We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet not so close to slopes”
Review of The Ridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ridge Hotel
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Chalet not so close to slopes”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Clean hotel. Friendly young staff. Good meals.
Very impressed by the IGOSKI staff getting the ski lift passes whilst on route from the airport.
This enabled us to be on the slopes at 12.30. 4 hours on the first day.
Afternoon tea was a welcome pick me up.
On the less positive side. Soundproofing poor so late night returners will wake you up.
They advertise the slopes as 350 metres away. It is nowhere near that. It is half a mile away.750 metres minimum.
But for a last minute deal it was value for money.
Consider renting equipment closer to the slopes to allow you the chance to store it there and not having to bring it back

Room Tip: Ask ahead if you can have a room away from the party crowd if you want to sleep. But you are at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdsjjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    36
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

For the type of holiday that I wanted to book had to be cheap, good food, nice hotel, clean and close to the slopes.
I will start of saying that the room we stayed in the Zore, 7 man room, and it was the perfect size for our part of 5 students ages 19-21, but putting 2 more people into the room would get very cramped!
The room upon entry was big but due to it being top floor the roof was sloped causing a few bumped head's in the morning. The room was clean and the beds were really quite comfortable but only come in single causing a gap if you want to turn it into a makeshift double.
They could also do with some side tables as everything had to go onto the floor.
The shower was more than I bargained for, being really powerful and could get really hot if you can handle it, my only remark on the shower was it needed updating, there were black marks in the shower tray and in-between the tiles making it look dirty.
The room was really quiet and we couldn't hear anything from the other rooms around us but i could imagine that if you were below the Bar or the Restaurant room it could be quite loud.

The next topic was the food. Reading comments on TA i expected the worse, but after the first meal I had nothing but good remarks for the food, having a 3 course meal everyday (except wednesday) was so convenient (especially when its in the same building as the room).
The meals were very british which was good as being in France i thought it would be cheese and bread kind of meals. The meals vary from day to day and there wasn't much repetitiveness. If i had to improve the food I would say that it needed to be hotter. Due to the kitchen being in the other building the staff had to run it across and due to the cold i think that it did effect the temperature a bit but this isn't any fault to the staff there.
Honestly, the people commenting about the poor food are either way to ambitious considering the price you pay or they thought they could get away with a cheap holiday but ask for first class.

Onto the staff. Brilliant. They had great manners and were always making sure that we had everything we wanted (unless it was packed at dinner with tables of 10+ then it did get a little harder). The cleaners were really nice and when we asked for more towels or bathroom bits we got them as soon as they cleaned the room.
There was one staff manager that expected his staff to put in 100% while he just about put in 50%, I believe the manager of the Ski shop, other people also mentioned on how grumpy he was.

The shuttle is where it really starts scrapping the bottom. The main Driver, James was a great guy, helped with the skis and boards and dropped us off at the slopes as near as he could.
When we were stuck behind two groups of 10 people+ he worked past the 5.30 cut off to pick us up which was great of him. But when there was a different driver (the ski shop manager) well this is where the 50% really shows. We arrived at the pick up point at 5.05/5.10 with 20 minutes till the shuttle stops, we waited 30/40 minutes until we decided to walk back to the hotel (20minute walk in ski boots) and saw the manager in the shop not doing a lot although he was meant to be running the shuttle. Not impressed.

To summarise, everything broke our expectations by a long shot only to be brought down by one lazy and grumpy manager!
I would highly recommend this hotel as its really good and for what you pay makes it even a better deal! One small note the slopes aren't 400m away, more like 600m over the bridge then that only get you to Super-Morzine.

Things to know.
1. Use the free train ride to get too Plenny slopes (saves a walk)
2. Make sure you get the shuttle early as its a LONG walk at the end of the day!
3. Take the local bus *M* for a quicker route to Avoriaz.
4. Prepare for the first day arrivals and the rush at the ski shop for boots and skis.
5. Remember to book your table time for dinner.
6. Ask about the cheaper local shops as the ones we were shown were quite expensive.

Room Tip: Get rooms that aren't above the Bar or the Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I have just returned from a four night stay at The Ridge Hotel in Morzine. Having read many of the reviews on Trip Advisor I was a little apprehensive but there was no need to be.
To start with the majority of most peoples complaints, the location. This is definitely not "Ski in, Ski out", however, there is a mini bus service that runs guests to the slopes in the morning and picks up in the evening, the drop off and pick up point is at the bottom of the Pleney lift (one of the main lifts to start skiing from) - if you are a keen skier I really cant see any issue at all in having to travel 5 mins first thing in the morning, and last thing in the evening to your hotel. The only time location may be an issue is if you wanted to go back to the hotel during the times when the mini bus isnt running. There dont seem to be many taxis, and the buses are a little confusing. It is definitely walkable, I would say it takes about 20 mins in ski boots, so not ideal, but not too bad!
The Hotel itself was absolutely fine, it is pretty basic, but our room was really clean, and we had a balcony. I do agree with some of the other reviews that recommend bedside tables/lamps and tea and coffee making facilities, I dont think this is asking too much, and would make quite a difference. I stayed with a very large group and some rooms had v small bathrooms, ours was a great size, but I appreciate this could be slightly annoying. With regards to hotel facilities, there is a bar in the main building which was great, it is open until 1am so if you are in one of the rooms s above the bar I would expect it to be very noisy, but it is a Bar, and people are on holiday so I don't think that the Hotel should have to do anything about that. Another plus was the food-breakfast is help yourself and there is also a cooked breakfast option too-everything I had was very nice, and warm! In the afternoons they serve cake and tea and coffee in the main bar -again, these were always very nice. I was also impressed with the standard of the evening meal, a few reviews said that portions were small, and food cold - this certainly wasn't an issue for us, there were a couple of meals that felt like a bit of an after thought, but then we weren't eating at a Michelin starred restaurant so it certainly isnt appropriate to grumble!
I want to add how great the staff were-they are really young but were always really polite, friendly and helpful. The ski hire shop next door was great too-i think perhaps the ski boots could be updated, but generally no issues with the quality of the ski hire, again, the staff were polite and helpful.
To summarise, I would definitely recommend this hotel-it isnt 5 star by any stretch, but if you like to ski all day and dont mind a stroll into town in the evenings then you could do a lot worse than The Ridge.

Room Tip: There are two buildings the form The Ridge, I would expect noise from the Bar could be heard in both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AIOflette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This hotel is what it is, it's cheap and functional but certainly not luxurious. It's more stag do / boys weekend away than a family destination, however you could do a lot worse if you're on a budget.

Having said that, it was clean and modern (looks like it had been renovated in the last 5 or so years), but the rooms are small and sound does travel. I was on the top floor and used earplugs and didn’t hear a thing (in fact I had excellent nights sleep whilst I was there) but someone else in our group was by the stairs and they heard a lot of noise from the bar. The bathrooms are also small but again perfectly adequate for a week / long weekend away. Although don't drop the soap in the shower, you'll never be able to bend down to pick it up!

It is definitely slightly out of town and about 10-15 min walk to the SuperMorzine (nearest lift). They do have a shuttle bus in the morning and afternoon to drop you / pick you up from here or at the Pleney lift in town. If you're after the nearest lift location then this hotel is not for you.
The hotel has the advantage of a bar so you don't have to go into town at night if you don't want to, which was a good benefit. The evening meals were very good and better than you'd expect for this level of accommodation. The breakfast was ok, the hot option could have been a bit bigger portion wise and the sausages were well overcooked, but overall it was ok as start to the skiing day.

The staff although young, looked after us well and gave great service, they are an asset to the hotel.

Would I stay again? With an all male group maybe but certainly not with the family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear JasonandSally,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your holiday. We are glad that you made use of the shuttle bus and the hotel bar during your holiday. It is lovely to hear that our staff provided a great service during your holiday and we have taken all of your feedback on board. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I booked a recent trip for myself and 3 friends. I booked accomodation only, not a package deal.

Found the staff to be very pleasant and the majority of them very helpful. There was one who I would say would be more suited to a non-customer facing role as he didn't really seem that helpful, quite possibly just his personality though rather than him intentionally being unhelpful.

The hotel itself is clean and has a new feel about it.

The room we stayed in was a room for 4 called Combette, this was above the bar facing the road and was a little noisy, but being 4 lads this didn't really bother us too much. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. The bathroom was small but perfectly functional with a good shower, we didn't experience any lack of hot water issues. It had double doors that opened on to a shared balcony, we found we had to sleep with one of the balcony doors slightly ajar as otherwise the condensation from the 4 of us would be enough to create a puddle by the door in the morning. It was nice to have the fresh air in the room overnight though (as you can imagine it was needed from 4 lads sharing!). The inferno of a radiator in the bathroom seemed to keep the room warm enough, the overnight temp whilst we were there was in the region of -2 to -4 degrees celcius (approximately).

Breakfast was fairly basic. They had the normal tea, coffee (fresh and instant), water, orange and apple juice for refreshments, 3 cereals and toast etc on the self serve table. The cooked breakfast wasn't huge 1 sausage, 1 hashbrown, 1 egg, 1 half of a tomato and baked beans, but it was cooked well so we just topped up from the self serve if we were still hungry.

We were never around for afternoon tea, so am unable to comment.

Evening meal. On the two evenings we ate they I have to say we all really enjoyed the food. We found it to be of excellent standard and very tasty. We weren't left wanting afterwards. The wine list is fiarly limited, but not too expensive.

Now what really did annoy us is the location description. The hotel is just outside the border of Morzine and actually in Montriond. The Alpine Elements website says the Hotel is 350m from the bottom of the Super Morzine lift, which is complete BS. Now knowing where the hotel is exactly on google maps I can confirm it is 750m from the bottom of the Super Morzine lift. Not a 4-5 minute walk as suggested either but easily 10 minutes if you have normal footwear on. One of our party ski's, so that walk in ski boots is a bit of a killer. Centre of town is just beyond the Super Morzine lift so approx 850m from the hotel.

The one, kind of, saving grace is the Hotel does run a shuttle and if your going to use the Pleny lift you will definitely need to use this if wearing ski boots. In boarding boots your looking at about 25-30mins walk. It runs every 15mins for for a period in the morning (think it was 8.30 till 10am) and then in the evening (I think 16.00 to 17.30). Although one evening we were at the stop to come back to the hotel at 17.10 and by 17.45 the shuttle had not returned to so we started walking.

Link to googlemaps that shows Hotel to bottom of Super Morzine Lift.
https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?saddr=D228&daddr=Taille+Mas+de+la+Passerelle&hl=en&ll=46.185714,6.704364&spn=0.011171,0.02135&sll=46.183894,6.704793&sspn=0.003506,0.008256&geocode=FYrIwAIdMEJmAA%3BFau0wAId-0hmAA&dirflg=w&mra=dme&mrsp=1&sz=18&t=m&z=16

The location wasn't a deal breaker for us, I just hate being misled and lied too if I'm honest!

Room Tip: Here is a room plan of the hotel http://www.alpineelements.co.uk/ski-holidays/resort/morzine/chalet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The worst thing about the room was the 8 spotlights in the ceiling and no other lighting - so no quiet reading of your book with a bedside lamp. And for a room with 4 beds that spells discontent in the ranks. By the way, one of the reviewers said the curtains were thin but if you opened the door on to the balcony you would discover shutters which very effectively kept the room dark during sleeping hours. Nice view across the valley. Walls rather thin so you could hear everything going on in adjoining rooms. Wine list rather lacking. Staff very friendly and helpful but the help somewhat haphazard. Having been told by Igoski that the chef's night off was Tuesday, it turned out it was actually on Wednesdays so didn't affect us as we only went for 3½ days.
Best access to skiing area from this hotel is to catch the M navette outside the hotel to Ardent and then ski the Lindarets/Avoriaz/Swiss areas. But Les Gets is nice skiing too - if you can rely on the lifts to and from Plenney the hotel staff is supposed to provide!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMcNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Knowing the area helped inform our awareness that we were not centrally located with regard to reaching lifts, but the fact that we could access the Port du Soleil area was important to us. The regular mini bus service made the journey to both the Super Morzine lift and Plenney manageable but for those wishing to finish early, it is a good trek back to the hotel.

The accommodation is simple and clean with bedrooms being split between two buildings. We were lucky enough to be in the dining building as the wooden flooring didn't absorb sound particularly well and we assumed therefore that sleeping in a room above the bar could potentially be rather loud. However, we slept well in very comfortable beds although we would have welcomed the provision of some hooks for hanging our kit up!

The food was simple and well presented although being served on cold plates meant that our food was regularly served at considerably less than 'piping hot' temperatures.

The challenge presented by low temperatures extended to the hot water 'burco' which failed to achieve boiling point throughout our week so a decent cuppa was sadly lacking!

The staff who, although young, were pleasant and generally helpful, did respond after two days of continuous fire alarms at breakfast time. The source had been identified as the DIY toaster positioned under the smoke alarm, however, as staff continued to serve breakfast without offering any guidance on evacuating the building we all assumed that there was no cause for concern on these occassions.

With realistic expectations concerning the location of the hotel we did experience an enjoyable holiday in the simple surroundings presented by The Ridge .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hermine Blanche
Hotel Hermine Blanche
#30 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#26 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Airelles
Hotel Les Airelles
#33 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#8 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Hotel

Property: The Ridge Hotel
Address: Route de Montriond, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel enjoys superb mountain views and a fantastic location on the 'Sunny Side' of resort at the Morzine / Montriond border. It is close to the Super Morzine Gondola, and a 5-7 min walk to the suspension bridge which accesses the bars, shops and Gondola.We run private minibuses to shuttle you to and from the slopes during the day if you prefer not to walk. They are especially good for those that want to ski the Pleney slopes at the other end of town, but not so necessary for those that want to ski Super Morzine and the main Portes du Soleil area.The Ridge enjoys fantastic panoramic views looking out over the whole of Morzine and up into the mountains. The hotel has 30 ensuite bedrooms and a lovely modern, contemporary design with a rather chic looking bar and restaurant. There is a large sun terrace offering the same wonderful views of Morzine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing