We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good food ... 300m from the Prodain lift”
Review of Hotel Les Lans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Lans
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Hotel Les Lans is a good, basic hotel located in Prodain, close to the Telecabine to Avoriaz. The free Morzine Navette (Route A) runs from early morning till about 8.00pm every 15 minutes or so and stops directly outside Les Lans ... so the Pleney and Super MorzineTelecabines are 10-15 minutes away - the hotel is therefore a good base.

The rooms are simple, clean and basic. Breakfast and dinner were good. Wine, beer and other drinks reasonably priced. The owner arranged reliable and well priced transfers from and to Geneva airport. There are ski and boot rooms - and there is a discount for residents in the nearby ski rental business. If we were to grumble, we would say that the hotel would benefit from a little more atmosphere ...

I stayed there with a couple of friends for 4 nights ... we were there to ski, to refuel and to sleep so our requirements for a hotel were simple. I have say given the price, Les Lans delivered and all three of us would return. That said, if you are looking for lively nightlife, you need to be in (or closer to) Morzine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breakingoutnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Les Lans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed in the hotel in March 2013. It is functional rather than comfortable, with rather small rooms and not very much storage for clothes. Food has already been commented on, although I though the cheese course was sometimes rather small compared to some other hotels I have stayed in. As someone has previously commented you have to like cheese as it features heavily on the menu. The fondu and grill nights make a pleasant change although there is no alternative offered. I though the wine was very expensive at between 19 and 25 Euros a bottle for an average regional wine. Well known varieties were even more. I wish hotels would charge less and sell more.

The manager (Aube) was charming although her mother sometimes seemed like a French incarnation of Basil Fawlty. Apparently she is know throughout the resort.

The hotel is away from the main pistes and it is necessary to catch a bus to the lifts or walk about 400m in ski boots. Anyone hiring equipment can leave it at the shop. There is a heated boot room and ski room at the hotel. Buses run every 10/15 minutes to the lifts and to Morzine.

There is a wide variety of skiing in the area although, like many French resorts, the grading of the pistes in very arbitrary. Some blues were gentle greens whilst other had alarming drops on them. If you want to go over to Switzerland use the chairlift to descend from the top.There is a red run but it's very steep and long. also, if it is busy use the chairlift rather than the cablecar to access Avoriaz. This allows you to ski down a short distance on an easy red then take another chair with ends up above the village, avoiding all the crowds. The promised new cablecar isn't finished although they were testing it when we were there.

All in all a very pleasant hotel, albeit one which is difficult to get out of in the evening due to the lack of transport.

Room Tip: You don't get any choice but there are some family rooms which are much larger and are given to...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_a_barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

March 2013 - A charming spotless family run smallish hotel off the beaten track of Moraine, in Les Prodains. Ideally situated at the foot of the Avoriaz cable car. Immediately opposite the bus stop.Excellent location for skier's - right in the middle of the Portes du Solieu region.
Rooms were again functional, not spacious. Beds comfortable, but a duvet would have been preferable to sheet / blanket. In general, A functional slightly sterile interior, and a few cushions, curtains (bar/restaurant) pictures and trimmings would have softened the restaurant and bar areas of the wood/sauna interior making it more appealing!
The food more than makes up for this, all was of an excellent quality, well presented and considered.
Breakfasts were always the same - bread / cheese / ham / salami, cold boiled eggs, fruit salad, yogurt, cereal and cake, Mini croissants / pain au chocolate/ raisin were on your allocated table, with as much coffee / tea / chocolate you wish.
My partner an I really enjoy cooking and appreciated the considered evening menus.Each 4 courses, the 3rd always a slice of regional cheese, served correctly with a fruit puree / syrup. (no crackers or bread/butter..despite some heathens requesting it!) Cheese featured every day, in at least 2 courses - sometimes we were wishing for a few more vegetables or salad (we did actually buy our own tomatoes to accompany breakfast!!) A fondue and grill night featured, and a delicious dessert such as creme brulee, apple sorbet, roulade were served.
All in all, excellent value for a 3 star hotel worth 4*+ food!

Room Tip: The hotel location means silence - the only noise comes form people above you, scraping chairs acros...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarywillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I stayed at Les Lans in first week of March 2013. It was booked as part of a ski package from an UK tour operator. We arrived late (9pm) and were immediately fed. Throughout the week ,the dinners could not be faulted. Normally they were 4-course. The cheese course was always memorable, but saying that is not fair to the desserts or the main courses. The slow braised chuck beef was something would cost 25-35 euro in restaurants. The hotel's wifi was free of charge. The hotel is at the bus stop for the bus shuttling (quite frequent at every 15 minutes) between Les Prodains and Morzine so it is very convenient. Walking to Les Prodains cable car station is easy anyway. It is possible to ski from Avoriaz back to Les Prodains, or take the cable car. The room was not big, but adequate. The staff was very nice and helpful, and most spoke English fluently. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supershape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed here with my parents and friend in january and it was awesome!
The food was really nice and next to the hotel was a big open space to go sledging and have snowball fights. I would definatly reccomend this hotel :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethissurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed Jan 2013, as a group of 6 male snowboarders. We were made to feel extremely welcome, with a top notch check-in service including explanation of the best places to go riding. Boarders made as welcome as skiers at the hotel, which is a nice change. Just play by the rules...(which are completely reasonable)!!!!

The piste / off piste area is epic!!! So so so good for boarders. Stash park can occupy you for hours!!. It really is as good as you can imagine.

Food at the hotel is truly magnificent. We were never left wanting. The wine list was fantastic too. Good selection of drinks at the bar, but not all draft beers are available at the dinner table - this is overcome by ordering at the bar and taking upstairs (but could be improved).

The village of Prodains is quiet. Most of us are past getting shredded every night, but even so - there was not great deal of soul! The three (or so) main bars in Prodains are v.v.quiet...seemingly every night . This is fine some nights, but the best Après is probably in Morzine, where there are loads of après bars to greet the weary skier/boarder at the end of the day. Après in Morzine is excellent (also pretty good in Avoriaz, which you an ride/gondola back from). There is a free ski bus back to Prodains from Morzine (10-15mins) but getting back for dinner meant that it was definite taxi territory to get back out on the beers (when required). Taxi only about €12 each way for a 8-seater....so not the end of the world!

Overall excellent. Basic, but well appointed rooms. Amazing food. Lovely family. Fantastic value for money - would highly recommend. I think that Prodains will be an 'up and coming'. In 2016 with the new builds and new lift access, it should be a massive contender (if they get some more lively bars). I do think, that if I was 25 again, I'd have spent a lot of money getting a taxi back out to Morzine after dinner though!!!!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ACGThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Aube and family so helpful and welcoming . Food was excellent as was wine list. Hotel comfortable and very warm new towels everyday and balcony had fab views Great value for money we will return next year

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#30 of 50 in Morzine
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#7 of 50 in Morzine
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Prodains
Hotel Les Prodains
#25 of 50 in Morzine
78 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#12 of 50 in Morzine
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Lans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Lans

Address: 2394 route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: £204 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Lans 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Les Lans is situated 300 m away from the cablecar leading to Avoriaz. Family runned hotel, week-ends, short stays or longer holidays, we wish you a warm welcome... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Les Lans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing