We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Sporting

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Sporting
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I would recommend this lovely family run hotel set in the beautiful French Alps with the added bonus of a pool. We visited in August and this resort is to be recommended also in the summer months especially for the more adventurous - luge, moutain biking, para-gliding. This hotel is in a great location, has very helpful staff, a great family run feel and spacious clean rooms. A big tea drinker they accomodated all my requests and the tea always came with delicious homemade meringues!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaSheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

Lovely hotel situated nicely in the heart of Morzine. We were there in the summer so dont know what its like getting to an from the ski lifts from there but its a 2 min walk into the town its self.

We arrived into Morzine late but they kept reception open for us. Went straight to bed as we having travelled from La Rochelle in a day. Woke up to an amazing view of the Alps. Rooms were very clean and spacious. We paid roughly €15 per person per night for the three nights we stayed so its the same cost as a fast hotel but miles apart in terms of well everything. Chilling in the pool in the middle of the Alps is odd but nice. Going back again this summer with a larger group.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lt_Shade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My partner and I stayed for a weekend mid March in Morzine. We were not sure what to expect as booked last minute and new to the location. Very pleasantly surprised, the owners were very friendly, accomodating and helped us with good discounts on ski hire and equipment at the local shop. Had large room, comfortable facilities and a nice balcony. Food and was excellent and the staff were very helpful, Would recommend this for any people coming on ski holiday, Morzine was great location with good selection of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Virgil35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

stayed here for a week with my wife mid March 2012, wasn't quite sure what to expect as booked last minute with Crystal.
shouldn't have worried, we had a great time, the room was comfortable and plenty big enough with a balcony looking to the slopes.
food was pretty good and lots of it, plenty of variation in the evening meals.
all the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful, particularly our waitress who even remembered what you liked to drink after the first night!

the hotel is well positioned for the slopes, there is a new button lift just across the road which allows you to shi to the base of the Plenny lift.

and i should make a special mention about the standard of housekeeping, the room and bathroom were so clean, and kept that way throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank corinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic week in Morzine. The Hotel Sporting is ideally situated on the main road 5 minutes from the main Pleney lift and shopping street. There is a short cut down to the old town behind the hotel also. Rather than walk to the Pleney you can ski there from the button lifts right next to the hotel which pretty much removes the need to ever carry your skis around- a big plus in my book!

The bus stop outside the hotel is just 10mins (free) to Les Prodrains lift which takes you right into the heart of Avoriaz, much easier than the Super Morzine and making various changes.

The hotel is very comfortable, the rooms could do with a little updating but they are warm, clean and the beds are comfy so a very good nights sleep was had. The added Sauna and Pool is a good bonus too for a three star.

The service was excellent and food lovely with a good selection at breakfast and 5 courses in the evening. The chef is clearly very good and the food was very good.

Skiing wise we would recommend heading up higher than the main lettered slopes near the Pleney, the lettered slopes are the most busy and all the best runs are further up or over towards Les Gets. Avoriaz is also a must including skiing over to the quiet runs in Switzerland (you can take a chairlift if you don't fancy the Swiss Wall!)

We rented our equipment from Felix Ski through the hotel which meant we could leave our equipment at their shop (by the second button lift) which was excellent. We also had three days lessons from ESF which the Crystal Reps say you can't do as they only offer a week. This isn't true and as long as they aren't fully booked you can book lessons by the day.

All round a lovely holiday.

Stayed: March 2012
4  Thank StripeyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed here 10th-17th March 2012 on half board basis. Rooms are quirky (in a nice way) with comfortable beds. Very clean with excellent staff. Good breakfast buffet choice and excellent evening 5 course menu. Very easy access to Morzine (Plenney) ski area via a short drag lift about 50 metres from hotel, with good access to the yown, yet far enough away to be quiet in the late evening. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonusBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location directly across the street from access to the ski lifts, and right on the bus route to take you to either the Super Morzine Telecabine or the Telepherique from Les Prodains, both of which will get you to Avoriaz and then on to the rest of Portes du Soleil. The next best thing is the incredibly friendly and helpful staff. The room was fairly basic but comfortable, and the bath was newly remodeled. We also appreciated that we could walk easily anywhere in town, allowing us to explore and dine as we pleased whilst leaving our car in the convenient car park in front of the hotel. There was a bit of noise that seeped in from nearby rooms, and the food, while perfectly fine, seemed a bit overpriced. But I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keagriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#7 of 50 in Morzine
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#27 of 50 in Morzine
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
143 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sporting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sporting

Address: 34 route des Nants | Avenue de Joux-Plane Centre Station, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: £131 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sporting 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has a heated pool wich is covered in the winter, a sauna, a steam room and a billiard table. In the summer, appreciate the shaded gardens with a game area for children where you can relax whilst playing "petanque" or ping-pong. We also put at your disposition a secured garage and all material necessary for washing mountain bikes. In winter "Sporting hotel" guests can buy their skipasses directly at reception with special prices, even in high season. Our guests can also profit of a discount on ski hire at "Felix ski" situated at 100m from the hotel. The hotel is also equipped with a secure ski room including a shoe dryer. Piscine Hotel Morzine Le Sporting A private and free parking is available in front of the hotel where you can leave your car during your stay and make the most of the resort by foot or using the free buses that go around the village and up to Avoriaz cable car. The bus stop is in front of the hotel. After a good days skiing or walking the hotel lounges and bar await you to taste our cocktails, local aperitifs and our famous home-made crisps. In the restaurant our chef will allow you to savour a gourmet, creative and refined local cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Le Sporting reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing