We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel at the end of March 2014. The hotel staff are friendly and couldn't be more helpful.The food was of a high standard with the evening meal getting better each night.
We stayed in one of the more basic rooms (103). The hallway to the room went from nicely decorated to suddenly looking like a poor B & B as we got close to our room. This had us worried for a while. However once in the room it was quite nice, it was in good condition although the style looked a bit dated. The shower room (no bath) looked like it had been renovated recently and was of a much higher standard. The room was spotless and had a great view down the valley.
The hotel had a modern spa area that had a spa pool, steam room and sauna, all good for relaxing.
We didn't try the outdoor covered swimming pool so could't comment on that.
The location can't be beaten, especially if you wish to ski on Le Gets side of Morzine. It is a 1 minute work to the Plenney lift.
Overall a great hotel and solid value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkiSpicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    32
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Having just returned from a sun-drenched ski holiday with two pals (bringing the art of Piste Doddering to a new location!) I needed to compliment both the resort and particularly this Hotel.

Morzine (which had been recommended by friends) is lovely. Quite classy, not cheap, but with plenty of life. Very enjoyable and varied skiing with good lift system. A lot of English people in the town, including many who had been previously.

The Champs Fleuris was started by the Michaud family in 1933, and 3 generations are still running it with incredible attention to detail, from morning to night. The original hotel has been extended over the years, and last year a large extension was completed, with a new (second) lift, a superb spa, pool, massage room, games room, boot room and underground garage. There will be 52 rooms in operation this summer.

The hotel stands a mere 30 metres or so from the new Pleney gondola lift (if there's one thing I hate, it's lugging skis hundreds of yards, while wearing ski boots) so access is as good as it could be. Even when busy we didn't have to wait more than 5 minutes to get on board. And the hotel lift goes direct from the entrance down to the boot room level, so no awkward stairs. It goes without saying that you can ski to the door.

The older part of the hotel looks slightly dated (we stayed in that bit - I suspect package customers get put there) but the rooms were perfectly adequate and clean. We had a great view over the town and the lifts/mountain. The new rooms are lighter and more modern.

This is a 4* rated hotel and it really is just that. The levels of service, the trouble taken by staff, and the attention to detail were remarkable. In particular the food was really exceptional, from breakfast with everything from piles of fresh fruit, cold meats, croissants, pastries, bread, toast, cereals and superb scrambled eggs and lovely bacon. Just watch your weight!

We were half board, but apparently lunch is pretty good. Dinner was a great event. A starter table literally heaving with salads, all manner of prepared cold mini dishes, soup, and at least 2 hot starters, with fresh crusty local bread. A choice of two main courses followed by an enormous selection of excellent regional cheeses and then beautifully presented desserts from the kitchen. If one didn't fancy the dessert (possibly having slightly over-indulged?) there was a selection of exquisite ice creams available (we had vanilla, grapefruit, raspberry, mint chocolate and strawberry - and theses were quality items). One only had to ask. A very comprehensive wine list at sensible prices rounded it all off.

Sometimes hotels are tempted to economise a little on food when providing inclusive meals. Here we had Lobster, fresh oysters, scallops, Dover sole, by way of illustration. No need to say more!

Many thanks to the Michauds, their lovely daughter Justine, Laura and Stephanie who looked after us so well at mealtimes, and the others whose names I didn't get, but who all work hard to make this a very special stay.

To quote Arnie Schwarzenegger ....."I'll be back....!"

Room Tip: Views of mountain are nice, but the views over the town and to Avoriaz are good too. If you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmacmullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was 100% in nearly every way, but was let down by half of the bedrooms which look like they haven't been touched since the 1970's. It is obvious that the hotel has been extended recently, but the old part of the hotel hasn't been upgraded. The prices don't reflect this, this is an expensive hotel.

The staff were lovely and multilingual, the breakfast was the usual budget buffet fare found in most hotels, but the dinner was a revelation. Hot and cold buffet, followed by a fish or meat main course, a good cheese selection and desert worthy of a Michelin starred restaurant. This is given over one night per week for a fondue evening.

The location is second to none, only 25M from the main gondola, ski hire across the road with 20% discount if you inform them you are resident in this hotel. Ski in ski out but right in the village and only a short walk to many bars and restaurants if you fancy a night out. The main après-ski bar at the foot of the slopes is only 100M from the hotel.

Small basement spa, kids have to be out of the pool by 6pm

I've booked for next year but insisted on one of the new rooms!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank minkyminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Right next to the gondola lift, perfect location. Watching the beautiful snow covered alps from balcony at night is so beautiful, one night while relaxing with a glass of wine I could hear an owl hooting and the steady flow of a nearby stream. .. priceless. Morzine can be pricey but as a result it does not get massive clubbing crowds. I highly recommend the Champs Fleuris.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view and make sure to ask for a table on your balcony. Some balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morzine, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you looking for a hotel with everything, then look no further.

From the minute you step into the Les Champs Fleuris hotel the Michaud Family make you feel like part of the family, their service and attention to detail is just fantastic.
Hats off to the chef, the food in this hotel is the finest, evening meal is simply an event every night, 4 courses to enjoy with service to match, if you are with a loved one or a group of friends the restaurant lay out is perfect.
The bar and lounge area are the best place to relax and enjoy a wind down after a hard day's ski.
This hotel has the best location, right next to the Pleney gondola and minutes away from the town centre, its perfect.
A must try - the spa and Turkish bath are just amazing, makes you feel like a new person.

THANK YOU, Jean-Marie, Veronique, Justine and Maxime.

Jerome and Neil - See you next year

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jezza1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Have recently returned from a week's ski trip to Morzine and stayed at this Hotel. A multi generational family run Boutique Hotel that is evident the moment you walk through the doors. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The family who own the Hotel are delightful and very hands on and work very hard to ensure that their guests have everything they need to make for a great hoiday, nothing is too much trouble. There is a definite home from home feel about the place including a family dog named Gus. Be sure to ask to see the photo album showing the improvements that have taken place over the years as well as the history of the family and the Hotel. It's very interesting and makes for a good read.
One of the main reasons we chose this Hotel was due to its great location being right next door to the Pleney Gondola and because of the wonderful reviews. We also met several guests who have been returning to this Hotel for over 40 years which is testament to its service.
They have recently added a very modern looking spa with a hot tub that is more like a small heated swimming pool and bookable therapy treatments which are a lovely addition to the Hotel. The decor of the spa is very pleasing with grey stone and turquoise blue furnishings. The treatment room is beautiful and has a very calming atmosphere where couples can have dual massage treatments side by side. They have also updated the ski gear storage area with new individual lockers.
The main bar area has a spectacular view of the mountain and the Pleney Gondola but is in need of an update. The colour scheme, soft furnishings and lighting are somewhat dull and tired looking and do not take full advantage of the fabulous aspect of the room. Any interior designer would love to get their hands on that room!
We had a double bed room which had a small side room with two bunk beds. The room was basic but clean with everything that you needed and had a new modern looking en suite which was very small but again with everything that you would need including a hair dryer and bathrobes with slippers for the spa. We were on the 3rd floor and had a wrap around balcony with views of the mountain and the village.
There is an unfortunate utilitarian look and feel about the corridors leading to the rooms. The landings are warm and welcoming but the corridors which have no natural daylight are made even darker with the choice of dark wood planking on the walls and just door after door after door with numbers on them.
The food is very good, especially the desserts which are homemade and beautifully presented and the wine list is good and reasonably priced.
All in all, this Hotel is without doubt a good place to stay in Morzine but with some updating it could easily become THE place to stay in Morzine.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room with a mountain view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linvied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This was our 6th visit to Morzine, but our 1st to this hotel. Not atall disappointed. What a great location literally ski in/out! Right at bottom of slopes & by the Pleney lift.
Also great location for the town. Very close to bars & restaurants.
We loved it.
Family run hotel & from the moment you walk in through the door you are made to feel welcome by the whole family.
The room are nice, not luxury. Our daughters shared a twin room facing the town. The room was really small but had a very nice shower en-suite.
Our room was a double room, mountain view bigger room with a bath en-suite. The bath was quite short but ok. Lovely views with balcony.
The food was great. Breakfast is buffet style cereal, breads cheese, meats, eggs etc.
Dinner buffet style starter salads etc followed by choice of 2 mains, & then dessert.
The hotel has recently had an amazing spa. With Hugh jacuzzi pool, steam & sauna room. Really lovely.
All great & will definitely be revisiting.
THANKS

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KJCxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.6 mi away
Hotel Club Le Cret
Hotel Club Le Cret
#5 of 50 in Morzine
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#9 of 50 in Morzine
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#6 of 50 in Morzine
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Champs Fleuris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Champs Fleuris

Property: Hotel Champs Fleuris
Address: Route du Telepherique | Taille de mas des Frenes, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Champs Fleuris 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Champs Fleuris is a traditional Morzine ski hotel located at the foot of the Pleney ski slopes , right next to the lifts. The Morzine ski school meeting points and children's ski area are just in front of the hotel. At the Hotel Champs Fleuris*** you'll find the traditional welcome of a family home, combined with the comforts of a newly renovated three star ski hotel. We pride ourselves on our warm welcome, which gets so many guests returning to the Hotel Champs Fleuris*** year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Champs Fleuris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing