We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Lovely Hospitality, Great Skiing”
Review of Hotel Les Lans

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Lans
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Lovely Hospitality, Great Skiing”
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This is the third time we have stayed at the Hotel Les Lans and each time it has lived up to our expectations and more. This is due to the excellent skiing available on the Portes du Soleil and the warm and friendly service we have received from Madame Aube who runs this family owned Hotel and her staff. Aube speaks very good English and has always been extremely polite and helpful. For the past couple of years we have arranged our own flights and Aube has on our behalf arranged for the accommodation and Taxi transfers to and from the Airport. (please note that at weekends the minibuses are not allowed to pick up at the taxi rank but have to park at the far end of the Airport which is quite a walk with suitcases and Skis, a tip is to take a 2 Euro coin with you so you can use a trolley, we found this out the hard way, the ladies were not impressed!!).
The breakfasts are typical continental style buffets with bread, cakes, cereals, boiled eggs, cold meats, cheese, jam etc. along with tea / coffee and orange juice.
The evening meals are very good, normally 4 courses (1 course being cheese), with the Chef taking great pride in the quality and presentation of the food, the portions are generous and we never left the table feeling hungry. We had a Vegetarian amongst our group and he was catered for by the Chef who produced individual meals for him throughout our stay.
The rooms are a comfortable size, nothing fancy, all with a TV and a seperate toilet and bathroom. The bathroom consisting of a sink and bath, there is a shower attached to the bath taps, but this connects to the wall at a low level so you would need to sit in the bath to use this hands-free. We always had a bath in order to soak the aching muscles and there was always plenty of hot water available.
Noise does travel through the hotel, but we have not found this to be a problem and is no worse than any of the other hotels we have stayed at. Inconsiderate guests will be a problem no matter how well insulated the rooms are.
Evenings at the Hotel are very quiet, normally consisting of a few drinks in the bar area along with various board games or cards being played or general chit chat. There is not much in the way of night life in Les Prodains, so if this is high on your wish list then it would be best to consider Avoriaz, Morzine or Les Gets.
As others have mentioned, there is a short walk up to the cable car or chair lift which does take approx 5 / 10 mins but we found this ideal for warming up the muscles prior to starting the days skiing and then winding down at the end. There is a Ski Hire shop opposite the Gondola Station, whose staff we have always found to be helpful and are happy for you to leave your skis and boots in their cellar which is ideal as the blue run back down to Les Prodains comes out right next to the shop. This means you are able to walk to and from the shop in normal shoes and saves having to walk up and down the road either wearing or carrying your ski boots.
In summary I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a warm (sometimes too warm!), friendly, quiet hotel with comfortable rooms and good evening meals and are prepared for a short walk (it really is not very far) or catch the free bus which stops outside the hotel (2 mins ride) at the start and end of a great days skiing.
Merci Aube and your staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    48
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

This hotel is great! Its in a superb location for access to Avoriaz with only a 6 minute walk to the cable car - definitely good for stretching the legs in the mornings! If you don't like the cable car there is a chair lift on the other side of the road which takes you up to a red run and straight onto the slopes. We left our skis and boots in the ski shop at the bottom of the cable car so we didn't have to walk too far in our ski boots to the cable car or chair lift and we were able to ski back down to the shop on a nice blue run at the end of the day to pick up our shoes. Les Prodains itself is pretty quiet which we liked but if you want nightlife then you are probably best to stay in Morzine (15 mins away) or Avoriaz.

The rooms in the Les Lans were very clean and quite spacious compared to some I have stayed in for ski holidays. The bathroom was modern with a bath and a shower and we found the beds very comfortable. It was always lovely and warm (sometimes too warm!) and we had a balcony and a great view up the valley.

The food in Les Lans is amazing. We had a four course meal most nights; fondue one night and brasserade (cooking meat on a hot plate) another night. I think our two favourite desserts were the creme brulee and the chocolate brownie, both fantastic. We were a bit rushed at breakfast as it didn't open until 8am and we had to leave at 8:15am to get up to Avoriaz for ski school... though on the last day it opened at 7:30am. There was a good supply of cereals, croissants, cheeses, meats and breads to choose from.

The bar is very cosy with a lovely fire and a good supply of games. We were very happy spending our evenings there after dinner.

Our only complaint might be that there is no free tea and coffee (either in the rooms or in the bar) that you get in some hotels. Also the hotel can be a little noisy with doors shutting but it is good that the lift is shut during the night otherwise it might disturb people.

Overall, Aube and her staff made us feel very welcome, we were very well looked after and very impressed with the hotel. We would definitely go back to Les Lans in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In powder
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Hotel Les Lans brings you back to what alpine skiing used to be all about.

Ideally located in the beautifull surroundings, this simple and unspoilt hotel, offers some the best and truly honest service you can find in the alpine world.

Being free from Jacuzzis, after ski events, and other so-called entertainment, you can settle in the small bar or sit a the balcony enjoying the fantastic view over the valley, before going for dinner in the cousy restaurant.

Rooms are relatively small but clean and tidy.

Some would call it a bit primitve - we call it back to basics - and the almost forgotten value of a personally involved staff who actually cares.

Go there - and find out what alpine skiing is about.

Hans Chr (Denmark)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our week staying at Hotel Les Lans. An excellent unpretentious family run hotel. The set menu meals were delicious with fresh, good home cooking . The staff were friendly and helpful and Madame Aube is delightful. The walk to the cable car serves as a good warm up or one can get the bus. We are looking forward to returning to this hidden gem soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Stayed in March 09. Madame Aube (lady of the house) is very friendly and speaks very good english. Rooms arent the biggest but was clean and tidy with charactor. Food was the highlight, great dishes and they were more than happy to make a non beef alternative for my partner (much apppreciated). The only downside was a lack of fresh coffee but the machine type wasnt bad. We are booking for a revisit in 2010 so really cant give a better reccomendation than that. One last thing, yes the cable car is 300m but c`mon its 300m (5 min walk) and if you want you can get the bus from the hotel (we didnt as the walk loosens the legs). We would like to thank the staff for a great week and look forward to seeing you next year. Ian and Manesha

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2009

i stayed here with my uncle auntie and two of there friends and it was is summer there and it was one of the best times in my life we went walking and stayed there for a week at the end i didnt want to leave it was great the food was exelent and i loved it wanting to go back when i can the staff were great and were like you know them 10 out of 10

Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

LOCATION: The hotel REALLY IS about 300-400m slightly uphill to the Prodains cable car (not 1500m like one miserble reviewer said!). It takes about 10mins to walk it in ski boots. Alternatively, you can wait for the FREE ski bus and hail it down to take you up to the cable car(30secs) or the other way to Morzine(15mins). They are every 15mins and so there really isn’t any issues about getting to the slopes if you are too lazy to walk 10mins!!
STAFF: The staff were excellent and attentive. It is a family run hotel and the parents still work for Aube (the daughter who now owns the hotel). Aube speaks good English and was there every dinner time to greet and serve food and wine.
FOOD: The food was excellent (as long as you are not a really fussy eater). Four courses of good wholesome well cooked and excellently presented food. The wine was also reasonably priced and decent. Breakfast was very continental but again very good with fresh baked croissants on every table and plenty of choice.
BEDROOMS: Basic but clean. Mattresses do look thin but are comfy and I always had a good nights sleep. If you don’t sleep well when skiing then you’re not tired enough because you are not skiing hard enough!!
BATHROOM: The bathroom was small but completely adequate and very clean and fresh. Loads of hot water and yes, the shower head is down low but this didn’t really bother me at all.
COMMUNAL AREAS: Again not bad with a small bar down stairs and a descent sized boot and ski room.
COST: This is where you do win. Granted you can find hotels closer to the slopes with more modern interiors but not at the cost. Most hotels (and I had quotes from a few) were 30 to 45 Euros per person per night more money. Is it really worth it? Idon’t think so.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.2 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
227 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#9 of 50 in Morzine
204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Les Lans

Property: Hotel Les Lans
Address: 2394 route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Lans 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Les Lans is situated 300 m away from the cablecar leading to Avoriaz. Family runned hotel, week-ends, short stays or longer holidays, we wish you a warm welcome... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Les Lans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing