We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alpina
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Horley,Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

As a family we stayed at this hotel as part of a summer activity holiday provided by Activities Abroad. It is a lovely chalet style property on the sunny side of the Morzine valley, located 50m from the bridge across the valley to the main town, and a similar distance from the steps down to the swimming pool complex in the valley. This also means it is out of the town centre and nice an peaceful.
The hotel itself is maintained immaculately by the family that own it who always seem to be on hand whenever you return to the hotel. We had a very good sized double room with balcony and our teenage children had quite a small twin room which was not quite as well appointed, having an over bath shower with no curtain, as opposed to the lovely ensuite shower room we had. They could have done with a bit more space between the beds, although they did not need anymore floor space as, like a gas, they would have filled any space they did have with their clothes all over the floor no matter how big it was!
The beds were very comfortable and, as the rest of the hotel, the room was cleaned to a very high standard everyday.
The breakfast was fine with the usual choice of croissants, eggs, hot and cold drinks etc etc. They also served a fixed price 3 course evening meal although we never partook, choosing to eat out each evening.
The hotel has a swimming pool in its garden which was clean although a little chilly.
Marie, one of the owning family, was always friendly and smiling, willingly taking wet clothes or swim wear to the dedicated drying room and returning them the next day at breakfast. The free wifi works although the signal is quite weak and access is really restricted to the small bar/lounge.
In the summer the hotel is part of the Multipass scheme which affords access to all the open lifts for pedestrians in the Portes de Soleil area, the town swimming pool, discount on the Fantsicable and several other attractions, for one Euro a day. Excellent value.

Overall a very nice hotel that is peaceful yet close to the centre of town and is somewhere we would happily recommend and stay in again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FalloverDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    28
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Not a bad location to stay with easy access to the bridge that takes you to the ski lift,leass than 5 minutes walk.The town is within 5 minutes or so with no hils or difficult walking.
As for the hotel,very basic rooms and facilties,whilst we were there they refused to put the radiators on in the rooms which meant it was cold and the towels supplied were pretty poor too.In the bathroom I can report no hot water in the mornings and very limited water for showers in the evening,this is not good after a hard day on the slopes.
Beds and linen are terrible
Staff are ok but the owner of the hotel an older French lady is in the wrong job.
She is rather rude and gets a riight old strop on when shes not happy
We would have booked for next year had the staff been more helpfull and not so rude.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dasilvafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALPINARESA, Propriétaire at Hotel Alpina, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear Sir
We thanks you for your message and are happy to answer to you.
You came in february when the weather was very warm for the season, that's why the heat was woking later in the day.
You told us that linen, towels and beds are "terrible", we are surprised because the beds are new as we bought them for the winter season. We are very vigilant on the quality of our linen and towels.
You have to remember that when you left our hotel, the cleaning lady infom us that the big towels were not in the room anymore. We told you about that when you left, and after skiing, surprise, the towels were in your cases...Thus, there are no so "terrible" I guess
You let us know also that the house wife "the old lady" was at the wrong job, we are very uspet because almost all of our customers find her very helpful and very kind.
we remain at your disposal
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

We just returned from 4 days skiing in Morzine. The hotel was clean, friendly and located close to the main lift to Avoriaz. Breakfast was tasty and filling. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripdigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

Just returned from out first trip to Morzine and stayed at the Logis Alpina. The best things about this hotel are that dates are fully flexible unlike some ski-resort accommodation and it is a five minute stroll from the main lift to take you to Avoriaz. If you hire your skis from the Intersport shop next to the SuperMorzine lift you receive 25% discount as clients of the hotel and you also can leave your skis overnight, walking back to the hotel in your comfortable shoes - a big plus at the end of a long day.

We did B&B which we preferred to give us the chance to eat out in the town (also very closeby.) Breakfasts were fine and the kitchen staff were flexible about warming up my porridge for me in their micro-wave.

The staff were happy to put the sauna on when we asked them and it heated up quickly. It's not massive and the jacuzzi area is more functional than luxurious.

Our room was perfectly acceptable - simple but with a great view of the town and the panorama. When we arrived we found that we'd been booked into a twin room but the staff immediately offered to put us in a double room which we preferred. We were undisturbed by other guests or traffic even though the hotel is quite close to a fairly busy road.

It's not cheap, but with the euro as it is and the high cost of skiing resorts anyway I guess you have to expect this.

Would go again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VCR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stayed as` a large group (36) and found the hotel excellent value for money. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The location is only just the other side of the bridge so a short walk into the heart of the town.

Family run hotel with good facilities and very good service.

The hotel is very well heated with underfloor heating. -13C outside but you wouldn't know inside.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank localsights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

I stayed in Hotel Alpina with 5 friends as they could accommodate a 4 day booking from Wednesday to Sunday. Choosing half board was a good decision as both the breakfast and the dinner were very good with more than enough for hungry skiers/boarders. Hotel was clean and facilities like the jacuzzi and sauna are pretty good for a 2* place.

Location is excellent, it may seem like you are far from the town but with the bridge it is very close and I've stayed in Morzine before on the same side of the valley and been much further away. No more than a few minutes walk to Super Morzine.

Overall the hotel was very good value money and I would certainly consider staying there again if I go back to Morzine.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skibauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed over New Year, picking this hotel because it was possible to book a Monday to Monday break and thus avoid the expensive weekend flights and busy transfers.

The hotel couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had some bad wet weather for a couple of days and the host family took all our wet things (and between four or us there was a lot) and dried it all out in a drying room, returning by breakfast the next day.

The location is great for the Super Morzine Lift (yes you do have to walk across the suspension bridge but its not that bad!), and also great for the bus to Ardent with the stops both ways just a very short walk along the road.

We went half board. Breakfast was self service with the usual continental options with bread, jams, croissant, cheese, hams, boiled eggs, cereals, fruit and cake. The evening meal was excellent, and certainly cheaper and easier than going out each night.

If we went back to Morzine we would certainly consider staying at the Alpina again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llooDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Tetras
Hotel Le Grand Tetras
#14 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#36 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#13 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#23 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Property: Hotel Alpina
Address: Les Bois Venants | 600 Route des Bois venants, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Alpina Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing