We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Hotel Les Lans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Lans
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We booked this hotel for a week over the new year period 2008/9. We feel we need to offer a balance to the last review given on this website. Although the rooms are simply furnished, they are quite comfortable. Yes, they are not sound proof but the noise is not intrusive from other rooms. Best of all though is the great food served every night (four courses generally). We also received a special five course meal on new year's eve using all local produce and local specialties. Our waitress, Inga, was a delight and the family running the hotel were always friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Expensive if you want to go out for the night since you need to take a taxi
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlaneSpeaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    48
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Hotel is situated about 1500m from the Prodains cable car which gives access to Avoriaz. The rooms in this hotel were poor. The matresses were about 5 inches thick - similar to camp beds. The construction of the hotel meant that it seemed that any slight movement elsewhere in the hotel could be heard in the rooms. For some unknown reason the shower in the bath was fixed at knee height! The toilets close to the kitchen did not have any soap to wash hands. Much of the hotel has pine clad walls which are very bland and characterless. The food was good and the staff were freindly, polite and helpful. Firedoor to restaurant and kitchen area was wedged open - not very safe. When we stayed there the car park and entrance to the hotel was covered in ice which is not unusual in a ski resort but as the car park/entrance is on a slope it was very difficult for people to walk down (we skied down about 30 metres each day). This was very annoying as people were really struggling and all the management had to do was put some salt or similar down or clear a walkway.

  • Liked — The evening meal
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We have recently returned from a week skiing in Avoriaz-Morzine where we stayed half board at Hotel Les Lans, a small but comfortable family run hotel with excellent views in the peaceful Hamlet of Les Prodains.

We were greeted by an English speaking French lady who we assumed was the daughter of the family, who gave all of the arrivals (in my opinion) helpful advise about where the ski bus stopped and times etc. We found this lady to be very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, keeping us informed of events happening in the area, such as an ice hockey game which she also booked us a taxi for at very short notice.

Our room was a decent size but I think we were fortunate as we had a family room (which we didn't pay for) which gave us some additional space. Other guests did comment that they had very small rooms. We had a seperate toilet to the wash basin and bath both of which were very small, there was no shower in the room only an attachment that didn't even reach my head! and there was only two temperatures for the shower, boiling hot or freezing cold! We had a very large balcony which had fantastic views down the valley, which had the benefit of the afternoon sun and was a pleasure to sit down and relax after a days skiing. The view alone was the reason I scored this roon above average.

The location of the hotel for skiing isn't the door stop/as close to the slopes as mentioned in some brochures. It is too far to walk (in ski gear) to the Avoriaz cable car or chair lift so you have to wait for the bus which was every 15 minutes but sometimes turned off up completely full and didn't stop! thankfully coming back was easier as you could ski to approx 20m from the entrance of the hotel. The bus was a direct service from Morzine to Avoriaz that stopped right outside the hotel.

Breakfast - Continental buffet which was nice but I would have prefered a table spoon to eat my cereal instead of the tea spoons available!

Dinner - 4 course meal consisting or traditional french dishes. there was a menu for the week displayed in the reception but unfortunately was only in French. I enjoyed the food we had, it was not to everybodies taste but then if you don't like traditional french food don't book a hotel that serves traditional french food!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank The_Hoff_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2008

Stayed at the hotel Les Lans in Feb 2008 and everything about the place was lovely. It's in a quiet location but the bus stop is right outside taking you either to the Cable Car for Avoriaz or down into Morzine.
The rooms are on the small side (like most Alpine hotels / apartments) but are comfortable and nicely decorated. We also had a balcony with a lovely view.
The food in the evenings is fantastic. Its all based on local cuisine and was very tasty and filling (4 courses in all including cheese).
The service is fantastic from the family that own the hotel - they can't do enough to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The food and the service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Goldenboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

This hotel is close to the big lift to the Avoriaz skiing area, in the Les Prodains area. We have stayed at the hotel both in winter and in summer and we love it. It is a quiet mid-class hotel, led by the Marullaz family. They will do everything they can to make you feel comfortable.

A 4-course dinner is included, in French-Savoyard style.

The rooms are comfortable, many of them have a balcony. In winter, however, there is limited sunshine in the vicinity of the hotel, because of its location in the valley.

Price-performance is great!

  • Liked — Quiet, relaxed atmosphere; good food, friendly hospitable familly
  • Disliked — No sun in winter, due to its location; however, plenty of sun and great skiing area close by
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Annigje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.2 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
227 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#9 of 50 in Morzine
204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Lans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Lans

Property: Hotel Les Lans
Address: 2394 route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Lans 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Les Lans is situated 300 m away from the cablecar leading to Avoriaz. Family runned hotel, week-ends, short stays or longer holidays, we wish you a warm welcome... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Les Lans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing