We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chalet and fabulous location”
Review of Chalet Koala

Chalet Koala
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Koala
Ranked #68 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We are just back from a 4 night stay at Chalet Koala in Montriond. Fabulous location, less than 100m to the bus to the slopes. Julia the manager was very welcoming and along with Jeff and Jackie (chalet assistants) they provided great 3 course meals every night and very welcoming home baking after skiing all day. Breakfast comprised cereals, porridge, fresh crossiants and pain au chocolat plus meats - in fact everything you would want from a continental breakfast. The rooms are not en-suite but there is no shortage of showers or facilities. There are basins in each room. It was very clean and Jeff set a roaring fire every evening.
Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theTclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for 5 days in Feb 2014. No complaints from me. Nice rooms, good food, facilities and friendly helpful staff. Did exactly what we were after and would happily go back again. In Montriond village rather than Morzine itself but the bus is right outside the front door and a short drive to the Ardent Telekabin.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank MichaelKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Been to Chalet Koala several times and the warm welcome, plentiful home cooking and comfortable accommodation remains the same. This is a great location for exploring the Portes du Soleil; the ski bus stop is literally on the doorstep. Bit of a hike to the fleshpots of Morzine but if you prefer a good meal and then a settle down in front of the log fire with a reasonably priced honesty bar on hand, this is just the job.

Room Tip: It is a converted old building, so you have to expect a little noise intrusion into the bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was the first time that I have stayed in chalet Koala and it is lovely! I am a regular skier in the Portes du Soleil area and I believe Morzine makes a great base as it's easy to get to from Geneva and it is the heart of the ski domaine.

A key benefit is that the chalet is located at a bus stop so it's easy to get to the Ardent - Linderet area, but it's also easy to get the bus the other direction and link to the other areas from Morzine such as Avoriaz and so on.

Hospitality and service are both great. I like to ski the whole time that lifts are running (and beyond) so I was happy to see breakfast already being served as I got up, and then having exhausted myself after every last lift had closed I got back to the chalet to find a fresh pot of tea being served with homemade scones! Then there's the comfy leather sofas, roaring fire, and then a hearty 3 course home cooked banquet of a dinner, with wine.

Julia is a great hostess, baker and cook, and is helped (this season) by a couple of fun Aussies, so there was some good craic, although the topic of cricket was clearly off limits. I always enjoy skiing this area, but now I have a new favourite chalet and, as I intend to return, I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Leave any wet ski gear down in the boiler room- keeps the bedroom clear and airy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have just returned from another trip to Chalet Koala with a large group of friends 30 in all. Unfortunately we could not all get into the chalet but Julia the manager arranged rental of a local apartment 30 feet from the chalet, to make sure we could all be together
Great food and great accommodation again
Looking forward to going back at February half term
If you are looking for a warm friendly chalet with great staff and great food and next to the slopes of Porte du soleil then this is one for you

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyMclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was the first time that we had visited Koala with our 9 year old son and 12 year old daughter. Stayed for 10 days during August 2013. Setting beautiful. Plenty of things to do within a reasonable distance although having a hire car makes it very easy. Not sure how easy it would be by bus. Julia is a great host and very helpful. Rooms tidy and comfortable. Facilities in Morzine excellent: Horse riding, parapenting (although expensive), summer luge, canoeing on Montriond, white water rafting 45mins away etc etc. Kids loved it and will probably go again. Thanks to Julia, a great host.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Me and my mom stayed at the Chalet for 2 weeks.

I came to Morzine for mountain biking and my mom mostly to relax and for hiking.
We had the luxury of having the Chalet for ourselves for the entire 2 weeks.
The beds were very cozy, lots of channels on TV, very nice breakfast and a lovely host.
Julia had been extremely helpful, gave us suggestions on how to keep ourselves busy.
The chalet is located in a very quiet area and also pretty close to the Montriond Lake, so no noise issues and at night you can hear the water flowing.

The chalet has a shed to keep the mountain bike safely, a water pipe that can be used to clean the bike and a repair station for the bike. Julia also had a bunch of bikes that can be used for commuting in the city.

The chalet is in Montriond which is about 20-25 minutes walk away from Morzine city center with all the shops, cafes etc. There is a bus station about 3-5 minutes walk away, there are about 2 buses an hour, but they stop working after 18:00, so you will most likely have to walk by foot a couple of times or ride your bike. If you are on a bike it will be a nice warmup, 5 minute ride to the SuperMorzine lift or the busses to Les Gets.

It's a pity we couldn't use the kitchen (due to insurance issues) so we had to either eat outside or sandwiches (there is a small fridge where you can keep cold meats, cheese and other stuff).

If we happen to be in the area we will definitely consider staying there again!
Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kostya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
3.9 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#33 of 50 in Morzine
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Koala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Koala

Address: La Ranche | Montriond, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing