We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Dahu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Dahu
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice family run hotel”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Nice location, good service, good restaurant and a very nice (familly?) dog looking after the reception.
We felt very well and friendly taken care of.
Le Dahu is a nice memory.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kent_malmqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    49
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
69
88
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This was our third visit to the Dahu - but the first time in Summer and the first time with children - age 7 and 5.The food is still as wonderful as before. Breakfasts really have everything and the food at dinner is really superb. There is no choice but that means the food that is served is carefully chosen, often using local ingredients, and is of a high quality. The waitresses are charming and helpful. Our family room was very comfortable, with good quality pillows and duvets ( which I am fussy about!). I was glad of the balcony over the valley - It is worth paying the extra for that. I see another reviewer said the "spa area is dated". The inside pool area and sauna etc could not really be called a spa - and it is perhaps a little dated but absolutely fine for a family hotel of this type. The outside pool is absolutely lovely.
Evening child care arrangements- effectively a free nanny service - was a great success, allowing us to eat without the children most evenings, knowing they were nearby, safe and happy. The children ate earlier and children's food was also excellent.
This hotel is very good value in the summer, more expensive in the winter but still worth it. It appears to cater primarily for French families- we were the only Britsh family staying at that time - and the menus etc are all in French, which I like. I have not stayed in many French hotels but Le Dahu is of a higher quality than typical British 'family hotels'.
We have tried the Esprit/ Warner family holidays, Crieff Hydro and Five star hotels with the children, but I prefer Le Dahu to them all.
If taking taxi from Geneva, book taxi through the hotel in advance. it is much cheaper than an airport taxi.
We spent the days walking - easily 'do-able' with kids because of the chairs/cable cars but watch out for the many bikes!
We hope to return to Le Dahu in winter and summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I was the leader of a group of ten cyclists during the Tour de France this year. The Dahu was outstanding in every way - the facility is top-notch, with well-designed rooms that were clean; a spacious lobby that allowed for Internet access, TV watching, games (including pool), drinks on the terrace; an outside lawn by a separate bar for eating lunch or drinks; a gorgeous pool with plenty of chairs and poolside service; plenty of parking; and a big enough dining room so that our group didn't overwhelm the other guests despite our noise.

The staff were always accommodating and went out of their way to help us with any special requests we had, including setting out a breakfast on our last day at 4am.

The food was top notch. Breakfast was a full spread of breads/croissants/fruits/cereals/juices - all you could ask for. Dinner was three courses plus cheese, and no problem for allergies (we had one chocolate and meat allergic person, and another fish allergic person, so every meal had issues). It's not Michelin star dining, but it's definitely a step above normal French food fare.

As far as location, the Dahu is 5-10 minutes above Morzine, with a commanding view of the town and the valley. If you want to be in the center of the action, this isn't your hotel; but if you want a bit of space, and the quiet that comes with that, the Dahu is perfect. It is a climb up some roads to get to the hotel - no problem for our group, but for others it may be too taxing.

Dahu was perfect for our group, in all ways.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveler126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed here 2 nights as part of Inntravel summer walking holiday - so didn't have any problem with the few minutes saunter between town centre via valley footbridge and hotel! In fact, location a big plus as much quieter to sleep at night than other village centre hotels on trip (Abondance & Chatel) - no traffic on road outside at night. Hotel is well appointed, rooms good, views great, food excellent (as often is in smaller classy French hotels). Staff friendly and helpful, hosts speak good English (much better than my French.....). Can't really think of any downside to Le Dahu. Would happily stay again. Hotel was able to issue the much touted local multipass for very cheap access to chair lifts/gondolas and other attractions; ask at reception -1 Euro per day plus 3 Euro (non-refundable) for magnetic swipe card.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subaru3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Staff are friendly, helpful & efficient & provide excellent service.
Bedrooms are comfortable & well equipped, public rooms very pleasant with lovely views.
Food is wonderful !
Ambience is warm & welcoming.
The only down-side is the walk back uphill at the end of the day, but we were usually taken to & fro by the hotel minibus or caught a local bus.
We have visited 5 times & look forward to our next holiday there !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedateskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We have stayed a the Dahu several times now. It is a comfortable, friendly, family run hotel. The food is excellent. The bar and lounge areas are a great place to relax with real fires and a superb view of Morzine. The staff are very helpful and attentive.

The Portes du Soleil is an extensive ski area. Morzine is a pretty 'all year town', unlike many of the concrete 70's resorts I have stayed in the Alps. Well worth a visit in summer to go walking.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonRobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This hotel is excellent, especially for families. They have thought of everything to remove the hassle of going on a ski holiday with small children. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was generally really good, some nights even outstanding. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prkenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#8 of 50 in Morzine
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#28 of 50 in Morzine
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#13 of 50 in Morzine
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Dahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Dahu

Property: Hotel Le Dahu
Address: 293 Chemin du Mas Metout, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
#4 Spa Hotel in Morzine
#4 Luxury Hotel in Morzine
#19 Family Hotel in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Dahu 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like all the members of the Hôtels Chalets de Tradition chain, Le Dahu gives you the cosy comfort of a mountain chalet with lots of character, and a very high quality of service. You’ll get a warm welcome and the atmosphere is relaxed; the Heu family and their team will do all they can to make sure that you have an extremely pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Dahu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dahu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing