We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skiology do it again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet George - Skiology

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet George - Skiology
Ranked #31 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Skiology do it again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

4 th holiday with skiology - first one in George, but def not the last! Superb chalet - location, style, comfort and of course food! Very pleasant responsive staff, who dealt with any requests we had cheerfully and quickly. Food was excellent - and unusual for the alps, with an Asian twist, and some excellent fish - the scallops!! Gorgeous melt in the mouth fillet steak, and divine lemon meringue ... All good.
Beds very comfortable, 2 pillows on the beds, hot drink delivered to your room before 8, and anything you want cooked on demand for breakfast. Great afternoon cakes too.
Spacious lounge, with lovely open fire, which was very welcome most nights.
Location couldn't be better - access to lifts fantastic. No noise issues. Really great holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms en suite - except top floor which has one bathroom for 2 rooms. Clooney probably best, sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
4
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This place has bags of character, great food, excellent service as is in a convenient location.

The location is equidistant fro the Plenny and Super Morzine lifts both of which are within easy walking distance. It's a block away from all the bars and restaurants but doesn't suffer from the noise you sometimes get late at night in town. It's a nice older building with a great sitting room with real fire, bedrooms are small and a little quirky but comfortable, good quality bed linen and reasonable bathrooms, some with shower only some with baths.

The evening food this year is the best I have on a ski trip, really interesting menu and sensible portion sizes, simple cooked breakfast with eggs to your order.

Service from the two chalet girls was exemplary, nice and relaxed, no silly rules about wine consumption and nothing was too much trouble including organizing ski hire, transfers, lift passes etc.

Room Tip: The rooms are all name after famous Georges - Susan is the best double with en suite Shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great location within easy walking distance from main lift systems, fantastic service and food, and really friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend this Chalet highly to anyone as we had simply the best time over Christmas. Food was of an exceptionally high standard, and targeted to personal preferences - Chalet really comfortable and well appointed. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Had an amazing time staying at Chalet George, we've stayed in catered chalets in Morzine before but this was far and away the best. The team that looked after us could not have done more, the food from is what you would expect in top restaurants, and the service from Amy and Kate was like having your very own concierge. Location wise you're right in the centre of town and less than 5 minutes from the lifts. If you're skiing in Morzine you have to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiologycouk, General Manager at Chalet George - Skiology, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Dom and the Skiology family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed over Christmas week with our family and had such a wonderful time. Chalet location was brilliant (equidistant and walking distance from both ski lifts); gorgeous chalet and rooms (all ensuite apart from top floor which shares a bathroom); impeccable service: tea brought to room, breakfast, tea, 5 course dinner!! And nothing was too much trouble. Lovely people who work incredibly hard to make sure you have the best holiday....loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ames76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiologycouk, General Manager at Chalet George - Skiology, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Glad to read that the holiday was such a success. Looking forward to seeing you again Dom and the Skiology family/.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Chalet George is by far the best catered chalet I've been to. We were waited on hand and foot, from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble, they even cooked dinner for the children every day and left sandwiches for their lunch. We felt totally spoilt with bubbles on arrival and canapes every night. And none of that horrible box wine, we got proper bottles of wine that were organic so didn't give you a hangover - bliss! The chef, Chris, was something else - he cooked anything we wanted for breakfast and amazed us with his Michellin quality food. The best bit was our 7 course Christmas feast, with all the trimmings and traditional fare but elevated to a completely new level. It's safe to say I put on a few pounds! I can't fault this place, we'll definitely be going back next year, now we've been totally spoilt, we couldn't go back to any old average chalet!

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same size - some are better for cots and others have double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loobies1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiologycouk, General Manager at Chalet George - Skiology, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review. Glad to hear the you guys loved the food and wine and much as we do! And very happy to read that the service worked out well for the children too. Looking forward to see you again. Dom and the Skiology family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

What a wonderful week. Amazing chalet and hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble. We were here over Christmas and had such a wonderful time. Chris, the chef, is amazing, and both Kate and Amy were so helpful. Great location. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiologycouk, General Manager at Chalet George - Skiology, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Fantastique! Very happy to read what a good time you guys had. You are right it really is a great team that we have there. We look forward to seeing you again in the future :) Dom and the Skiology family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.5 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#5 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#47 of 50 in Morzine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#27 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Bruyeres
Hotel Les Bruyeres
#20 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#11 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#28 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet George - Skiology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet George - Skiology

Property: Chalet George - Skiology
Address: 138 A Taille de Mas du grand Hotel, 74110, Morzine, France (Formerly Chalet George)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet George is one of the best located catered chalets in Morzine town centre. Located on a quiet street only 200m from both the Super Morzine and Pleney lifts. The recently renovated Chalet George, is one of Morzine's first and most popular catered chalets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing