We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Great staff and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Grand Tetras
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Great staff and food”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have just returned from the Hotel le Grand Tetras. I stayed for 3 nights half board. This was a short ski trip and i have to say it was the best place we could have stayed. From the moment we arrived the staff were so helpful. We were shown to our room which was in the building opposite the main reception and bar and was on the 1st floor. The rooms are quite small but perfect . We had a double en suite. There is plenty of warderobe space and a nice size balcony with great views. The room and bathroom were extremely warm and spotless!!. Its a short walk down the hill to the resort or I believe there is a bus that takes you direct. We used ABC Sport (Skiset) to rent boots and skis and this was great as you could leave your equipment overnight at the shop so there was no trekking involed with gear. My last point on my short stay at this hotel was the food. It was superb . It was a set meal each night with a wide variety of dishes across the 3 days ! Deserts were beautiful ! And great wine.. I will definitely return to this hotel again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grainne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    34
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have just returned from (I think) our 8th visit to Le Grand Tetras and once again the hospitality from Cyril, Mariona and the team (including Jan, their excellent chef) was superb.
The hotel is just a two minute or so walk to the bus stop or 5 minutes to the Super Morzine gondola so you're not right in the centre of town but close enough for easy access to bars, amenities and the vast Porte du Soleil ski range.
The rooms are comfortable and very clean and I think almost all have now been recently renovated. Most also have terrific views of the mountains.
As has been mentioned in other reviews, it is well worth paying for half board as the food is superb; traditional Savoyard cuisine and of sufficient quantity to re-fuel after a day on the slopes. Cyril has a good selection of wines available too.
What really sets this place apart though is the warm welcome and hospitality you receive. For us, right from our first trip, it has felt more like staying with friends, which probably sums the place up. Cyril has been in the business for a long time and it shows. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Just returned from a hugely enjoyable 4 nights staying in the Hotel Le Grand Tetras for a ski holiday.

The owners of the hotel were incredibly friendly and welcoming on arrival and were always happy to help throughout our stay. We stayed in room 3, which although is reasonably small was very clean and modern. We were on a half board basis and the evening meal was superb. Although it was a set meal each night (and I'm a reasonably fussy eater) the food was amazing and beautifully presented. The breakfast was fairly minimal - although it was more than enough to fill you up for a day's skiing and probably fairly typical of a "continental" breakfast.

The hotel itself is situated just above the main centre of Morzine - probably a 5 minute walk. Similarly, it's no more than 10 minutes to the Super Morzine telecabin giving you access to the Avoriaz side of the mountain.

All in a all, we had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel and Morzine in general.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Hotel offers great family service that makes you feel welcome the moment you arrive. Comfortable and clean and I would highly recommend it for for a ski trip to Morzine. Located a couple of minutes walk away from some good bars and about ten minutes walk from the lifts. The food offering is good and at the price they are charging represents excellent value for money.

Room Tip: They offer a range of triples and twins
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darren j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This is a very lovely, basic hotel very close to the centre of Morzine - a five mintue walk (down a very sleep slope slightly tricky to negotiate in ski boots) and you are at the ski bus stop by the church.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Ski store room (no boot warmers though!). Great breakfasts included in the price.
We stayed for three nights, and managed to get two full days and two half days skiing - perfect.
The rooms are immaculate, and we had a small balcony with lovely mountain views. It is quite cosy, but to be expected at such a great price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCrabtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed at Le Grand Tetras for 3 days 16th to 19 Feb. Rooms good (and hot), food Excellent. 10 Minute walk to Ski lift and 5 minute walk to bars. Cyril and his family looked after us and we would Highly Recommended this hotel for Value, Food and Location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark_Tipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

A great place to stay. The rooms are clean and a decent size. Some have a balcony and most have views. The food is great too, go half board, its really worth it. It adds up to great value for money. The location is also great. Close to the centre of town but quiet.
But what is really exceptional is the thoughtfulness of Cyril and his wife who run the place. They are the third generation of his family to run the place and nothing is too much trouble. Their thoughtfulness really cuts across boundaries, I mentioned that I supported a football team and Cyril dug out that day's result out for me from the internet, one of our group was pregnant and he came over and offered to cook the steak a bit more for her, our flight left late and they let us stay in our room for a few hours longer without any charge... Genuinely nice people that don't believe in getting stars but believe instead in giving great food and accommodation at affordable prices. Loved it. Will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guavagecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#13 of 50 in Morzine
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#7 of 50 in Morzine
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#22 of 50 in Morzine
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Tetras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Tetras

Property: Hotel Le Grand Tetras
Address: La Salle, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Grand Tetras 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Tetras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing