We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and French owners were lovely”
Review of Hotel La Bergerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Bergerie
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
53
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed here having walked out of the worst hotel in Morzine the Rhodos. Caroline the owner was lovely with us and tolerated our attempts at French even though her English is zmazing. Cost small lounge with open fire. Superb breakfast. I had a dated 80's style room but my friends were lucky and had a modern refitted room. Comfortable bed. Underground free parking, superb location. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

stayed in la bergerie, morzine, with my partner in march 2010. The hotel is a fine looking building, especially at night when lit up. Inside its a warm and cosy combination of savoyard charm and modern touches such as solid glass doors and marble flooring. Board is room only with breakfast available for a sur charge, with the usual array of breads and cerials offered in the morning. The rooms have a kitchette in the corner so evening meals are either home cooked or the pricey eating out option. The room itself was quite spacious with the most comfortable bed i've slept in, in a hotel. The location was also very good just a one minute walk from the main chair lift. The added benifit of la bergerie was a fantastic outdoor heated swimming pool which was heaven after a long day on the piste. The staff were all friendly and helpful and spoke good english. The only possible downside was the price. 1400 euros for the week with an extra 160 euros for breakfast seemed a bit exessive. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthus2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Hotel recommended by trusted friends with whom we travelled as part of a large group aged 8 - 65. Always self-catered before in Morzine which is a great place and where the stereotypical haughty French attitude does not exist........except for Grandmere in this hotel who spent much of her time eyeing us with a mixture of disdain and distaste and who subjected me at breakfast one morning, via the interpretation of the horrified and embarrassed receptionist, to a loud and angry cross-examination of some of our party's movements the previous night because an interloper had gained access to the hotel through one of the bedrooms containing the two teenagers of another family. Said family was sitting at the next table throughout! Apart from the fact we had nothing to do with it - indeed could have had nothing to do with it because of the time of the incident, didn't know how to get to the part of the hotel where it happpened and NONE OF US would never have behaved in such a way even in moments of extreme drunkeness - the way in which it was addressed, in public and when I was on my own, was a disgrace. It took me some time to even realise there was a problem and to ask why I was being asked so many questions. On raising it with Caroline, the owner, it turned out Grandmere was in charge overnight and had freaked because she didn't want a security scandal and had hoped it was one of us returning late! Needless to say, Grandmere's attitude towards us stiffened to the point of unconcealed hatred and icy watchfulness and altogether ruined an otherwise super holiday in a lovely hotel. I disagree with the comments about it being dirty. For a 3* I would describe it as at the top end and although it is a little chintzy in decor so what? It's an Alpine traditional building and Morzine is a farming village into which the skiing industry has been fairly seamlessly incorporated. Everything written by the reviewer praising it I agree with. Would I return? No; Grandmere's attitude and behaviour were unforgiveable even if her fears and hopes were understandable. Which is a great shame as we have been regular visors to Morzine in the summer, this was our first ski trip to France - we had always favoured Austria - and decided it will be our destination for at least one of our two ski hols each year. So we lose out on staying in a welcoming and well appointed hotel and the hotel loses out on regular repeat business. C'est la vie.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank skiingforlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2007

I was a bit nervous about staying at this hotel after reading this review after I'd made the booking. However as soon as I walked into the hotel and our room - all of my fears melted away. It was just what we were after. The staff were also really lovely and spoke good English & did anything they could to help us. For instance I mentioned we coudln't get our radiator on - and they immediately brought a heater up after explaining how the radiator worked. We weren't actually cold at all - the hotel is always warm.

Our room was very spacious and clean and had great views. We had a family room and I highly recommend this option. It comes with a kitchenette and a bunk bed with a curtain that separates the 2 rooms. The decor is very cute with matching curtains, bedspread and pictures and all with the lovely wooden theme - exactly as you see on their website.

Morzine itself it great - lots to do and see and so many wonderful restaurants and coffee shops and a large well priced supermarked - Champion.. Unfortunately when we were there for the week of 7th January there was very little snow at Morzine but lots of snow up at Avoriaz - which is just a bus ride away further up the mountain. Morzine has free busese running up to the cable car at Le Pleney which goes up to Avoriaz every 10 minutes. La Bergerie is very well placed for catching the buses to Avoriaz as it is just across the road from the tourist information centre and the main bus stop. If however like us yoiu arrive on a bus from Geneva that only stops at La gare routiere - probably best to catch a taxi to La Bergerie if you have lots of bags like we did - otherwise it is about a 10 minute walk.

Caroline - the owner of La Bergerie is very welcoming & helpful and full of information. On the first night of our arrival they organise a free welcome drink in the sumptuos & cosy bar with nibbles with other new guests which was a really nice touch. Caroline gave us useful information about where to ski and hire our skigear from a shop that provides hotel guests with 20% discount. She also went out of her way to help us get to the gare routiere on out last day when it was hard to get a taxi - she got her husband to come and pick us up very early and drop us in his car to the station and wouldn't take any payment for this. In addition they have paid internet access which was very helpful & as we were getting regular calls from Australia so Caroline kindly organised a special direct line to our room.

The other great thing about La Bergerie - is that they have an outdoor heated pool - 26 degrees which was very refreshing and novel after a day on the slopes and something my 8 year old daughter just loved! For those who like pampering they also have a spa down at the basement level - which looked great I just ran out of time before I could try it out.

So I highly recommend La Bergerie - it is a 3 star hotel as are most other hotels in Morzine, but provides really good value for money with their week deal in a family room ( the single room was nowhere near as nice or spacious - well worth the expense of the family room ) - has great facilities, is well located but quiet, staff and owners are lovely and welcoming and our room was very clean with lovely fluffy bath towels and a beautiful view with a good sized balcony. So whatever you do - do stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Travelbug49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brussels, Belgium
116
Reviewed 13 March 2006

Our family stayed at La Bergerie in Morzine in March 2006 and we will never go back to this hotel. The hotel rooms are dirty and the cleaning is leaving a lot to be desired (go here if you would like to clean the room yourself). The hotel claims that it is a paradise for children but unfortunately this is far from true. The hotel management is not pleased to see children at their establishment and the so-called "play room" is quite dingy and the few toys left are old and broken.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank william750123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morzine_La_Bergerie, Propriétaire at Hotel La Bergerie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.1 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
195 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#5 of 50 in Morzine
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#7 of 50 in Morzine
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#11 of 50 in Morzine
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bergerie

Address: 103 route du Telepherique, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Morzine
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
#2 Spa Hotel in Morzine
#2 Family Hotel in Morzine
Price Range: £199 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Bergerie 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Morzine village centre, the Marullaz-Monne family has been welcoming guests to Hotel**** La Bergerie since 1976. The hotel**** and its lovely garden with heated swimingpool, summer and winter, are a stone’s throw from the ski lifts and the tourist office. An oasis in the middle of the village! Their dedicated and personal approach ensures that as guest, you’ll feel completely at home here. Hotel**** La Bergerie, where the ambience is relaxed and nothing is too much trouble for them... What we like!: « Table d’hotes des enfants » (children dinner), the international skiing area “Les Portes du Soleil” (France and Switzerland), Morzine Harley Days, “Rock the pistes” Festival. Hotel**** La Bergerie a "AUTHENTIC HOTELS & CRUISES" member. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Bergerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bergerie Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing