We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chalet, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of More Mountain - The ARK

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
More Mountain - The ARK
Ranked #17 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great chalet, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

The Ark is a real slice of luxury as far as chalet accommodation is concerned. With all the mod cons you would expect, and plenty more.

However all the amenities are for naught, if the service is not up to scratch - and it certainly was in the Ark's case. Jon and Michelle were not only great host, great cooks, good guides, flexible chauffeurs, but also a lot of fun and always attentive to the needs of the group.

The food deserves a special mention - as it was superb in quality and quantity.

So a big thank you from me, and I would recommend the Ark to all groups and families alike.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed in the chalet with my husband and friends 10/17th march, we had a really enjoyable ski holiday one of the best.
On arrival champagne and canapes.

Chalet is stunning, spotless, bedrooms are really comfortable and good size, good location to town, modern, all mod cons, warm, all you want, but it is made extra special by the hosts Michelle & Jon, Michelle's cooking was excellent and beautifully presented 3 course meal everynight with clean plates from everyone so what does that say, and lots of flowing wine. She also made lovely cakes each day for when you returned from the pistes, lemon drizzle, jam sponge, chocolate, banana. Absolutely delicious.
Jon did an excellent job of driving us to the lifts each morning and collecting each evening, this is the first time we have had this service and it was great, we even wanted to have après ski one evening so Jon came to the lifts gave us our shoes and took the skis back to the chalet, great service!!
They are a fantastic couple and very well travelled and we enjoyed them sharing their photos and experiences with us over dinner, and a little toffee vodka afterwards, or maybe in our case 4 1/2 bottles the 1st nite!!
We will definitely return next year if Jon and Michelle are coming back, so we'll hav to wait till August. Do book this chalet it is amazing you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Having stayed with MM before I had high expectations (especially as I was bringing a couple of good friends for the ride this time) and they didn't disappoint with this new season's chalet...

The chalet - arty and modern (if you like more traditional designs pick one of their others) stunning design finished to a very high standard and always cosy and warm. Great phalic-fountain-state-of-the-art hot tub which we spent far too long in! Our room also had a bath and it was spacious and smart in decor. The only niggle I had was a lack of shelving for my potions in the bathroom; in fairness there was a magnetic drawer, I just like everything to hand.

The hosts - Jon and Michelle are amazing peeps and were very accomodating the whole time: from greeting to cooking and socialising they were always on top of their game (exhausting though we must have been: 19 Vodkees!?!) Food was pretty top notch, it's not haute cuisine but on this type of holiday I prefer the more relaxed homely style cooking mixed in with a fair bit of regional grub and it was very tasty and had lots of variety: perfect for the knackered skier who adores cheese!

The location - right opposite Dixie's (Mutzig!!) and only a 5-10 min walk from main shops and the Super Morzine and Pleny lifts make it's location pretty spot on. On J&M's day off we had no problem getting the bus (less than min walk away) to Prodain or you can easily walk back from the piste at pleny pretty quickly but I prefer not to walk about in ski boots if i can help it! There's a new bubble opening in prodain next season which will make access to Avoriaz even quicker - the big fat cable car is a bit slow sometimes.

The experience - the convenience and expertise MM provide: seamless transfers, equipment delivered to chalet with lift passes, lifts everywhere, fab food and hosts is a winning combination.

I am sure we will be back for more (mountain) :)

Bel x

Room Tip: Request a bath when you book if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beltasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

The chalet is very new and very beautiful. The position is good for the town although a little far from the lifts. This was no drawback though, because our chalet hosts (of whom more later) had the use of a Land Rover and were extremely helpful driving us to and from various lift stations to aid our convenience. We were a varied party, three generations ranging in age from 62 down to 1 including a young woman with special needs. The sense of space in the chalet was superb with plenty of space for everyone's activities. But, what made the whole experience really special was the amazing couple, John and Michelle Gammidge, who took care of us with great energy, great ability and great sensitivity to dietary needs, our daughter's special needs and still found the time to produce marvelous and varied food, all accompanied by a very decent standard of house wine. They are a travelled, mature, warm couple who truly made the holiday. We missed them after we left - can't say more than that, really!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

what can i say other than stunningly beautiful.are hosts for the week jon & michelle were just amazing,they couldn't do enough for us all and were really helpful all week.the food kept us going and was really good quality.the cake that was made fresh every day was more than welcome on are return to base after a long cold day on the hill,washed down with a nice cup of tea.
we arrived early and wern't told to come back later.. we were shown to the lounge and told we could use that area while J&M carried on with the deep clean.nothing seemed to much trouble and we had such a comfortable stay.
enjoyed every moment of are stay and would be more than happy to have jon & michelle look after us again.would not think twice about staying at the ark as it is just a stunning,warm,welcoming,roomy,comfortable place.great big thumbs up from me:)

cheers guys.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sthorpy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Spent a few days recently with some friends and really enjoyed the home comforts available at the Ark. Newly completed this year and decorated to a very high standard. Hosts Michelle and John very helpful and enthusiastic about their role . Hope to use again next season.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of a similar high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beekeeper16328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lonodn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

This was our first stay with a more mountain chalet and it certainly will not be our last. The accommodation was spacious, clean and modern with a lovely warm feel to it. From the minute we arrived we were welcomed by Jon and Michelle and felt at home instantly. They really could not do enough for us throughout the entire week and we left feeling like we had spent a week with great friends. The meals that were cooked by Michelle each day was delicious and served with fresh ingrediants, the drop off and collection service by Jon was a real saviour, and the general information and skiing tips supplied by them was most helpful.
I have to mention the hot tub which was a very luxurious treat at the end of each day with drinks being brought into us whilst we relaxed and soothed our bodies. The views from the chalet were beautiful and the rain showers in each of the bedrooms.....they were just heaven!

Thank you very much to the amazing chalet hosts for making it such an enjoyable holiday for us and one we will never forget!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wigs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#4 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#7 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#23 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#40 of 50 in Morzine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to More Mountain - The ARK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Mountain - The ARK

Property: More Mountain - The ARK
Address: 142 rue du Bourg | Morzine, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ark is a luxury catered Ski Chalet in Central Morzine. Sleeping up to 12 people in 5 luxury bedrooms, The ARK is Urban chic in the Alps with HOT TUB and located in a prime position on Rue Du Bourg. Location is enviable for all the shops, apres bars and restaurants and provides quick & easy access to the slopes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing