We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would book this chalet again”

Review of Chalet La Salle

Chalet La Salle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet La Salle
Just another day in paradise Bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Chalet La Salle
Just another day in paradise
Bedroom 2
Living Room
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
First Floor Shower Room
Bedroom 1
Mezzanine
Bedroom 3
Dining Area
Ground Floor Bathroom
An unexpected visitor in the garden
Lac Montriond only a short drive away
Château de Chillon lake Geneva
Mont Blanc
Annecy
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Morzine, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
BokanTura...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would book this chalet again”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I travelled with 7 friends most of whom were skiing for the first time and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. The owners were very helpful; arranging grocery supplies before and during our stay, offering us lifts to the slopes and many other examples. They know the area well and offer many useful tips. The chalet is clean, newly decorated and has all that is required for a short stay e.g fully-equipped kitchen

The location in Essert-Romand, a quaint little village a just over 3 miles from Morzine provides a tranquil retreat after a busy day on the slopes. I plan to return with my family in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe F
Verwood, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely chalet lovely owners”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The chalet is really clean, well laid out and is kitted out with good comfy furniture. It's a bit quirky with plenty of exposed beams which you need to be aware of when it's dark, but it housed the 8 of us comfortably. The dining table is plenty big enough for 8 plus a couple of guests, which is refreshing compared to some others that we've visited over the years. The kitchen is also well equipped and there was plenty of storage space for the food which we took with us.
The owners Val and Gerald are as invisible (or not) as you want them to be, they fixed a couple of things within hours of us mentioning them but apart from that we didn't see them at all, even though they're just downstairs. Perfect.
The bread delivery was a great touch and really good value.
The bus to Morzine was good, but is not a ski bus so isn't included on the pass. We found that to park all day in the centre of Morzine (or at the Avoriaz Gondola) was only €4 though, so we just drove every day which worked perfectly. Ski lockers in town are €10 per day, so frankly it was easier/cheaper to drive, park up and leave shoes in the car.
The mezzanine sleeping arrangement won't work for everyone, but it was fine for us and the I think that the price is really fair for the good quality of the chalet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fab comfy sofas and a lovely big dining table, not cramped at all
Liked least: The beams up on the Mez which hubby walked into in the dark on the first night!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accommodation but own transport recommended.”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A group of friends and family recently stayed at Chalet le Salle for a ski week. The chalet was very well equipped, spacious (which is rare for ski chalets) and emaculate. The owners, Gerald and Valeria were an absolute pleasure and always on hand to help and answer questions. The only small issue was transport to the pistes. There are local buses very close by but the buses during the ski week are not very frequent especially over lunch. One can walk to Morzine from the chalet but it is a good 30 -45 mins walk and very difficult to impossible in ski boots. There is space for a car at the chalet and i would high recommend people use their own car. Other than that, I recommend the chalet to anyone looking to enjoy the fabulous skiing in Morzine.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nettynoos
york
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable and warm alpine chalet”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed here as a party of five and found the chalet apartment to be spacious and warm and ideally located away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the ski resort as it was in a small village a 10 minute drive away from the slopes. The entrance porch is large enough to cope with 5 bodies at once all changing out of ski boots etc and the large ski lockers could cope with all our ski kit. The lovely large ground floor open plan lounge and kitchen was a great space in which to chill and chat on an evening and the reclining sofas were, well, just fab! Downstairs were 2 bedrooms and a great bathroom (with a tub in which to soak away the aches and pains!) and upstairs was a triple bedroom and twin bedded mezzanine and again a contemporary bathroom with shower. Upstairs was warm and well lit with sky lights. The owners were extremely helpful and very obliging with picking up our ski passes so they were ready and waiting for us upon our arrival and communication with them in advance of the holiday was really efficient and friendly and they gave us some top tips with links to ski hire places and the types of lift passes to purchase. They were also really helpful when it came to checking out by allowing us to leave our kit there so that we could enjoy our last day on the slopes without having to worry about all our belongings being left in the car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue_frog...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb rental, very convenient from slopes”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This place is lovely. Its a 5-min drive from the ski-lifts in Morzine (definitely not worth a walk) but there's also a free bus from the top of the road to the slopes.

Very comfortable and clean inside. I was amazed to hear this was done up 3 years ago, as it looks brand spanking new. Very comfortable beds and lovely living area with dining table, as you can see from the photos.

Val and Gerald are a lovely couple - incredibly helpful with all things, and have good local tips. They work really hard and it shows in their lovely chalet - when their adjoining chalet opens, it will be an ideal double rental for a 15-ish person trip. They arrange a free shopping delivery for you when you arrive and can arrange a daily bakery delivery of lovely croissants etc.

Another bonus, which Gerald pointed out to me, is that you can stand outside the chalet in the morning, gaze south at the outstanding views of Morzine and Avoriaz, and decide which looks better for your days skiing (very useful for us when we went, as Avoriaz, though higher and more reliable, was a bit misty at times).

Will definitely try to book again on next trip to Morzine

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenP66
Solihull England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home ski accommodation”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Beautifully decorated barn conversion in a pretty little village about 10mins by bus from Morzine. Owners are very helpful & shopped for a few essential items prior to our arrival. Fresh bread/croissants can be delivered every morning by request. Le petite auberge just a few mins walk away serves great food & very welcoming. Kitchen contains all mod cons, spotlessly clean.
Bus/coach into Morzine runs approx every 90mins but is never packed, just make sure you are at bus stop on time, its a long time till the next! A hire car would be advantageous, there's plenty of room to park at accommodation.
Will definitely go back someday, maybe try the summer season next

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan710
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“very comfortable warm and friendly”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Location a short 10 minute drive to the Montriond lift which gives great access to Avoriaz and the rest of the slopes.There is a restaurant / bar within waling distance and Morzine is a short drive.
Run by a friendly and hospitable couple. Spacious, warm and plenty of hot water. Effectively a 4 bedroom with 2 bathroom/showers. everything well finished and new looking
They do an 'essentials shop' and organise bread / croissants each morning if requested which was a nice touch
Wifi, TV etc
cant find any fault ..well maybe the stairs to the upper floor is a bit steep esp for kids

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the leather recliners! and the showers
Liked least: the stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing