We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent First Stay”
Review of Hotel l'Igloo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel l'Igloo
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had a 7 day stay in the Igloo Hotel from the 2nd Feb 2014. We had a rear facing double room on the second floor which was a little on the small side but had plenty of storage space. The room and bathroom were spottless and the bathroom was well finished and looked brand new.
The location was excellent with a easy level 10 minute walk to either lift station and the main town centre. Breakfast was great with plenty to pick from.
The best was Josette and her staff who work hard to make your stay great.
In fact we were originally booked for Feb 2013 but because of illness we could not make the trip but Josette kept our deposit on hold until we could make the trip, how many Hotels would do that for you??

Room Tip: Try and get a rear facing room, its quieter and the view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014
Google Translation

Bonsoir et merci, en vous souhaitant un prompt rétablissement !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a 7 day stay at the Igloo in one of the Studio type rooms sleeping four. The room was very clean, not only on arrival but throughout the week also with clean towels supplied daily. The beds were comfy and the shower/toilet suite very good (as always vital!) The owner was very accommodating (with a good sense of humour!) and helpful, with excellent knowledge of the town. She also had our ski passes arranged for us and issued on arrival which was a great benefit and got us on the slopes pretty swift! Would thoroughly recommend and not hesitate to book again soon!

Room Tip: Studio C2 on the second floor has an excellent balcony lookout on the Morzine ski slopes down to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OJMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thanks !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from 1st - 8th Februaury 2014.

Location is excellent being only 200m or so along a flat road to the main bubble lift for Pleney. You are close to town centre too for bars and restaurants.

We had a back facing room and it more more than adequatly sized. Cleanliness was no issue. Wifi was accessable in room. Hot water was no issue either.

Breakfast was more than sufficient with cereals, breads, meats, tea, coffee, juices, etc....

If a family was staying, it might be nice to have some english channels on TV for the children, but for a couple staying, this was no issue for my wife and I.

Hotel sorts out lift pass for you with 20% discount. Remember to mention if you want the entire Portes du Soleil area pass, or just the Morzine-Les Gets pass.

Would definately stay again!

TIP - Berger Ski Hire at the very bottom of Pleney was excellent for ski hire. No walking with boots on, just at the bottom of the mountain

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel. Rooms near the front will be by the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jj1251199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

See you... with pleasure !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is an excellent three star property that benefits from a great location.

Rooms are larger than expected and we had a new bathroom that was fantastic. Our wish is for a nice comfy bed and hot shower and this hotel did not disappoint. Breakfast was excellent. A nice selection of cold items and help yourself coffee and juice. The staff at breakfast worked hard as it appears most of the hotel appears at the same time at 07:45 so there is a sudden rush. But all the staff were great and friendly.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, we had a great stay here and will probably book again next year.

Room Tip: Rent your skis at the S.A. Berger Ski Rental at the Pleney lift and you can leave them there overnig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pecks679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Hello and thanks, have a nice week end and see you soon...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at the beginning of Jan 14 and had a lovely time. I have been skiing for 17 years and stayed in a lot of different accommodation from self catering box apartments to catered chalets. When skiing I hoping to find; a hot shower, clean bathroom, acceptable distance to the slopes, safe storage for your skis, nice view, a comfy sleep and nothing more. We found all of this with Hotel L'lgloo and great value for money.

Our first impressions were really good, Jo, the owner was really friendly and showed us around the hotel. The boot room is safe as you have an allocated locker for your room. We had a room on the second floor which looked out towards the Super Morzine, it had a fantastic view with a balcony. The room was a nice size as far as ski accommodation goes, it looked to be recently re-furbished and the shower never ran cold. The only negative I could find is that the walls are on the thin side, but that is something that I am use to when I go skiing and subsequently take ear plugs.

We loved the fact we were left to our own devices (but when needed the staff are very friendly and helpful) and the breakfast was plentiful. Each morning you got; fresh pastries and bread, cooked meats, yoghurt's, all kinds of teas and coffee's, cereals and eggs to boil (yourself, which I prefer).

The best thing about this hotel is the location, Morzine is a long town and you can find yourself on a bit of a trek to get to the two main gondola's (Super Mozine & Pleney). With Hotel L'igloo you are equidistant for both lifts of no more than 200 meters with no hills involved.

We loved this accommodation and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had room 20 which had fantastic views looking towards the Super Morzine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicandant_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hello and thanks , have a nice week end and see you....Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I've been staying in this well run family owned hotel for a few years now. Josette and her team always look after us. She will organise your lift pass, book restaurants etc.Equidistantly placed within ski boot walking distance between the Pleney and Super Morzine lift for full access to the whole of the Portes Du Soleil area. A very international client base, and a good all you can eat breakfast. There is a self catering kitchen if you want to save a bob or two on the local restaurant prices. Also this year a home brew pub has opened up next door (Le Bec Jaune) serving great beers and pulled pork rolls.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks and see you ......! Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I expected a lot more from this hotel based on previous reviews and the description on the Crystal Ski website. Before I go into details I should point out that I think we had the worst room in the hotel....ground floor, facing the road, next to reception.

The hotel is on the main road through Morzine so expect lots of passing traffic (especially through the night e.g. grit wagons and snow ploughs). When we were shown to our room I was really disappointed. Although it was very clean, the room was very dated, small, didn't have a bath and there were no tea or coffee making facilities. When we asked to move rooms, we were told that there were no others available however better rooms had been held back for guests that come every year.

Breakfast was limited. No toast, expect to boil your own egg and have little choice. We booked on a half board basis so we had dinner at Le Grillion restaurant each night and this was wonderful. No complaints! Go there even if you don't stay here.

The lounge was VERY small although comfortable.

Location is the hotel's best feature. A short walk to the ski hire and both lifts in Morzine. All bars and restaurants are easily accessible.

I would definitely return to Morzine but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsjessicawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josette B, Gérant at Hotel l'Igloo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014
Google Translation

Hello and sorry but I'm not agree with you; you booked 2 rooms and you was together in the ground floor, the room are refurbised too; you don't book for double room, you ask and 5 minutes later, you had 2 double beds ! About breakfast there is , in winter and in French : compote, fruits, JOrange et JPomme, Boissons chaudes, 4 sortes de fromage, 3 sortes de charcuterie, viennoiserie, 2 sortes de pain, beurre , confiture, 3 céréales différentes, yaourts fruits et nature, le tout à volonté.....Désolée si ce n'est pas assez ! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#31 of 50 in Morzine
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#13 of 50 in Morzine
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Igloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Igloo

Address: 270 route de la Combe a Zore, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: £96 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Igloo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Welcome in Igloo, a hotel B&B sympa, near slopes, tourism office, restaurant...You don't need your car for holidays ! There is everything kitchen, ski and bike room, steam room, sauna..... We propose discount On Portes du Soleil lift pass, from 4 days, don't forget to book it ! See you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel l'Igloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing