We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes
Ranked #4 of 49 Morzine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2011

In the first week of January we drove to the chalet Montagnes (from Hertfordshire not Bedfordshire we know who we are!) We stayed in the apartment linked to the chalet. It was compact and very comfortable and exceeded our expectations
The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. The teenagers are still talking about the Portes De Soleil adventure and the Jenga evenings.
We really enjoyed staying in a mixed group chalet and we would recommend it to anyone who enjoys great food and great hospitality.
A very memorable weeks holiday. We hope to be back soon.
,

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanncaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2011

We travelled as family with Simply-Morzine for the fourth time this January. This years experience was as good as before, and we are already looking forward to next year. We stayed in the Montagnes for second year running, and hopefully will go back there again. The chalet experience is always going to be more intimate than a hotel, and more risky, as different groups share a relatively smaller space, than a hotel. The Simply Morzine team, in my opinion, are quite expert at navigating a chalet experience that should satisfy most people.

The pick up from the airport is always reliable and speedy. The arrangement with Felix, the ski shop, ensures a top class service for renting equipment. The guiding is always good fun, and this years circuit of the Portes de Soleil, was voted the best ever by the teenagers. Thanks Steve, but the adults are still recovering!

The food always hits the spot, which can't be easy, considering the wide age range we had. The rooms have everything one could look for in a chalet, and the bed are comfortable (most important).

The availability of the bus to bring you to and from Felix, or wherever, was a luxury, much appreciated in the mornings when we were in a hurry, and in the afternoons when we were tired. The walk was only five minutes, but tired limbs looked forward to the Canadian hot tub, not the walk.

For anyone looking for solitude, silence and serenity, this Chalet is not for you, but if you like good food, comfortable beds, meeting new people, and appreciate genuine and sincere hospitality the Simply Morzine team in Chalet des Montagnes are yer only men (and women).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmthedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stayed at Chalet des Montagnes in January of this year. Simply Morzine advertises this chalet as 4 star luxury. We quite disagree for the following reasons:
• The rooms are cramped and the beds are very uncomfortable.
• The communal area was too small for the volume of guests staying in the chalet – there were 24 guests staying on this occasion and the size of the lounge would really only accommodate half that comfortably.
• The website states: “Under normal snow conditions you can ski to and from the chalet to within 40 metres of the front door.” To ski out would involve a hike of about 60 meters up a very steep slope then on to an almost horizontal trail – then having to cross country ski (yes the trail is near horizontal) another 4-500meters to get to the Pleney bubble. We found it far easier to walk to town. Skiing home was nearly as difficult.
• The sound proofing of the chalet was nonexistent , despite a chalet rule of “ quiet after 10pm for respect of other guests” this was regularly ignored and this in combination with the poor quality beds resulted in us receiving very little sleep. I’m sure most folk will agree a good night’s sleep is essential to enjoy any ski holiday.
• The food was ok and the staff were quite nice, but this does not make up for the latter.
We have stayed in many 4 and 5 star establishments around the world and this does not compare, I have stayed in more comfortable backpacker hostels.
We did complain to the management about several issues relating to the above points which we felt removed a great deal of enjoyment from our holiday. We eventually received a less than satisfactory reply.
We would not recommend Simply Morzine to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tradescant20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimplyMorzine, Owner at Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

We have not posted a management response until now as we have corresponded with the reviewer and taken time to liase with all other guests who were staying at the chalet over the same week.

We do not wish to reveal details in an open forum, however there was a fall out between the reviewer and the other members within her group.

The criticisms levelled are inconsistent with reports from other guests and also the reviewer’s own written communication with Simply Morzine. For example “let me commend the quality of the food at this establishment, the food really was of a good standard”.

We can only conclude that frustration with fellow guests has been unfairly directed at the ‘bricks & mortar’ of the reviewer’s holiday accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I was tasked with arranging a ski holiday for a group of my friends so I chose this chalet based on the great great reviews on trip advisor (so that I didn’t get the blame if it all went wrong!)

We were picked up by the charming Vince from Geneva airport - who gave us an update on snow conditions and was forthcoming with suggestions on what to do in Morzine. Transfer time was just over an hour.

Our first stop was the ski hire shop as some of my party wanted to get skiing straight away and Vince took our bags to the chalet for us. We were on the slopes within 2 hours of landing!

The chalet is lovely - a proper alpine wooden chalet and it’s a few minutes walk from the Pleney lifts.

The latest review says it’s on a steep hill - with respect to the author - I would say it’s up a road that happens to be ascending - but this is the mountains after all! When you’re up and down ski lifts all day - a 2 min walk up a hill is not even on the radar!

It’s worthy of note that Simply Morzine have a minivan stationed in town every afternoon that ferries people back and forth to the chalet. I only used this once on the first day so that I could find out where the chalet was, but after that I just walked back and forth - and to be honest once you had your boots off it felt great to stretch out with a walk.

Staff at the chalet were really helpful and knowledgeable, Steve our rep recommended restaurants and even went to the lengths of making reservations for everyone on the chalet night off (the chalet is catered every night but has one night off a week) and Bea - the general manager helped us out with information about Morzine. The lovely ladies who served us dinner every night knew our names straight away and really delivered a personal service. Every time I saw any of the staff they asked me how my lessons were going etc - which is lovely as it makes you feel like a special guest and not a number.

My husband has (very!) particular dietary requirements which were completely met and not a bother to the staff at all. All the food was extremely tasty - we had a gourmet 3 course meal every night - everyone in our group really enjoyed the food. Before dinner they laid out little nibbles and the honesty bar was fully stocked for those who wanted a drink.

Our routine went like this - get up and have breakfast (already laid out for you) - go skiing - come back and flop on the couch in the afternoon - have tea and delicious cakes - get in the hot tub - shower for dinner - eat and drink and then retire to the lounge to chat with the other guests etc. Sleep thoroughly well fed and well relaxed!

This was my first experience of a shared chalet and certainly won’t be my last. The families we shared with were so lovely, so interesting and such a pleasure to meet and spend time with. They had been to Morzine before and had stayed at the chalet, which in itself was a great sign that we were in the right place! They shared with us their experiences of Morzine and I was so sad on the last night as I felt we'd all become a bit of an extended family. We had such a good time with the other chalet guests and you can’t get that at a hotel.

The families we shared with have used Simply Morzine for their summer holidays also – and highly recommend coming back in the summer so I’m def considering it. I think for our group of friends, a catered chalet is def the way forward – no arguments about who is cooking, no arguments and decisions about where to eat every night and after a hard day skiing – all you want is for great food to be served to you (along with lots and lots of wine!) which is exactly what happened.

Best things:
People we shared the chalet with
Simply Morzine staff
FOOD!
Hot tub
Internet / 100 videos at hand / board games

Worst things:
My lack of skiing progress but that has nothing to do with this review !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsmels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I visited in January 2011 for a week with a group of friends, this was my first skiing holiday and I couldn't have asked for more. The staff were friendly, helpful & welcoming and the food was restaurant quality. The whole chalet was warm & comfortable and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Having booked Chalet Montagnes back in May, there was a lot of anticipation of a great Christmas spent skiing in the alps at a lovely traditional chalet, and Chalet Montagnes did not disappoint.
I had flown back from Singapore (where I reside) to London the previous day, and managed to get into Geneva on the Sunday after a weekend spent mainly in airports due to the heavy snow in the UK. Aaron met us at the airport and we loaded our bags and set off for Morzine. The ride was great and at only 1 hour is a very good transfer time for a ski resort.
We were greeted at the chalet by the Simply Morzine team, a young happy bunch who promptly put champagne in our hands and had the nibbles out for all to enjoy.
We had our own chef, Dave, who was hailed by Aaron as 'the best' of all the Simply Morzine chefs - this was music to our ears. That night's dinner was superb and the wine flowed whilst we got to know our fellow holiday makers. Full of food and red wine I slept like a baby that night (and every night!) in the lovely and cozy room, helped along by my jet lag.
The room was very clean, cozy, with a good amount of storage and our own private balcony overlooking the large hot-tub. The en-suite bathroom was so clean you could eat off the floors and the shower was piping hot on demand. The whole chalet was cleaned daily, as were all the rooms.
Now onto the real reason we were there, the skiing...
After a lovely big breakfast to prepare you for the day, the minibus does shuttle runs between the chalet and Felix Ski shop for 2 hours in the morning (and 2 hours in the evening). I wholly recommend the ski shop for a place to hire your stuff. The staff are very friendly and it's an easy 5 minute walk from the shop to the bottom of the Pleney, and you can ski back into the hire shop later in the season.
Our rep Steve, when he wasn't getting involved in the champagne and nibbles with the guests in the evening, also did the ski hosting along with the legend that is Gibbo. As the Les Gets expert, Gibbo took us into Les Gets on our first day and we covered a lot of ground doing some great runs that eased us in nicely. The snow was in good condition despite it being so early in the season. It wore a bit thin come Thursday, but that's when it snowed and it didn't stop until Boxing Day!
The ski hosting is fantastic, on Wednesday were taken over to Avoriaz by Steve who was the Avoriaz expert. We did some challenging reds and skiied very hard until a well deserved lunch. I wholly recommend going out with the guys, they're great lads who are very patient and know the mountains very well. It will definitely enhance your experience.
Tea and a freshly baked cake greeted us every afternoon after a long day on the slopes. Dinner was at a suitable time of around 7.30 and was always delicious, well presented, and accompanied by some quaffable wines. The lounge area was super cosy with the log fire and satellite tv/dvd. The free wi-fi was a great help, and there is a PC for all to use next to the honesty bar.
In a nutshell ->
- Great food
- Fantastic ski-hosting
- A very efficient and friendly young team of hosts and reps
- Good location, only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Morzine (which is lovely by the way!!)
- Short transfer time (1hr in private minibus)
- Comfortable rooms
- Clean/well equipped bathrooms
- Hot tub open daily to ease those tight muscles after a day's skiing
- Free high speed wifi
- Great views
- Just go, you'll love it!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrispady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We spent our Christmas in the Chalet des Montagnes with our children and had a fabulous time. We were greeted at Geneva airport and had a relatively quick and smooth ride to the Chalet Montagnes.
Thankfully, we were informed via the Morzine website ‘Snow Dump Alert’ that they had plenty of snow which does help! As it was very early into the season, there was not quite enough snow to ski in and out of the chalet, but this was a very minor issue as we had the regular minibus service to Felix Ski shop to pick up our boots and skis for the day.
We had a room next to the dining room and a room next to the kitchen, both were very comfortable cosy rooms with plenty of hot water and comfy beds just what you need after a full day skiing.
We found the team of staff to be extremely friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. The chef cooked a hot breakfast every morning, in addition to there being a number of other breakfast cereals, yoghurts, croissants, ham, cheese and bread on offer.
When we arrived back at the chalet each afternoon there was always a mouth watering cake on offer with a much deserved cuppa.
We waited in anticipation each evening for our main evening meal. The chef was amazing, producing a full and varied menu each evening delivered and presented in a professional manner with wine in abundance.
We found Morzine to be an amazing place to ski and a resort that suits all skiers and levels. We were within short walking distance 5 – 10 minutes to the centre of Morzine and on occasions, we chose to walk back from Felix Ski to help stretch our muscles.
On two occasions the 4 of us went skiing with the chalet hosts, once to the Pleney and Les Gets, then to Avoriaz. We had a fantastic time; the hosts were very patient and encouraging with those of us who were initially not so confident in getting down the red runs. However, by the end of both days our skiing had improved considerably. So thank you so much for that. It really helps going out with other skiers who know their way around the mountains saving us having to look at maps.
Thank you once again for a wonderful stay with very friendly staff and for making us feel extremely comfortable. We will certainly be coming back to Simply Morzine again very soon. Gill & Paul – Essex.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X-Woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
3.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
1.9 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
3.5 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes

Address: 50 route des Nants | Les Nants, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range: £65 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Morzine's privately-owned flagship Chalet des Montagnes is one of Morzine’s finest chalets. The chalet is perfectly located in Morzine; on the piste with stunning panoramic views yet an easy 10-minute walk from the resort centre. The chalet operates on a catered basis in both the summer and winter seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Simply Morzine - Chalet Des Montagnes Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing