We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old hotel”
Review of Chalet Philibert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet Philibert
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Chalet Philibert is an old chalet with character, offering comfortable rooms and good breakfasts. It also has a small fitness room with sauna and jacuzzi, and a small outdoor swimming pool. There is a bar service for drinks during the day and early evening. We were very happy with our stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libertySicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We just spent 3 nights at Chalet Philibert and enjoyed our stay. We had a double room on the first floor, which was a good size having a separate seating area as well as a balcony overlooking the pool with a view over Morzine and the mountains. It is a 5 – 10 minute walk into the centre of Morzine which is an easy walk on the way there, but there is a steep hill on the way back but it’s not really an issue. The staff were friendly and helpful and allowed us to check in later than normal due some travel delays. There was a good choice for the continental breakfast and the food was of a good standard. The style of the chalet is in keeping with the alpine location with lots of wood and nice little touches that make it stand apart from a standard hotel. An added bonus is that there is a large outside swimming pool, a jacuzzi and a sauna. As the weather was hot, the swimming pool was very welcome and I imagine the jacuzzi and sauna would be great in winter. If I was to visit Morzine again in the summer I would certainly stay here and I think it would make a good base for ski trip to Morzine too, although some may find the walk from the chalet to and from the lifts a bit much with all the ski/snowboard equipment.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DanMartin1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Chalet Philibert is a great find. It can be difficult to find somewhere to stay if you want to go skiing for a few days, rather than the typical Saturday to Saturday full week, but being essentially a small hotel, Chalet Philibert gives that flexibility.

Personally i thought the location was great. Morzine doesn't have much ski in ski out accommodation given its layout but as long as you're near a bus stop then you're fine. Chalet Philibert is 100 metres from the nearest bus stop which is very handy, especially as you have two options - either take the bus up to the Prodains cable car for easy access to Avoriaz (8 mins on the bus) or take the bus to the Pleney chair lift for access to Morzine and Les Gets (4 mins on the bus). In terms of proximity to the town, Chalet Philibert is a 5-10 minute walk from the Church in the centre. Yes it is a steep walk uphill to get home, but it's very quick!

Despite being on a relatively busy road, Chalet Philibert was very quiet. We stayed on the top floor which probably helped but we were never disturbed by any noise. The rooms aren't huge, but perfectly cosy and comfortable, and very clean. There is a large jacuzzi and sauna which you can use from 4pm and a nice bar area to have a drink after skiing or before dinner.

Now onto the food... As many other reviewers have said, the food is excellent. Breakfast is a full buffet including cereals, yoghurts, cold meats / cheese, croissants, fruit, boiled eggs etc. Dinner is 3 courses (no choice of what to eat) but every course of every meal we had was delicious. Yes the portions aren't enormous but i have a big appetite and i went to bed stuffed every evening!

Overall i would happily recommend Chalet Philibert and i'll definitely be staying there again. It isn't the cheapest option around, but you do get what you pay for.

A few other things to mention - if you ask at Reception, they can recommend somewhere to hire skis. They recommended DSV to us which was ideal - easy to find in town, they gave us a 20% discount and they even brought the skis to the chalet for us to save us carrying them home! We took a shared bus from Geneva to Morzine with Alpybus and they were great - prompt leaving Geneva airport and prompt picking us up to head back, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed 8 yrs ago as a party & good so returned with 4 yr old daughter. Admittedly asked for a room near reception as wanted her in bed near me in evening. Big mistake- avoid rooms 1& 2 as they are very noisy from reception/ bar/ through traffic to rooms & opposite the private dining room which only has a curtain! (no door). Last night had a raucous dinner going til 11.30pm... One idiot kept trying our door thinking it was the loo & when I went out to remonstrate.. He did it again to spite us...(sadly English!). Woken by tables being laid in there at 7am & corridor furniture movements at 10.30pm+ another night.
Room on road but ok for noise but it was small & not 100% pristine.. Bulb blown which I reported but it was not repaired. Heard a man complain about a leak in his room but manager (?) didn't seem too phased & agree with other reviews that staff seem disinterested. No one was around when we arrived... Waited ages then scoured kitchens for staff..who seemed annoyed to help.. Lot of shrugging. No apology when someone finally did appear& like others, no info given on anything- breakfast, buses, route to town (which is not easy as v steep & winding ... Why not produce a photocopying to give guests as the town map is not detailed enough). Had to ask info on ski hire & told, incorrectly that the place they favour had lockers... It does not. Location they gave on map was too slap dash so spent ages wandering... Asked about buses & got minimum info so asked other guests... Pool was too cold to use & there was a problem with the sauna one day...no bar food/ snacks/ light meals available... Restaurant is rather gourmet. Nothing much else nearby so you have to hike down the slope for anything.
Love Morzine but will not stay at CP again. Staff seemed weary & decidedly fed up...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a fantastic time, the accommodation is very good, cosy but comfortable rooms, a lovely dining room and lounge area to enjoy a pre dinner drink. The standard of the food was excellent, great breakfasts and the 3 course evening meals were very high quality restaurant standard, a set menu but if you dont like something you can tell them in advance. The only criticism would be that more vegetables could be included but the standard of the meat was fantastic.

The hotel was lovely and traditionally french, the hot tub and heated boot rack was a very welcome addition. The service was very good and the wine list very impressive. The hotel manager even let us keen our room for a whole extra day at no charge as we were not due to leave until the evening, this was highly appreciated.I would not hesitate to recommend Chalet Philibert and will certainy return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennycarswell81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights a few weeks ago. Our airport transfer meant we arrived at the hotel later than the rest of our party and after dinner had been served, but the hotel were happy to provide dinner for us anyway which was much appreciated. The food was superb, varied and plenty of it during our stay and the staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and attentive.

The downsides - we were in a ground floor room with a shared balcony and no curtains, not for you if you like your privacy! One night we had a random man on our balcony on his phone, another night (around 4am) we had people knocking on our bedroom window. The people from the chalet ate in our hotel right near our room and were extremely loud until late, also the toilets were opposite our room and I have lost count of how many times people tried to get in our room thinking it was the toilet. Most of the time our door was locked but it did happen at all hours. So do try and get a room on a higher floor if you can. The room we were in had everything we needed but was small with an exceptionally large bathroom, but was fine. The bed could do with replacing as my partner and I kept rolling into the middle!!

The pleney lift is either a short free bus ride away or a walk down some steep slippery slopes, so if you're taking your own skis etc, I would highly recommend leaving them at a hire shop to save your energy!! We always use Gravier ski shop which is run by excellent people.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, just not a ground floor room if you have the choice!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albie1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Doesn't quite know if it's a chalet or a hotel. Our room was decidedly average and very small with little or no storage room and right next to the (noisy) road. Awful noisy, inadequate lighting. No proper shower. Boot room is very small as befits the slightly 'begrudging' attitude that pervades the whole place. Bar seems like an afterthought. Why don't you light the fire every day? Food slightly OTT for what is and you pay for the wine - 25 Euros a bottle if they don't run out of that and charge you more. Staff seem unwelcoming and ever so slightly unhelpful - almost like guests were a bit of an irritant.
Pretty close to the town via the (steep) shortcut but be careful of the traffic as the chalet/ hotel is on a tricky bend.
Most importantly, I would never voluntarily return and I suspect most of our party of 17 felt the same.
More fool you at Chalet Phillibert!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kita423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
1.9 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#27 of 50 in Morzine
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#20 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#11 of 50 in Morzine
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Philibert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Philibert

Address: Le Puthey | Morzine, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Morzine
Price Range: £123 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Philibert 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalet Philibert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Philibert Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing