We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel -Would definately recommend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel l'Igloo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel l'Igloo
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel -Would definately recommend.”
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Just got back from a weeks Skiing in Morzine and stayed at The Igloo.

Great little hotel. It's relatively basic but has everything you need and the service the staff give is 5 star. They really care about your stay and are always on hand to offer advice.

The location is a good. A five minute walk to the Main Gondola and bars and restaurants.

The rooms are clean and quite spacious. Only complaint was that there was no shower curtain which seemed to end of with the bathroom always flooded. The bath is tiny. Far too small for a 6"0 tall bloke.

The breakfast is good. Nothing fancy but exactly what you need before a day on the slopes.

Also Wifi access in the Hotel.

Would definately stay in The Igloo again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    52
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
57
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

A group of 18 pals stayed there last week on a ski trip. I was very dubious because of the price but some pals were staying in the 4 star down the road and L'Igloo was better!

It was warm, comfortable, water was fantastically hot and the location was perfect. I didn't have the breakfast but some pals did and said it was more than adequate. Staff were friendly but being a ski holiday, you don't see much of them but thats not a problem.

If you have trouble sleeping, request a room to the back of the hotel as its situated on tthe main road but otherwise its perfectly good.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainebyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Four of us (aged between 24 -57) have just returned from a week in The Hotel Igloo and as seasoned skiers, we were all hugely impressed with this budget hotel. Sparkling clean, fresh linen every day, lovely continental breakfast, loads of hot water, plenty space in our studio apartment, perfect location, excellent value for money, etc, etc.....! As we all tended to return from skiing at the same time, we made use of the extra shower in the sauna, which was great. The only slightly negative comment was that the matress on the top bunk was not very comfortable and a couple of the pillows were a bit lumpy. I was unsure about writing a review in case it gets so busy we can't get booked again!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie7Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
227 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Plus points:
+ For a 1 week stay in 2 double rooms we had to pay just above 4 figures in Euros.
In return we got bed and breakfast in this hotel, which is ideally located between the Morzine and Avoriaz area. For both areas it is just a 150 m walk to the lifts.
+ buffet breakfast where you get 1 croissant per person and as many French bread as you can eat with a selected choice of stuff to put on it, like jam, honey, cheese and ham. Yoghurt, milk and cereals complete the breakfast buffet.
+ friendly staff
+ free wifi in the lounge
+ large balcony
+ although we did not use it, there is a fully equipped kitchen where you are free to prepare your lunch or dinner from your own bought ingredients.
+ ski room with heated boot hangers
+ private parking at the back of the hotel

Negatives:
- shower cannot be hung up, so you need to sit in the bath if you don’t want to get a flooded bathroom. At least in our rooms 4 and 5.
- hard beds. I simply don't like them. Most hotels do have them though ;-(
- noisy rooms, when the toilets from your neighbours are flushed, it sounds like a waterfall.

We did not 'run into' the problems the French reviewer wrote earlier about the owner.

Despite the negatives, this hotel can be certainly recommended if you are not too difficult about not being in a 5 * accomodation ;-)




Tip: doorstepski.com brings and collects your skis from the hotel. No need to go into a crowded shop on Sunday and Friday.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

We stayed over the Feb half term and have been to Morzine 3 times before. We have stayed in Le Petit Cheval and Sporting hotels as well as self catering accommodation.

The location was excellent, right inbetween tbe Pleney and SuperMorzine lifts. There were many resturants within a few metres and the centre of Morzine with its bars and shops. We did not need to use the ski bus except for trips to Avoriaz.

We had 2 double rooms for a family of 4 and they were very clean and warm with plenty of wardrobe space. There was also a kitchen downstairs where you could self cater if needed. The ski room was also downstairs and a small sauna and gym.

The staff were friendly and we had breakfast delivered to our room every morning. There were croissants, french bread and a selection of jams and cheeses with jugs of coffee or hot chocolate.

There was no bar, but several within a few mins. We preferred the flexiblility of B&B since we enjoy choosing different restuarants to eat out each night.

This hotel is more suited for couples or those with older children who like eating out and being in the centre of the Apres Ski.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank AMSWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#27 of 50 in Morzine
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#1 of 50 in Morzine
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#40 of 50 in Morzine
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
185 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#5 of 50 in Morzine
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Igloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Igloo

Property: Hotel l'Igloo
Address: 270 route de la Combe a Zore, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Igloo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Welcome in Igloo, a hotel B&B sympa, near slopes, tourism office, restaurant...You don't need your car for holidays ! There is everything kitchen, ski and bike room, steam room, sauna..... We propose discount On Portes du Soleil lift pass, from 4 days, don't forget to book it ! See you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel l'Igloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing