided to go for a catered chalet, and ski for the first time in Morzine and therefore Port Du Soleil. The skiing was great and this time we got to come back to an amazing chalet where we were very well fed by fantastic cooking courtesy of Olly & Kat. The Chicken Pie Olly made on the Wednesday i think it was, was absolutely delicious. We got freshly baked croissants for breakfast and a different cake everyday upon our return from the slopes. Dave and Steffi were also fantastic with Dave giving us a great tour of the mountains on one of our days on the slopes. The sauna and jacuzzi were frequently used and felt great. I can't recommend this place enough and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, 2 of which have a mezzanine above the beds, so it depends how many of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi Lewis,

So glad you guys had a good time. Great vibe in the chalet at max capacity!! Hope 'Dave the button' is ok now!

Dave and Steffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Probably the greatest ski chalet in the world.
We had an amazing week over new year staying in chalet Joran. Dave and Steffi have got everything so right and we honestly could not fault a single thing. They are such welcoming and obliging people, nothing was too much trouble. It became quickly clear that they have employed the best of the best in their staff- the amazing Kat and Olly. Those two(aided of course by Dave and Steffi) provided an immaculate chalet, transport to and from lifts whenever we needed, michelin star quality three course evening meals, breakfasts and even afternoon teas- different homemade cake every day (Mary Berry has nothing on them)
There was a fantastic sauna and outdoor hot tub ready to use anytime, roaring log fire and our hosts even joined in(and excelled at) our evening games.
You could not wish for anything more in a ski holiday, the absolute complete package. Anyone reading this review- book now! you won't regret it
Thank you so very much for giving us the holiday of a lifetime guys,
Stu and Rachelle

Room Tip: Any room is amazing and faultless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hey guys!

So glad that you enjoyed your week with us! Its always a pleasure to have such nice guests come and stay and we know that Oli and Kat really enjoyed having you guys with us. Thanks for the lovely review and we hope to see you all again soon!

Steffi, Dave Oli and Kat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
83 reviews
2.1 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
816 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#29 of 50 in Morzine
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Highs Chalet Joran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Highs Chalet Joran

Address: 242 route des Ardoisieres, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Joran is a superb, new chalet in Morzine, at the heart of the Portes du Soleil ski region. We have a 12 person Chalet and a 6 person apartment both offereing an excellent and comfortable base for your holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing