We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonne Valette(Morzine)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel l'Igloo(Morzine)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Soly(Morzine)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
161
11
1
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
11
1
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfelix skiwhite water raftingchef's foodmountain bikinghot tubsummer familyvia ferratagreat holidayenthusiastic staffresort stafforganised activitiesseparate dining roomnext yeargeneva airportshuttle serviceski shophard drive
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2010

For the first time in its history a group of fourteen members from Fleckney walking club dug out their passports and ventured abroad. We stayed for a week in early September in the wonderful Chalet des Montagnes in Morzine in the French Savoie Alps. After travelling via Luton & Geneva with a brief glimpse of Mt. Blanc on the way our first walk on Sunday took us through Morzine to Montriond then up a river valley to the spectacular Lake Montriond. After a fabulous buffet lunch we returned to Morzine down a forest path and we were also treated to traditional Roast Pork for our Sunday dinner!
On Monday we took a high alpine walk up to 2000m and reached the Swiss border, this path was used by the French Resistance in World War II. It was really interesting to visit a farm on our route which produces traditional cheese including the wonderful Reblechon which is the main ingredient of Tartiflette, but more about that later. The views when we reached the top were stunning and we also managed to make friends with a few cows on the return path and spot a couple of eagles flying over the treetops. The sound of the cowbells ringing and the stunning scenery made us expect to see Heidi and Peter the goatherd around the next corner.
As rain was forecast Tuesday was our morning for a bit of retail therapy in Morzine but as the afternoon brightened up we took a short trip up to Les Lindarets where a herd of goats roam the streets and hillside. This area is part of the winter Portes du Soleil ski area and we took a short walk up the ski slopes to a waterfall.
On Wednesday we travelled to the Sixt-Fer-a-Cheval National Park for a guided walk along a river valley with spectacular scenery and waterfalls. We then visited the village of Samoens which has beatiful17th and 18th century architecture and botanical gardens. It was really nice to sit in a café in the square, relax and watch the world go by. Our return journey to Morzine we drove over the famous Col De Joux Plane which is one of the most arduous climbs the cyclists undertake as part of the Tour de France. Not to be outdone one of our party hired a bike the next day and made it up the climb himself!
Thursday was a very special day as we were promised a traditional Savoyade lunch in a family chalet. We set off from the hamlet of Les Clares above the village of Les Gets through the forest to a small chapel in the forest called Chapelle de Jacquicourt. On our way we encountered a number of local gentlemen gathering mushrooms which were plentiful throughout the forest. After a steep climb we arrived at the Rosset family chalet and we were served a wonderful meal of Tartiflette (potatoes, bacon and cheese) cold meats and salad accompanied with wine and after the meal a few shots of home made schnapps! We were very happy people walking back to our chalet.
On Friday some of our party spent the day in the lakeside town of Annecy which is known as the Venice of the Savoie and some of us went to Chamonix and took the cable car up to the Aguille du Midi at 3842 m. The views of Mt Blanc and the surrounding peaks were awesome and breathtaking (quite literally at that altitude). We were very lucky to be there on a clear day and as we arrived early there were relatively few people and no queues for the cable car.
Our Chalet in Morzine was just a few minutes walk from the town centre came with comfortable rooms, a cosy lounge with a bar(very welcome), a separate dining room and an outdoor Jacuzzi for easing the aching muscles after a days walking. It also came with a superb chef who provided us with breakfast, lunches, cake at teatime and a three course dinner every evening, We also had two minibuses at our disposal for transport to our walks and excursions and two very helpful drivers/guides. We all returned home safely with great memories of a wonderful week’s holiday., great walks, good food and good company.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

From start to finish, the whole experience was excellent. The booking process was smooth and effortless and the resort staff were second to none, nothing was too much trouble.

We visited in July to coincide with the visit of the Le Tour. Once the reps were aware of this, we were informed of the best places to watch the race and having taken bikes, the best places to ride.

This was our first villa experience and were a little unsure of what to expect, sharing with different families etc, but everyone got along well and the children that were there, were well behaved.

The villa was excellent, just the right distance from the main town, clean, honesty bar was always stocked, food was excellent and Tom the chef was very accommadating when it came to dietery requirements (even fussy eaters). The rooms/villa were always clean and the staff very pleasant. The mid afternoon cakes were simply delicious!

Our room was next to the dining room and cannot really remember being awoken by the staff preparing for breakfast. Wine was plentiful at evening meals, the meal portions were spot on and quality was excellent.

All in all, if you want a great hassle free holiday, in a great location, with helpful and pleasant staff I would definately visit Simply Morzine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JediMasterYoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Having been on holiday with Simply Morzine at the start of July in the Chalet Montagne
I decided to wait a while before writing this review to allow myself time to reflect on the holiday as a whole, and to deliver a review that was concise and accurate.
My boyfriend and I arrived for a week in resort as keen spectators of “Le Tour de France”. we also wanted to participate in the downhill mountain bike activities.
As a couple in our 30s we weren’t expecting a week of club 18-30 with pub crawls but we did expect a different experience! On arrival at the chalet I was surprised to discover that over 50% of the occupants for that week were children. I have no issue with kids, and I must emphasise they were relatively well behaved, however, if you want a relaxing week then maybe look for another option! The Rep (Dom) seemed very helpful on first impressions, however he was so busy telling us to remove our shoes before entering the chalet that he forgot to mention the access code to enter at night. Something we discovered at midnight when we had to shout and bawl at another guest’s window for over an hour to get in (and no we weren’t drunk).
The location and layout of the chalet also leaves a lot to be desired. We were in room 4.
I cannot emphasise enough that this had to be one of the worst locations in the entire building. Located between the dining room and the kitchen we were awoken every morning at 7.30 when the staff passed our room about 40 times with plates and breakfast items that were to be laid out for guests. Infuriating as this was, the icing on the cake was when they “dragged” the wooden tables across the floor every morning (the sound could probably waken the dead)
In the afternoon when you fancied a nap (why wouldn’t you when you had been woken up early) we discovered the corridor acted as the perfect location for the kids to run up and down screaming and playing hide and seek. In addition, the so called hot tub just became a mini swimming pool in the afternoon for the kids. Incidentally room 5 is in the same location so I wouldn’t opt for that one either.
As regular skiers, we are familiar with chalet holidays and looked forward to the food. The best review I can offer with regards to the food is that I came back from holiday 2lbs lighter !! The starters on offer consisted of roasted fig concoctions; the desserts were repetitive with banana deserts on offer 2 nights??? The main courses were passable most nights, but several guests were refusing starters and deserts due to the bizarre and cost effective options we were given. We actually dined out the last night on our own to avoid another disappointing meal. The wine was also NOT free flowing and we constantly had to ask for more (on the occasion we asked at desert time, they filled our glasses and didn’t bring out another bottle)
I could go on in further detail about the disappointing scenarios we encountered on a daily basis with the company but to conclude we would not recommend this chalet for a summer or winter holiday at all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelak78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimplyMorzine, Owner at Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2010

Simply Morzine welcome constructive criticism and place great importance on customer feedback to improve our service. In fairness to ourselves, we would like to reply to the matters our guests have raised, which we feel are unfounded and inaccurate.

We are disappointed that you have felt compelled to write this review to be timed with the start of our ski season, 5 months after your summer holiday. Frankly, we find the timing most surprising. It is unfortunate that you did not express your unhappiness when at the chalet regarding the issues you have outlined, as well as the ‘other disappointing scenarios you encountered on a daily basis’. This would have given us the chance to find a solution or at least provide an explanation. Had we known you were so uncomfortable at the chalet, we would have been happy for you to move at no cost into the Hotel la Chaumière next door, where there were no guests with children.

Likewise after your holiday, we are sorry you were unwilling to contact us to discuss your discontent. It is therefore with reluctance that we are responding on this public forum. We have replied to your review point by point so readers are able to make their own judgment.

1) Simply Morzine is a family-friendly company and welcome guests with children, especially during the school holidays. The bookings over this period were made up of 3 couples and 3 families (8 adults, 5 children and 1 infant). All guests appeared to be having a great holiday, and we found the children to behave respectfully and courteously. As a regular chalet visitor appreciates, the attraction of this type of holiday is to be sociable and enjoy the communal atmosphere and company of fellow guests, whether young or old!

2) Every arriving party is welcomed personally and briefed about their accommodation. The entrance area has a shoe rack and it is appreciated if outdoor shoes are not worn inside. In 15 years, guests have been quite content to leave their outdoor shoes in the hall and wear their indoor footwear or use the slippers that we provide. This has helped maintain the chalet in top condition and ensures high standards of hygiene and cleaning.

3) For security, the chalet has an electronic keypad to open the front door. Guests are informed of the code on arrival. We apologised for forgetting to tell the reviewer of the code and offered the couple a bottle of champagne the following day for the inconvenience. Nevertheless, the keypad is clearly located by the main door. We also have the following controls in place to ensure this scenario does not occur: (i) All guests have the resort manager’s mobile phone number in their holiday documentation prior to arrival. (ii) The chalet noticeboard displays our 4 staff mobile contact numbers. (iii) All guests are given a welcome pack on arrival with an emergency card per person showing these numbers for all 4 staff members. We are contactable 24/7 in case of an emergency. A simple phone call would have revealed the keycode.

4) Like most alpine chalets, the Chalet des Montagnes is made of wood. It is well known that chalets are not as sound proof as concrete structured hotels. Our chalet hosts work quietly and professionally to keep the chalet tidy and comfortable. They have no intention of disturbing sleeping guests, let alone ‘waking the dead’!

5) The chalet’s ‘so-called’ hot tub is a large, luxury Sundance spa/jacuzzi imported from California. Children are able to use the jacuzzi under the supervision of an adult. If we had been made aware, we would have arranged a quiet time for the couple to use the jacuzzi privately.

6) Our chef is professionally qualified and we take objection to the remarks made about the quality of food and other guests refusing starters and desserts due to ‘bizarre and cost effective options’. We pride ourselves on providing cuisine of a high dinner-party standard, with carefully chosen menus and a generous food budget. We received 2 unsolicited emails from other guests staying over the same period complimenting the holiday and making special mention of the level of catering.

7) We provide good-quality house wine with dinner. The provision of wine is clearly explained in our literature, both at time of booking and prior to the holiday. Wine is free-flowing during dinner but is not included for the entire evening. Therefore we do not open more bottles during dessert if there is already enough wine on the table to refill glasses. Should further drinks be required, we maintain a very reasonably priced honesty bar.

Once again, we can only express that we are saddened to read your review and to have not been given the opportunity to discuss and address your concerns. Simply Morzine have been operating for over 15 years and always strive to go the extra mile. We hope readers will find this to be a fair and balanced response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Our week at Simply Morzine was everything I had hoped for. The whole team are clearly motivated to ensure you have a great time, which we certainly did. Any request for extra help (we made a number!) was met with enthusiasm. The chalet was lovely - we had the family suite which was perfect. The food was excellent.
Morzine is a great place to go if you want to spend time in the mountains in the summer, particularly with children. Even if it poured there was plenty to do. And it is, ofcourse, beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEFNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Hugely enjoyable week. Our group ranged in age from 12 to 91 and all were really well looked after - accommodation very clean and comfortable, food great and team very friendly and thoughtful in looking after us. We have travelled with Simply Morzine before and will certainly do so again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grp369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews