We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz
Ranked #13 of 49 Morzine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have tried other resorts and accommodation but return to the Farmhouse year after year. I cant believe its only rated 14th in Morzine - I was expecting it to challenge for the top spot in the entire Alps. Brilliant hospitality, fantastic staff and wonderfull food all in a historic cozy setting. Its so good we have already booked again for next year!

Room Tip: The largest and grandest rooms (and most expensive) are the Artlier and those in the main house - co...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Well done to the whole team our week here could not have been better. Superb food, but staff even better - well done

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kewboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel is featured in many top brochures and it is charming and beautifully situated in Morzine and the staff very friendly and smiley but although the main rooms were lovely, the bedrooms were very basic and ours was tiny, the bathroom minute and not even a towel rail - let alone a heated one. The chef made some very odd meals and other guests said food not up to previous standards. We were disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiggy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coutettaz, Owner at The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Many thanks for your recent feedback on your stay at The Farmhouse. We do have three small rooms available at The Farmhouse which are all located in the garden and are consequently charged at a 20% reduced rate. Our 8 other bedrooms are all extremely large and spacious and of varying styles and shapes. Relevant to your feedback, two of the small bedrooms are in fact having a bathroom renovation later this year and will have new features (including heated towel rails just like all our other rooms). We have had excellent comments on our cuisine since the beginning of the season but I have spoken to the chefs regarding their menus last week and they will not be repeated. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to showcase our other rooms to you at a future date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is, in all important respects, a luxury boutique hotel in a beautiful historic building, in the centre of Morzine. It's British owned, and the staff and clients (at least during our stay) are anglophones. Evening meals are communal, at a beautiful long candle-lit table. The food is absolutely top-notch. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful. There is a very comfortable bar and sitting room, with candles and open fires. There is a cup of coffee delivered to your room at wakeup time. There is a minibus delivery and pickup service to the pistes, and cake waiting on your return. WHAT IS THERE NOT TO LIKE?

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la-Z-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the Farmhouse for a week at the begining of September for a late summer holiday in the mountains and we had a wonderful time. Dorian and James were great hosts and we felt very welcome. The weather was really sunny and still quite warm, and the surrounding mountains were great to explore - quiet , but still afew mountain restaurants open to enjoy the views. We stayed in L'Atelier which is one of the garden roooms and is very private and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the bath deep and luxurious. Breakfasts were simple but plentiful and lovely fresh food, and we had dinner a couple of evenings which were great - taken around a large commmunal table where you could catch up with the other guests and get more recommendations on where to go and what to do. We would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone visiting Morzine, a great location and they take very good care of you. We're planning to come back in the winter season, to try the skiing out.

Room Tip: We had a look around all of the rooms, and they all looked fabulous - the garden rooms probably offe...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ReadingTweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 2011 and will highly recommend this place to anybody for accomodation and/or the lovely dinner. We stayed in the old kitchen room and it was very well appointed and it had the most comfortable bed, high quality toiletries, a nice bath tub with a consistent supply of hot water. Dorrien, James and all are very nice and very hospitable people who took really great care of us. The little town nearby is also worth a visit and has lots of Food and Beverage options. we will love to re visit this place and stay at the farmhouse again in the future.

Room Tip: The old kitchen room is more spacious and suitable for families, however you cant get the wifi signa...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed with Dorrien, Di and James at the Farmhouse for a couple of nights at the end of May ... a break from our recent jobs in Africa and exactly what we were looking for - peace, tranquility, gorgeous food, stunning scenery and as much fresh air as you could breathe! Booked the chalet in the garden. Like all the accommodations, absolutely gorgeous, cosy, comfortable and warm ... Nothing was too much hassle for anyone: Dorrien and James were even waiting for us with drinks and good conversation despite our arrival from Paris after midnight. Would love to go back whether in ski season or summer ... will go back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.2 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#8 of 50 in Morzine
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz

Address: 429 Chemin de la Coutettaz, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range: £286 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmhouse is a stunning 18th Century chalet/hotel located in the heart of Morzine. As the oldest building in Morzine - every corner oozes charm and character and each of the 11 rooms have been lovingly restored and decorated in their own theme and unique style. The owner, Dorrien, has been here for over 25 years and is a local expert on the area, the skiing, the best restaurants - in fact everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmhouse - Mas De La Coutettaz Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing