We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short stay ski break”
Review of The Ridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ridge Hotel
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We came to celebrate my daughters 30th. It is a great venue for short stay break. The hotel and annex are a mixture of modern decor in the bar ! But everywhere else is quite basic but clean and tidy
Breakfast is ok , evening meal was 3 courses and all our meals were good
We always looked forward to French bread and jams with a homemade tray cake with tea and coffee from 4.30 til 5.30
The ridge was run by a team of seasonettes who were always helpful and willing to make your stay enjoyable
It was a little 10 walk from the main lift in morzine however the hotel provided a taxi in the morning and at the end of the day
It attracts a great mix of customers from couples, families and friends ! Great !
Wouldn't recommend for families with non skiers , not enough luxury

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jje1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Transfer a bit disorganised and slow getting kitted up on arrival, despite various confirmation emails exchanged in advance if the hol. Never got 10e reimbursement promised for delay with transfer as had to buy wait/buy coffees at the airport. Also could do with a shuttle transfer into town on arrival, luckily I had been to Morzine before so knew way round and could get to slopes quite easily on foot. After that shuttles worked fine booking in advance. Didn't get welcome pack/bus timetable to les gets not in hotel which would have been useful. Had a great room with balcony, other hAlf of our group not so lucky at had very small room and shower room. Food great, overall great holiday and area, if did decide to go here again, would be better as would know what rooms to ask for and be able to get organised more quickly, which is critical when u want to get your full 3 and a half days on the slopes

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Travelled with my daughter for a 4 day 3 night break with Igoski and to be honest we couldn't fault anything about our trip other than the hotel location and we knew all about that before we went. We were met on time by the rep at Geneva airport and although the transfer was slightly longer than they said we had got to the hotel, changed, got our hire skis and lift passes and was on the slopes at 1.30pm. The hotel was clean and the staff were great. Yes, they were very young and everything was either 'cool' or 'amazing' but frankly they were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean albeit small and the en-suite was particularly tiny but manageable (just). Dinner was good and the breakfast was comprehensive - there was even a cooked option if you wanted it. The bar area was fine, a good selection of beers and wine and they even did 'mocktails' for the kids. They also have Sky Sports on the big screen. We were fortunate because the skiing was good, the ski equipment supplied by the hire shop next door was of a good standard and had been well looked after. The only downside was the location of the hotel. It's on the outskirts of Morzine and you need to take the courtesy bus which runs up until 9.30am to the Morzine and Plenny gondalas however we took the local bus which left every half hour from outside the hotel to Ardent and took that gondala up to Les Linderets which gave you access to Plaine Dranse, Avoriaz and Switzerland. Overall is was a good trip and good value for money. Would we go with Igoski again? yes. Would way stay at The Ridge again? Probably not but only because it's not ski in ski out. Thanks to Igoski and in particular Matt, Jack and the manageress whose name I've forgotten - regards, Steve & Sophie.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveBugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Situation : 6-7 minute walk to the Olympic sized outdoor pool and a further 5 mins to the town centre, with its abundance of restaurants, bars and shops.

Staff : a credit to this small hotel. The young, enthusiastic team went out of their way to make our stay a fun one. Special thanks to the barman who helped me rummage through the bins in search of my parking ticket for John Lennon airport!

Rooms: small and basic but clean and functional. Ours had a balcony with lovely views from the hotel front and a window to the side, overlooking the bar patio. The noise from both wouldn't be an issue for winter visitors, however on a balmy July evening, you may want to complement the open windows with a good set of earplugs.

Food : our package included and buffet breakfast in the morning with a choice of daily special hot dish (e.g. pancakes, sausage and egg, omelette ) and a 3 course evening meal. Food was delicious with special dietary requirements catered for.

Amenities: the bar/lobby area is fairly small but recently decorated in a clean, modern style. A separate TV/ games room provides a great place for the kids to hang out, leaving the adults free to enjoy the bar area for quiz (including a music round by the very talented, guitar playing chef) night, wine-tasting and general après-ski/MB/shopping/walking relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milliemooandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Well placed for the Super Morzine lift, if a little far out for the rest of Morzine. Great place though, modern if basic (you're going skiing or activities, you don't need more). Food filling and enjoyable. Bar a little pricy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob210980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking with Alpine Elements at the Ridge. Modern, clean, efficiently run, great home cooked food, pleasant staff.
Plenty to do in the resort either off your own back or joining in with organised trips ( if you have the dosh for that !) Great mix of guests

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blauwelucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Ridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Blauwelucht,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your last minute holiday with Alpine Elements and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just returned from a week at the Ridge Hotel. We had two twin rooms, as we were travelling with our 16yr and 11yr old children, and both rooms were very clean and comfortable with the bonus of been connected by the balcony which also had fantastic views. The food was lovely and we especially enjoyed the cakes provided for afternoon tea. We booked through Alpine Elements which included the bike hire and the white water rafting, this was very well organised and again staff very helpful with lots of advice on walks and bike trails. The hotel is located on the very edge of Morzine but not really an issue as it was a nice walk and took only 10/15 minutes to reach the centre.

We had a lovely holiday and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshinefamily100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Ridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Sunshinefamily100,

Thank you for sharing your review and photos of your family holiday. We are glad you had a great time and it is lovely to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
737 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Hotel

Address: Route de Montriond, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel enjoys superb mountain views and a fantastic location on the 'Sunny Side' of resort at the Morzine / Montriond border. It is close to the Super Morzine Gondola, and a 5-7 min walk to the suspension bridge which accesses the bars, shops and Gondola.We run private minibuses to shuttle you to and from the slopes during the day if you prefer not to walk. They are especially good for those that want to ski the Pleney slopes at the other end of town, but not so necessary for those that want to ski Super Morzine and the main Portes du Soleil area.The Ridge enjoys fantastic panoramic views looking out over the whole of Morzine and up into the mountains. The hotel has 30 ensuite bedrooms and a lovely modern, contemporary design with a rather chic looking bar and restaurant. There is a large sun terrace offering the same wonderful views of Morzine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing