We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a few days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alte Neve Chalet Hotel
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Booked for a long weekend at a reasonable price for half board. Initial impressions of this family run hotel were good but the superior room was basic with just a couple of extra bunks we didn't need. Beds were comfortable but with sheets/blankets, not duvets. Bathroom towels were thin and small. Toiletries consisted of 2 sachets of cheap shower gel and 2 soaps which were not replaced during our stay. Evening meals were bland and below the general standard expected in France but were of 4 courses including extensive desert choice so represented value for money if taking half board option. Wi-if was non existent outside of public areas. Location was OK for skiing with bus stop immediately outside hotel with regular services. Parking convenient near to hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable and we had a nice little balcony overlooking the main street. The bus stop was right outside the hotel which was very handy. Although we only booked bed and breakfast we stayed in and eat in the restaurant one night and had a meat fondue, There was plenty of food and wine and a good atmosphere in the restaurant. Unfortunately we didn't find time to use the pool but it looked very inviting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We selected this hotel as it was the cheapest of only a few in Morzine that accepted short stays at the bed and breakfast rate during the skiing high season. This is friendly family run hotel and the reception closes at 19:00 and the front doors are locked soon after 22:00 so you need to make arrangements if like us, you are arrive late. Apart from that, the owners have all the basics covered and offer good clean comfortable accommodation with free Wi Fi and a great continental breakfast. The hotel also has the added benefits of a small pool, fitness room, and sauna area which was great to relax in after a hard day on the slopes. Being able to leave our bags at the Hotel and use their facilities to get changed after a days skiing before our late flight home was much appreciated and shows how committed the owners are to making sure their guest have a great time. I would not hesitate staying at the hotel again if in Morzine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newtongate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I booked a week at Alte Neve in Morzine for New Year 2012/2013. It was quite a short notice booking so I hadn't had too much time to do any detailed research, but Alte Neve proved to be a good find. At first I thought it was a touch expensive, but then I hadnt realised that the price was inclusive of dinners, which were of excellent quality, especially the special New Year dinner (which included fois gras and lobster amongst other treats) and the excellent fondue. Location is excellent, just a short walk to the centre of town and the main ski lifts onto both the Pleney and Avoriaz sides of the mountains. The sauna facilities are good, the place is clean, the service is friendly (albeit sometimes tricky in English). Apart from that good skiing/snowboarding in Morzine/Les Gets, and a nice town proved for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Superior room actually has two single bunk beds in addition to the small double bed, didn't bene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tm2982000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

A group of us, regular skiers, stayed in Morzine last week at the Alte Neve.

It's a very well run, family hotel, situated about a kilometre or so down from the main square in Morzine. A free bus service for skiers pases the door in the morning about every 20 minutes or so.

The previous articles on the food in the hotel pretty much sum it up well. It's a fixed menu each evening, served 7-8pm, with two Fondue nights. The quality of the food is good, and the wine menu hosts a number of reasonably-priced local wines from the region.

The rooms are what one would expect. Ours had a third single bed should it be required.

I enjoyed my stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishwhite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

My husband stayed at this property in 2007 for a stag weekend & thought it would be a good place to book for our holiday this year. We contacted them directly to book.

The hotel has a website which has the information required & we emailed them with our requirements. The answer came back in French though so beware if this language isn't your strong point! We knew enough to understand the response though & subsequent communication via emails was conducted in basic French.

We decided to drive rather than fly as the flights were about double the usual cost (being half term) but the nearest airport for reference is Geneva (the hotel is only an hour away from Geneva). Check in time is about 2pm but we arrived at 11am & we were delighted to find that our room was ready. This meant we could get changed & out on the slopes on our first day, rather than wasting valuable skiing time waiting for our room.

The hotel has about 70 or so rooms on 3 floors. There is a lift. Our room was on the top floor, facing the front with a lovely balcony & view of the Pleney gondola & slopes on the Les Gets side. The room had a sloping ceiling as it was in the eves but not so that you'd bump your head (unless you were in the far corner of it). There was a double bed & a single bed, a desk, wardrobe, cabinet, small TV, wi fi access (which was free) & an en suite bathroom. I understand that some of the rooms had shower rooms & I, personally, would have preferred this to a bath as I like to stand up & shower. There was a shower attachment over the bath but you had to hold this in one hand whilst standing in the bath. Hot water was plentiful & reliable (essential after skiing). The towels were adequate but I suggest bringing your own if you like large fluffy ones!

There is a ski & boot locker room downstairs just inside the front door & you can obtain a key from reception. They do not like you to walk through the hotel with ski boots on (understandably) but we used to carry ours up so that they were warm the next morning.

The room could be overhot at times & we were unable to turn the radiator down. We just opened the door slightly to counteract it so not very environmentally friendly! Housekeeping came once a day, very efficiently just after breakfast.

We were on half board & were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. This is only a 2 star hotel but there were 4, sometimes 5, courses served efficiently. You are allocated a table at the beginning of the week which is yours for the duration (although you can sit where you like at breakfast). One weird thing was that you are asked to fold your napkin & place it in a wallet which means you keep a dirty napkin (albeit your own) for several days. They changed it for a new one halfway through the week. I suspect this is for environmental purposes to save on washing. The food was delicious & well-cooked. Vegetarians may struggle as there is no choice - the menu is fixed. However, there was a vegetarian there the week we stayed & the kitchen really tried to ensure she was given an non-meat alternative as the week went on. The best part was a pudding buffet table with no less than 10 different desserts & you could go up & help yourself as many times as you liked. Not great for the waistline but after skiing all day we could justify it!

They also do lunches but we never experienced these, preferring to eat on the mountain.

The only disappointment was the self-serve breakfast. There just wasn't enough choice. Cereals, yoghurts, some cakes, croissants & french bread with jam. There was some cheese but you're kind of bored with cheese after the regular buffet cheeseboard every night at dinner. I would have liked to see hard boiled eggs & meats, plus more fruit - more of a traditional continental. Also porridge, given the strenuous activity to come, would have been welcome but perhaps this is a bit too much to expect given that this hotel mainly caters to mainland Europeans.

On a couple of nights the hotel laid on special meals such as fondues which were great for getting to know your fellow guests. There aren't many English people that stay here but everyone was very friendly. There was entertainment one night in the form of a chap singing & playing the keyboards & everyone got very merry & danced together! Big headaches the next morning all round which we skiied off.

Also at the hotel is a swimming pool, sauna, mini-gym & spa bath. These facilities were clean although the spa bath was only big enough for 3 people at a time making it nigh on impossible to use at the end of a day's skiing!

The location of the hotel is perfect. There is a car park right outside with an overspill directly opposite. It is on the main road about a kilometre from the bottom of the gondola up to the Avoriaz, Morzine & Swiss ski side, & there is also a bus stop right outside the hotel if you don't fancy trying to hobble that far in your ski boots. Morzine itself is slap-bang in the middle of two amazing ski areas, easily accessible via the two gondolas already mentioned. On one side you have Avoriaz & Switzerland & on the other Les Gets. We alternated our skiing between the two.

I booked ski lessons before I went with a British ski school called The Snow Institute who were excellent. They meet at the top of the Pleney Gondola.

All in all, a fantastic little find, which was amazing value for money. I don't mind telling you that (for the two of us) the whole holiday cost £1600 which includes accommodation, all meals at the hotel, one to one ski lessons for me, petrol, ferries, ski pass & lunches at various mountainside restaurants! Very good for a ski holiday! I was initially nervous about posting this review in case everyone starts going & they push the prices up but I have benefitted so much from hotel reviews in the past that others have written that I felt I should do the same.

Normally you can go to this hotel for short breaks except at peak times when they impose a one-week minimum stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank megaboff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank クリストフー フ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#36 of 50 in Morzine
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#15 of 50 in Morzine
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Le Cret
Hotel Club Le Cret
#6 of 50 in Morzine
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alte Neve Chalet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Neve Chalet Hotel

Address: 702 route de la Plagne, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: £88 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alte Neve Chalet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the resort, 400 meters from the cable car linking Morzine to the ski resort of Avoriaz, the Chalet Hotel Alté Névé is ideally located to practice a range of activities and make the most of your stay. Hikking, skiing, mountainbikking or even shopping, you will enjoy these activities at your fingertips. In winter, you can benefit from the free bus stopping in front of the hotel to lead you to the center of the resort.35 comfortable and well-equipped rooms linked with a lift (satellite TV, phone, balcony for most of the rooms, private bathroom, WIFI), a restaurant offering local specialities, and various idea of free activities (hikes, indoor swimming pool, Wellness Centre with Sauna, hammam and Jacuzzi, Fitness Centre) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alte Neve Chalet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing