We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel, great location with excellent food”
Review of Hotel Le Sporting

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Sporting
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value hotel, great location with excellent food”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed here 10th-17th March 2012 on half board basis. Rooms are quirky (in a nice way) with comfortable beds. Very clean with excellent staff. Good breakfast buffet choice and excellent evening 5 course menu. Very easy access to Morzine (Plenney) ski area via a short drag lift about 50 metres from hotel, with good access to the yown, yet far enough away to be quiet in the late evening. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonusBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    41
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location directly across the street from access to the ski lifts, and right on the bus route to take you to either the Super Morzine Telecabine or the Telepherique from Les Prodains, both of which will get you to Avoriaz and then on to the rest of Portes du Soleil. The next best thing is the incredibly friendly and helpful staff. The room was fairly basic but comfortable, and the bath was newly remodeled. We also appreciated that we could walk easily anywhere in town, allowing us to explore and dine as we pleased whilst leaving our car in the convenient car park in front of the hotel. There was a bit of noise that seeped in from nearby rooms, and the food, while perfectly fine, seemed a bit overpriced. But I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keagriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is nicely located, close to the center of Morzine. It is cosy and clean but the prices that they are asking are too expensive for what it is. The breakfast was not included in the night and they were asking 10Euro for something that was really not great and wifi cost 5Euro per day. The main reason why I didn't rate this hotel higher is that the personel is not very nice, that broke the charm of the place for me!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SabVu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

What a fantastic hotel for a skiing holiday. All of the staff were very warm, friendly and efficient throughout our stay. The food was superb: a buffet breakfast with a wide range of hot and cold food and a fantastic 5 course dinner every evening. I was particularly delighted with the high quality and varied vegetarian food they prepared each evening, even on the first day when they had no notice. The bedrooms and public rooms were tastefully decorated in a traditional alpine style. Our bed was very comfortable and we had a lovely view from our balcony. We feel that Hotel Sporting is the perfect venue for a skiing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

As a party of four we found this hotel one of the best ever for a ski- ing holiday. Breakfast was good, dinner even better with 4 - 5 courses each evening included as part of our package. Comfortable rooms though the bathroom would be improved by a wall mounted shower. All the staff ( and the family owners) were really friendly and helpful beyond belief.
Hotel is well situated for the lifts via a nearby button up to the green run from where we skied 2 mins to the main Pleny lift - and we could almost ski back to the front of the hotel - off the nearby blue run back to the button. The free bus to Avoriaz ski area (Les Prodains cable car) stops on the roundabout just outside the hotel. Very convenient.
Morzine, Avoriaz and Porte Soleil area is a great place to go ski-ing as not a rip off like many parts of Les Trois Vallees. Morzine very attractive small town with good restaurant and bars.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed as they seem to have more rooms with twins though we booked doubles - and got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janegardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We arrived at the sporting hotel to find everything as expected, The triple room we booked was clean, spacious and comfortable although the twin beds are on the small size for an adult male. Views from the balcony where excellent. Decor traditional alpine and all fixtures and fittings were in good order. Breakfast although good was not the best I have had and variety was poor with exactly the same items every morning and fruit salad usually tinned fruit. For 10 euros per person it was expensive. Staff friendly and helpful. Location perfect for the Pleney lift at 250 meters although there are many other hotels closer. We used the closer button lift to join the green run for a short ski into the Pleney lift area. In summary an excellent choice for anybody wanting a relaxing base for winter, spring or summer sports.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hipha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed at the sporting for the tour de france stage. Arrived late at night and had a great cold platter of cheese and meats. Hotel staff in reception were not that friendly and couldnt speak hardly any english at all. Waitress in the restaraunt was really good and tried hard to speak english with us. Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated and we had a balcony looking over the climb to avoriaz. The rooms were very hot as the weather was out of the norm exceptionally warm, and the hotel is not equipped to cope with such high tempatures. We had to leave the doors open at night which meant it was quite noisy in the early morning as the hotel sits on a corner and the bin lorry comes early in the morning. The garden was nice but the pool was quite small and not many loungers, maybe this is not used as much normally but the hot weather meant everyone wanted to be round the pool in the afternoon. Overall the hotel was very clean, the food was exceptional and 5 courses every evening were very varied, the cheese platter was to die for. Not right in town so about a 15 minute walk to the bars and restaurants, it was good to be able to walk off all the 5 courses though....It was quite expensive, however it was the tour de france week. There were too many other great hotels in Morzine to stay at the same place again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sporting10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#13 of 50 in Morzine
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#8 of 50 in Morzine
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sporting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sporting

Property: Hotel Le Sporting
Address: 34 route des Nants | Avenue de Joux-Plane Centre Station, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sporting 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has a heated pool wich is covered in the winter, a sauna, a steam room and a billiard table. In the summer, appreciate the shaded gardens with a game area for children where you can relax whilst playing "petanque" or ping-pong. We also put at your disposition a secured garage and all material necessary for washing mountain bikes. In winter "Sporting hotel" guests can buy their skipasses directly at reception with special prices, even in high season. Our guests can also profit of a discount on ski hire at "Felix ski" situated at 100m from the hotel. The hotel is also equipped with a secure ski room including a shoe dryer. Piscine Hotel Morzine Le Sporting A private and free parking is available in front of the hotel where you can leave your car during your stay and make the most of the resort by foot or using the free buses that go around the village and up to Avoriaz cable car. The bus stop is in front of the hotel. After a good days skiing or walking the hotel lounges and bar await you to taste our cocktails, local aperitifs and our famous home-made crisps. In the restaurant our chef will allow you to savour a gourmet, creative and refined local cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Sporting reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing