We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski holiday”
Review of Hotel le Petit Dru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel le Petit Dru
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ski holiday”
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Like most ski resort hotels this one has good clean rooms pity no tea making in rooms or robes shower was great very over priced Hotel
the restaurant staff were fairly professional.there ENGLISH was not good and they didnt try Other than that our stay was disappointing, compared with many other ski-ing holidays. Ambiance in the bar and "lounge" area was limited . The food was ok but all tasted the same - It always took ages to get a drink in the bar and staff spent a lot of time chatting to other (French) guests. This probably saved us some money. swiming pool was not warm sauca was not working Basically, if you are interested in reasonable - or even basic - good food we wouldn't recommend Le Petit dur and we believe there are better hotels for customer service, too. Points others have made about the church bells and location are also true bells ring all day and during the night on the hour and half hour
also back steps to village was covered in ice at parts and no rail down steps not safe

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    61
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
58
52
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Like most ski resort hotels this one has good clean rooms and the restaurant staff were helpful and fairly professional. Other than that our stay was disappointing, compared with many other ski-ing holidays. Ambiance in the bar and "lounge" area was limited due to harsh lighting. The food was generally poor - overcooked fish, weird treatment of vegetables (carrot purée that seemed to have flour in it, for example) -and under-flavoured. It always took ages to get a drink in the bar and staff spent a lot of time chatting to other (French) guests. This probably saved us some money. When the pool ran out of towels, reception told us they couldn't do anything and "the washing machine is full". Basically, if you are interested in reasonable - or even basic - good food we wouldn't recommend Le Petit
Dru and we believe there are better hotels for customer service, too. Points others have made about the church bells and location are also true.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyMcBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Have just returned from a fantastic 4 Ski-ing Break in Morzine staying at the Petit Dru, for which I have nothing but praise. The hotel, although large has an intimate feel to it,due to the amazingly helpful and friendly staff that run the place. I can honestly say this is the nicest French Hotel we have stayed in.

Rooms were spacious, extrememly clean and have showers with the most amazing power and hot water Ive ever experienced on a French ski holiday!!

Initially I was concerned at the distance from the ski lift. However, the free bus service stops right outside the hotel (Bus Route A) and either takes you up to Avoiriaz in 8 mins or down to Morzine (Pleny) in 3 mins (you would be crazy to walk it in your ski boots). The buses are very regular and we never had any trouble getting on the first one that came along.

We hired our skis from the onsite Ski hire service and were pleased with price and quality of them.

Breakfast was the usual french spread of hams/cheese/bread/cereals and egg station and plenty to keep you going for the day.

Evening meal was a 5 course experience and extremely tasty, with a choice of 2 main courses each night. They also provide a free caraffe of Red wine for you to enjoy with your meal. You have a table allocated to you for your stay and due to a great mix of groups/couples/families there is a very pleasant atmosphere in the restaurant and in the bar.

For venturing into town in the evening, you take the steps from the back of the hotel and are into the hub of things within a 5 minute walk.

We will definately be returning to stay at the Petit Dru on our next trip to Morzine, as far as Ski Hotels go, this is a gem.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillingRoundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Chose this hotel for a long weekend skiing break and must say the hotel was in a perfect location. It was nice where it was situated just away from the main town but still only a pleasant 10 minute walk to the bars/shops/restaurants and only a 15 minute walk to the slopes.
The staff were very welcoming at the hotel and made you feel at home. The only downfall i would say is that the hotel rooms were quite small.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexRadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Just returned from a great few days in Morzine, the hotel was Ok nothing special, food was good and rooms were very clean and just great for our needs. The worst thing was the church bells that are directly opposite the hotel, they ring every half hour and on the hour throughout the night, thus keeping me awake all night! I would advise you to book a room on the other side of the hotel. Also it is further away from the centre of the village and Pleny lift than we thought.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandJD_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights last week. Excellent location to Morzine, just walking distance to the pubs and restaurants. Hotel staff were very friendly, couteous and attentive.

Can hire your skies in the hotel which as a beginner I found very useful. Fairly frequent bus outside the hotel to Avoiraz, takes about 10 mins.

Would choose to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

I have just returned from a fabulous trip to Morzine staying at Petit Dru. The room was clean and a great size. Ok its not flash with flat screen tv's, but everything worked, lovely balcony and mirrors in all the right places (very important for us girls!) The food was superb and both waiters were always extremely friendly. One night we asked if we could have a fondue and they said no problem! The following night we had fondue for 2 at new extra cost, served with a selection of cold meats, salad and vegetables. The deserts were also gorgeous - a selection of carte d'or ice creams, creme brulee, cheeses and yummy chocolate things every night! The free wine and beer was also great and there didn't seem to be any limit as you could fill your own jug up if it became empty.
The hotel was 10 mins walk from the ski lifts. We hired our boots and skis from Easy to Ride which is 2 mins from the lifts and left our skis and boots there. I think intersports and the various hire shops all ofer the same facility, I would definitely not want to walk back to the hotel in boots. For us it was no problem, 10 mins walk in trainers, usually with a stop off at Bar Robinson on the way back for a beer!
Morzine was fab for beginners, we booked lessons with BASS - British Ski school, you can do this by email before you get there. They were fantastic and by the 2nd day had my partner and myself turning and feeling very confident and happy. The resort seems huge and looked like there was plenty to do for intermediates and experienced skiers. We will definitely be returning and would probably book petit dru and lessons with BASS again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seraphicrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#6 of 50 in Morzine
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#45 of 50 in Morzine
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Petit Dru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Petit Dru

Property: Hotel le Petit Dru
Address: 289 route des Putheys, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Petit Dru 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel le Petit Dru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing