We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for big group!”
Review of Chalet Tavernier

Chalet Tavernier
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Tavernier
Ranked #126 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent for big group!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Had an great time. The chalet hosts are excellent and very patient even with 16 rugby lads running around like mad men. Food was great and always had something for everyone to eat.
Only downside is it is abit of pain to the chalet. Literally 2 minute drive but a 20 minute up hill to ski lift.
Rooms are spacious, very clean, Sauna is a perfect way to relax following a had day at the park!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Droplip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This chalet is a really good find. Jane and John were impeccable hosts with super culinary skills. We ate delicious and imaginative suppers and fulsome breakfasts; and Jane still made time to conjure up cakes or cookies for our teatime treat; also, a personal touch, she produced a little celebration cake and candle to the Birthday Girl. I was a little concerned when we arrived as we appeared to be in the middle of nowhere, but the bus stops close by and passes frequently; we never waited more than 5 minutes. Next stop, Prodain, where a cable car whisks you up to Avoriaz. From here you can ski miles and into Switzerland. Morzine is in the other direction but that was very easy to get to, too. Doorstep Skis- brilliant! Book them. They arrived at the chalet within minutes of us arriving, fitted us with good quality equipment and- VOOM, we were on the slopes within the hour. At the end of the stay we just left them in the boot cellar and they collected.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We visited this Chalet with 15 of us on a work holiday and were very well looked after all holiday by our Chalet hosts John and Jane. The food they provided was first class and they even took the time to remember everyone's name even though we were only there for 3 days.

The Chalet is just down the road from the cable car but you will need a taxi to get to Morzine town.

Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob172023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The chalet hosts Jane and John did everything they could to ensure we had an excellent holiday, their cooking was awesome and they were a pleasure to be around, we couldn't have asked for much more. The drivers were great as were the rental guys who drove to the door for us so there was minimum fuss. The first night I got a bit tipsy and decided to sleep in the sauna but on reflection this was a hot, sweaty mistake, I would recommend sleeping in the beds. There was also an incident with somebody in my party on the first night and I feel a bit violated and awkward about the whole thing but this isn't really the fault Alpine Adventures so it is up to you to make sure that you like and trust everyone that you go on holiday with. Being said, it was still a great weekend!! YEAH!!!!

Room Tip: Not the sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gladajaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed here a long weekend with friends and had a great time. The hosts were very welcoming of such a large group, with excellent food every day. The chalet is on the bus route between Morzine and the Prodains lift which we walked to every day. If you pre-organise cabs from town then a late night out is no trouble at all. The sauna is just what you need after a full day skiing. Would definiately go back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

I had my first review removed. I would just like to point out that this chalet is an 11 minute walk up hill to the Prodans cable car. Also note that part of this walk is on the road. The bus stop is only 50 metres but the buses were always full and just drove past.

If you do ski back you will either have to walk up a 75m slope, you can not carry enough speed from the blue run to get you it! Or ski off piste through the trees, some parts would be graded black, good luck!

The chalet itself is very nice and our hosts cooked us some great food.

We all just wish that the owners had been honest about the location, I would not take my family here because of the location.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We found Alpine Adventures on a website and chose Chalet Tavernier as it is so near the Prodain lift. We were only skiing for a weekend so wanted to be near the slopes to maximise our skiing time. You can virtually ski to and from the chalet if the snow conditions allow or there is a bus stop within 50m of the chalet if you prefer.
The chalet is well maintained and very pretty. We shared a spacious room for 3 adults with wonderful views and a great bathroom.
We were provided with towelling robes and slippers as well as very nice toiletries. There is a sauna for guests to use on the ground floor.
The hosts were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The food was really good and we all agreed we must stay there again next year. Since returning I have been making the spicy butternut and sweet potato soup on a regular basis! We were given a fantastic cooked breakfast plus croissants and cereal/fruit/yoghurt at a time to suit us. They laid out afternoon tea with yummy cake for you to help yourself after a hard day's skiing. In the evening we had 3 delicious courses and unlimited wine with our meal. There is an honesty bar for additional drinks.
In the evenings you can sit by the fire, play board games, watch TV or catch the bus/taxi into Morzine.
There is a heated boot rack just inside the front door and a place for your skis. This is bliss!
We ski every year in Morzine/Avoriaz and this has been one of the best places to stay in our 10 years of visits.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw looked very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrecklesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#45 of 50 in Morzine
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Tavernier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tavernier

Property: Chalet Tavernier
Address: Prodans, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Morzine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing