We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant in summer too!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ski & Summer Morzine - Chalet BonBon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ski & Summer Morzine - Chalet BonBon
Ranked #27 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant in summer too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Having fallen in love with Chalet BonBon in the winter of 2011-2012, we returned April 2013 to ski & again in early July 2013 for a walking holiday. It's not just the comfort of the chalet (which has been beautifully refurbished), but the staff that make a holiday there so special. Pete is a
wonderful host, achieving a perfect balance of professionalism and friendliness. During our latest week, Laura (ski guide) looked after us beautifully for the first couple of nights until Pete's return from holiday. We had timed our week to coincide with the changeover so that we could catch up with them both. It felt like a holiday with old friends - okay less of the old - we're old enough to be their parents, but that doesn't stop them making us feel like good friends.
Hugo, the new chef turned out to be a great addition to the team, producing delicious food &
being attentive to our dietary preferences. A keen mountain biker, he can give you all the information you need on how to enjoy the biking, complementing Pete's extensive knowledge of the walking and other activities in the area.
I wouldn't normally choose a chalet in the centre of town, but the noise doesn't seem to be too
much of an issue & the staff & comfort of the BonBon now make it our first choice. In many ways it's great to be so central: easy access to both ski areas; handy for shops & nightlife; close to the Tourist Office; front-row seats for any entertainment at Le Coup de Coeur or in the square; and, in summer, a free underground car park just around the corner.
It was our first summer visit to Morzine & we weren't disappointed. The walking was brilliant -
plenty of walks that can be started from the chalet, sometimes using the wide range of lifts to
access other areas including Switzerland. In summer the chalet can organise a "multipass" for 1 euro which gives pedestrian access to all the lifts, or 2 euros if you want to include swimming
pool, etc. Mountain bikers pay more. It was a bit odd at first using a chairlift without skis, but it
was a great way to get up or down the mountain. Just remember to have something warm to wear on the lifts, especially the Mossette which gives access to Switzerland.
A car is useful to get to the other areas such as Sixt Fer a Cheval, a horseshoe of stunning peaks with tumbling waterfalls every way you look, but there are plenty of walks & other activities to keep you busy for several weeks without leaving Morzine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhichWayIsUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morzine, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed at the Chalet Bonbon on three occasions in winter 2013. The chalet has a very warm and charming atmosphere. The staff are friendly and sociable and are very knowledgeable about the town and ski area. The food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious!! You couldn't pick a better location -- it's only a few minutes walk from both the Super Morzine and Pleney lifts as well as the bars and restaurants in town. Excellent bakery below as well; though you needn't spend money there because the breakfast, tea and dinner are so tasty in the chalet!

The rooms are lovely; very well maintained and kept immaculately clean. The beds are really comfortable and the views from the balconies are stunning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TayMac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

17-24 mar 2013

For previous visits to Morzine, we had always stayed at Chalet Savoy - another Ski Morzine property and always been happy with the location & facilities. This year they didn't have availability for the week we wanted and suggested we try Chalet Bonbon - how pleased we are that they did!
Don't let the unobtrusive front entrance fool you, this place is like a Tardis. Through the front door onto a small, heated boot room, beyond that to a small lobby for shoes etc, then up the stairs to Chalet Heaven!
The spacious dining room, bar and sitting room are all open plan with views front and back. The guest rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed but the jewel in the Bonbon's crown is the team of staff.
Pete the host is charming and welcoming, runs a tight ship so nothing seems an effort, he's knowledgeable about the area and what's going on and he's good company over dinner without overshadowing any of the guests. Lucy was a delight at breakfast time and a darn good cook as we found out later in the week! But let's not take anything away from Angus and the fantastic food he produced for us through the week .... Though he needs to look out for Lucy nipping at his heels!! Finally, Jo who covered for breakfast on the staff day off was great too, again, friendly, knowledgable, efficient and helpful.
All in all a great place to stay, good access to both the Pleney and Super Morzine lifts, warm, clean and very comfortable facilities and a first class team to look after you ..... what more could you want?
Neil & Bev Goosey

Room Tip: Rooms at the front tend to be a bit noisy early in the morning with deliveries, waste collections, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our party of nine stayed at Chalet BonBon for New Year 2012/13. We were 4 adults, 4 teenagers and a 10 year old and we found the chalet very conveniently located. It's above a delicious patisserie on the main street through Morzine and a short walk with your skis to both the Pleney and Super Morzine lifts. It's also ideal for popping back to the chalet after skiing before your apres-ski drinks.

Pete was a welcoming and hospitable host. He and his colleagues checked menus with the children and offered alternatives on a few nights. Pete helped us out with a number of questions we had and was friendly and accommodating. The food was of a high standard. The chalet has recently been refurbished and bedrooms and communal areas were nicely done out.

Both families each had a duplex room with double bed, bathroom and toilet downstairs and 2 or 3 single beds up a stair case. This was fine for us on this occasion and would be great if you have young children. As our children get older I'd choose separate rooms because sharing a bathroom with teenagers is stressful!

I'd thoroughly recommend this chalet and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

We were a group of four couples and all agreed that it was a wonderful chalet experience from start to finish. We were welcomed by Pete who runs the chalet, cleans the rooms, serves the meals, pours the drinks, gives all sorts of useful information and is very patient! He was an absolute star looking after our every wish ably assisted by Lucy who made the most delicious cakes for afternoon tea. Angus the chef provided superb four course meals every evening preceded by canapés and pre-prandial drinks. The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean and all en suite. The chalet is well situated in the middle of the village close to the two cable cars that will take you to either Les Gets or Avoriaz/Porte du Soleil - a vast area of skiing with pistes to suit everyone. We loved staying in Chalet BonBon and look forward to going back.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NinkandTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

This chalet is right in the middle of Morzine, with lovely views on either side up the mountains. Lots to do in the summer and all on the doorstep, but despite all the fab activities, the highlight (among many highlights of the holiday) was the cosy, tastefully furnished and well laid out chalet with Claire's fab cooking (ably assisted by Pete and Lucy) and the whole evening dining experience. We were travelling with our 3 teenagers and the communal table and creative, delicious food was enjoyed by all. We would definitely love to return. Also, really valued Pete's help on sorting our activities, and simple things like being able to use the washing machine, and being able to create a "picnic" lunch at lunchtime on the balcony.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizzi_lizzy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The entrance to Chalet Bon Bon is an unassuming door on a busy (?) street in the centre of Morzine, but once you go in, take off your shoes and go upstairs you enter a different world.

We were there in July and the temperatures were soaring, but the chalet was cool, spotlessly clean and with an amazingly relaxed ambience. Our room, on the second floor, was airy, and the balcony had a view up the slopes, over part of the town and towards the slighly more distant higher mountains.

In the evening, Claire's cooking was at least equal to the quality of a good restaurant - I certainly didn't eat better whilst I was there - and Pete's sommelier skills ensured that the wines ideally complemented the food.

Dining was at a communal long table, where Claire and Pete joined the guests for dinner, providing warmth and amiable conversation keeping everyone relaxed, whilst the delightfully charming Lucy provided extra service and back-up, completing a formidable team.

To sum up - quality, professionalism and absolute value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a hand held shower. Ask for a fixed one, although the room might not have as good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.2 mi away
Alte Neve Chalet Hotel
Alte Neve Chalet Hotel
#37 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Le Cret
Hotel Club Le Cret
#3 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#1 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
2.7 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#5 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski & Summer Morzine - Chalet BonBon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski & Summer Morzine - Chalet BonBon

Property: Ski & Summer Morzine - Chalet BonBon
Address: Route de la Plagne, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and very comfortable with in a town centre location, great access to the Pleney and Super Morzine lift stations. With UK TV channels, Apple TV and Wii console and games, it's a great place to stay. Your home from home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing