We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz
Ranked #14 of 48 Morzine B&B and Inns
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for five nights in the Grange and couldn't fault anything at all. As others have commented, Dorrien has chosen his team very well and they all work well together in making the stay so memorable. Nothing is too much trouble and I have never found such an individual place to stay, a perfect combination of bed and breakfast/chambres d'hotes/hotel and private home. The two dinners we had were lovely, no choice but individual preferences are taken into account, it was good to have an alternative to the heavy alpine fare on offer elsewhere (probably best to have that in the winter after a day's skiing!) I am already planning another trip back to the Farmhouse.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ASH696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coutettaz, Manager at The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks for your comments. It was lovely having you both to stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. We really appreciate you sending through the photos which are a great reminder of your stay with us. Best wishes. James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
30
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Mas de Coutettaz is a real haven of old fashioned Alpine Hospitality. It is cosy, extremely comfortable, wonderfully welcoming and altogether a perfect spot in the heart of Morzine. Peacefully located in a quiet corner of the old part of the village it radiates charm and tranquility. James and his team of friendly staff made us very welcome, we felt as if we were at home rather than in a Hotel; a totally relaxed atmosphere prevails everywhere.
We will highly reccomend this lovely place to anyone and shall return!
Biny and Tony Gregory

Room Tip: Each room has a different style/is unique. We stayed in "India" which has a balcony overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coutettaz, Manager at The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Biny and Tony
Many thanks for your kind words. It was lovely having you both to stay with Bruce and Jenny. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Morzine. We hope it won't be another 20 year gap!
Best wishes
James and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Firstly, apologies for the belated review.
A heartfelt thank you to Di, Dorrien, James and Team for being the perfect hosts come wedding organisers. I cannot put into words what an incredible week we experienced.
We had our wedding at the Farmhouse in August - close friends and family stayed there with us and other guests enjoyed the bar (too often) and the stunning gardens. Guests were overwhelmed at how fabulous Farmhouse is and we are very proud to grateful to be able to share it with all the people we love.. We were married by Lac Montriond and the reception was held at the Farmhouse itself. We were lucky with beautifully weather and dined outside with mountain views.
The 17th century building's rooms and communal areas are decorated beautifully and individually, honoring the building's history.All the rooms are stunning, L'Atelier, situated away from the main building made for a perfect, private bridal/wedding night suite.
The food, from breakfast and dinner to the wedding fare, was unbelievably good - and dietary requirements weer catered for perfectly and without fuss.
Di, Dorrien and James made planning a wedding from Australia a breeze but more than that their and the whole's teams kindness, guidance and support made them an integral part of the whole wedding. We can't thank you enough.
This review has been very wedding orientated, but for those considering a more regular stay i would highly recommend not only as the perfect summer wedding venue - but i can't wait to return during the ski season or for a summer break. It's truly a magical place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coutettaz, Manager at The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely comments. We hope you are enjoying married life back in Australia! We had such a fun time with all your family and friends and really did feel part of the whole special experience. We hope to see you back in Morzine either on skis or bicycles! Best wishes from all the team here at the Farmhouse. James x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Having stayed at the Farmhouse before, we were delighted to note that the Farmhouse was still the best accommodation for a skiing holiday! The Farmhouse is a beautiful old building and we have stayed in a couple of different rooms - this time the cell, but all tastefully furnished. The welcome is great - ski's, boots and lift passes are all delivered to the hotel, and all the staff are very friendly. Nothing is too much trouble and we would thoroughly recommend the Farmhouse both for winter as well as summer. Lifts to and from the main gondolas, you never have to worry about getting back! We didn't take afternoon tea as the breakfasts and the dinners were so good, we had no more room!

Room Tip: Even though our room was next to the bar, the walls are so thick we slept very soundly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadingTweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coutettaz, Manager at The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Graham and Liz, many thanks for your review. It was lovely having you both to stay again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes James.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Most luxurious skiing holiday ever at the farmhouse. They really understand customer service and make you feel very welcome. The building is beautiful, and very tastefully restored. The food is wonderful - an excellent balance, good quality and not too heavy. But plenty to satisfy a hearty skier. Would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Corner room is huge, with dual aspect, but needs additional heaters (readily supplied on request).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyO702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coutettaz, Manager at The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Cathy
Many thanks for your review we really appreciate it. It was lovely having you Graham to stay with us and we very much hope to welcome you both back again soon.
Best wishes
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

A big statement, but I have to say this was one of my best ever evenings! Everything really was perfect. Beautiful historic surroundings and very homely feel. We had lovely canapés with drinks in the bar before moving into the candle lit dining room. The food was Michelin star and I always had a full glass of wine. The staff were lovely and Dorian, James and Di made us feel very happy and spoiled as their guests. At the end of the evening, we had a taxi booked but were still offered to be driven home. Incredible value for money too. They really thought of everything and I am looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury , UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Following my previous review we returned to The Farmhouse in February 2014 - it was even better than we remembered........I can't recommend this place highly enough. Our visit confirmed this as our favourite alpine destination. Tastefully luxurious with fantastic service from the owners, manager and large team of staff. Nothing is too much trouble, whether it be a lift in one of the minibuses to one of the many lifts (if you can't face the 200m walk to the nearest button), recommending the best places to ski or booking a physio to help ease the pain.

The food was even better than I remembered with a wide choice of freshly cooked breakfast, tea and cake when returning from the slopes and canopes followed by a three course.

The whole approach is very friendly with guests drinking together in the small bar and eating at the same table. It sounds like a recipe for disaster but once again it worked like a treat and added to the whole experience.

Their recommended ski hire company, www.allmountainrental.com, provided great service, a good price and very good equipment (platinum package - atomic nomad black eye - brilliant skis!!!) and we had lessons using www.freedom2ski.com. Luc the instructor was brilliant, very patient and encouragingly enthusiastic whilst pushing us out of our comfort zone.

Morzine is part of thePorted du soleiui massive ski area and we will have no hesitation returning to enjoy the unique experience of the farmhouse once again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#1 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#5 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#27 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#28 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#8 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz

Property: The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz
Address: 429 Chemin de la Coutettaz, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmhouse is a stunning 18th Century chalet/hotel located in the heart of Morzine. As the oldest building in Morzine - every corner oozes charm and character and each of the 11 rooms have been lovingly restored and decorated in their own theme and unique style. The owner, Dorrien, has been here for over 25 years and is a local expert on the area, the skiing, the best restaurants - in fact everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Farmhouse - Mas de la Coutettaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmhouse - Mas De La Coutettaz Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing