We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great value for money”
Review of Hotel l'Igloo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel l'Igloo
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at the beginning of Jan 14 and had a lovely time. I have been skiing for 17 years and stayed in a lot of different accommodation from self catering box apartments to catered chalets. When skiing I hoping to find; a hot shower, clean bathroom, acceptable distance to the slopes, safe storage for your skis, nice view, a comfy sleep and nothing more. We found all of this with Hotel L'lgloo and great value for money.

Our first impressions were really good, Jo, the owner was really friendly and showed us around the hotel. The boot room is safe as you have an allocated locker for your room. We had a room on the second floor which looked out towards the Super Morzine, it had a fantastic view with a balcony. The room was a nice size as far as ski accommodation goes, it looked to be recently re-furbished and the shower never ran cold. The only negative I could find is that the walls are on the thin side, but that is something that I am use to when I go skiing and subsequently take ear plugs.

We loved the fact we were left to our own devices (but when needed the staff are very friendly and helpful) and the breakfast was plentiful. Each morning you got; fresh pastries and bread, cooked meats, yoghurt's, all kinds of teas and coffee's, cereals and eggs to boil (yourself, which I prefer).

The best thing about this hotel is the location, Morzine is a long town and you can find yourself on a bit of a trek to get to the two main gondola's (Super Mozine & Pleney). With Hotel L'igloo you are equidistant for both lifts of no more than 200 meters with no hills involved.

We loved this accommodation and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had room 20 which had fantastic views looking towards the Super Morzine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicandant_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hello and thanks , have a nice week end and see you....Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

I've been staying in this well run family owned hotel for a few years now. Josette and her team always look after us. She will organise your lift pass, book restaurants etc.Equidistantly placed within ski boot walking distance between the Pleney and Super Morzine lift for full access to the whole of the Portes Du Soleil area. A very international client base, and a good all you can eat breakfast. There is a self catering kitchen if you want to save a bob or two on the local restaurant prices. Also this year a home brew pub has opened up next door (Le Bec Jaune) serving great beers and pulled pork rolls.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks and see you ......! Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I expected a lot more from this hotel based on previous reviews and the description on the Crystal Ski website. Before I go into details I should point out that I think we had the worst room in the hotel....ground floor, facing the road, next to reception.

The hotel is on the main road through Morzine so expect lots of passing traffic (especially through the night e.g. grit wagons and snow ploughs). When we were shown to our room I was really disappointed. Although it was very clean, the room was very dated, small, didn't have a bath and there were no tea or coffee making facilities. When we asked to move rooms, we were told that there were no others available however better rooms had been held back for guests that come every year.

Breakfast was limited. No toast, expect to boil your own egg and have little choice. We booked on a half board basis so we had dinner at Le Grillion restaurant each night and this was wonderful. No complaints! Go there even if you don't stay here.

The lounge was VERY small although comfortable.

Location is the hotel's best feature. A short walk to the ski hire and both lifts in Morzine. All bars and restaurants are easily accessible.

I would definitely return to Morzine but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsjessicawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014
Google Translation

Hello and sorry but I'm not agree with you; you booked 2 rooms and you was together in the ground floor, the room are refurbised too; you don't book for double room, you ask and 5 minutes later, you had 2 double beds ! About breakfast there is , in winter and in French : compote, fruits, JOrange et JPomme, Boissons chaudes, 4 sortes de fromage, 3 sortes de charcuterie, viennoiserie, 2 sortes de pain, beurre , confiture, 3 céréales différentes, yaourts fruits et nature, le tout à volonté.....Désolée si ce n'est pas assez ! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

It's funny how you keep seeing the same faces at some hotels. At the Igloo, customers keep coming back year after year. I think readers can probably draw their own conclusions from that alone. For my part, its the combination of outstanding service, great location, affordable rates, the flexibility of B&B and having kitchen facilities on-site. It's just a comfortable, easy place to stay. Merci Josette.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards to Super Morzine for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks !! and see you ....! Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just returned from yet another great stay at The l'igloo hotel where Josette and her staff run a very clean and organised hotel. Breakfast is plentifully with different pastries every morning, you can eat as much as you want. The rooms are spacious and always very warm and comfortable. The bathrooms have shower and bath which is a must for aching muscles after a day on the slopes, well done Josette, and thank you for recommending the restaurant by the church. Hope to see you soon. Elaine and Kevin Bell.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DingDongBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks, have a nice week end and see you next year...!! Josette Baud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had the pleasure to stay in the IGLOO hotel during Christmas holidays. I highly recommend this hotel because it is located very close to the Planey lift, and close to the center of Morzine.
The staff that is working there are very friendly. If you have any question or concern they will make sure to be helpful.
The rooms are cozy, and if you have a balcony over looking Morzine (like most of the rooms) the view is great.
Breakfast is definitively a plus, every morning a different patisserie.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thanks and best wishes , Josette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

In truth I can add little to my rave review last year of this wonderful little hotel. The process of upgrading continues apace. Bedding is now sheets and duvets and free Wi-FI is available throughout the building. The two reasons for recommending L'Igloo that stand above all others are the incredible value it offers and the welcome offered by the owner/manager Josette Baud whose work ethos puts one to shame. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Edward1951S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thanks and best wishes !! Josette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#36 of 50 in Morzine
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Club Le Cret
Hotel Club Le Cret
#7 of 50 in Morzine
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#22 of 50 in Morzine
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Igloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Igloo

Address: 270 route de la Combe a Zore, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: £97 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Igloo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Welcome in Igloo, a hotel B&B sympa, near slopes, tourism office, restaurant...You don't need your car for holidays ! There is everything kitchen, ski and bike room, steam room, sauna..... We propose discount On Portes du Soleil lift pass, from 4 days, don't forget to book it ! See you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel l'Igloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing