We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Grand Tetras
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We spent 5 days on a mountain bike trip attracted by the positive reviews here and by the great value. We were not dissappointed, delightful staff, clean and comfortable room overlooking the gardens and the mountains with a sunny balcony. The hotel also offered a secure store for our bikes and a bike wash area. Location is very convenient a quick ride to the Super Morzine lift or a path offering a short cut to the Marie and the popular Robinson Bar

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just back from 4 nights at Les Grand Tetras and would highly recommend it. Cyril and his wife were extremely welcoming, the rooms exceptionally clean and the food fantastic! A lovely 10 minute stroll through Morzine to the super Morzine lift and superb views of the Plenney mountain from the rooms and the restaurant. As visitors to the area for over 10 years this was a great find and we will definitely return

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel for 4 nights for a short break. It is a really great example of a small family hotel which is very well run by people who care about what they are doing. Location wise its about a 7 min walk from the Pleney gondola. There is also a ski bus from the stop next to the hotel - about 2 minutes walk away. For us the location was ideal - far enough out of town to be peaceful and quiet - but close enough to the bars and restaurants to give you some action when you wanted it. The views of the mountains from the hotel and many of the rooms are also excellent. We enjoyed the walk to and from the hotel as a way to stretch out the legs after all the skiing. There are some steep bits on the walk - but nothing too bad and if you are able to ski it wont be any problem to you.

The bedroom was simple - with a comfortable bed, good storage, and a tv (French channels only). We had a nice en-suite with a stand in shower. Loads of hot water and good pressure.

The food merits a special mention - it was delicious and we really enjoyed it. It was excellent home cooked French food with a thoughtfully put together menu and nicely balanced dishes - far better than the food we have had in other much more expensive hotels. Its a set menu each night which changes daily. They clearly take pride in the food they offer.

Breakfast was simple with bread and wonderful croissants, a small selection of cereals, ham and cheese and boiled eggs, and orange juice and hot drinks.

I think the rates we paid for what was on offer was excellent value and I would not hesitate to return. To be clear its not 5* luxury - but it is a charming place and well worth a visit.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank dd101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just back from Hotel Le Grand Tetras after a long weekend skiing (Thursday-Sunday). So 3 nights at the hotel and overall excellent value for money at 63 euro's per person per night including half board. Hotel is a little away from the main Morzine/Le Gets skiing area so the key is getting boots/ski's from a shop near the main cable car lift so you don't have to cart them back & forth. The advantage of being slightly out the centre is peace & quiet away from all the bars. Rooms may be a little basic but very clean and good storage. Only issue we had was hot water running out when showering before a night out (perhaps too many people using showers at once). Food was good and Cyril excellent host. Overall definitely recommend if this is your budget.

Room Tip: 3 of the rooms open up onto a large balcony so ask for one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here from the 6th March to the 11th March.
We were on a tight budget so 63 Euros a night was great, the food was excellent, the room warm and plenty of hot water.
The owner Ciryl was keen to point out that our room (number 5) had the best view and what a view.
Ciryl and his staff couldnt do enough for us and I would defenatley return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonTbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our family stayed in Le Grand Tetras from 26th of February till 3rd of march 2012. The hotel is well located, only a few minutes walk from the center and the fares are quite competitive (120 euros/day for a double room). Our room was small but tidy. Food is quite inconsistent, somedays the fixed dinner menu was pretty good, but some otherdays, quite average.

Important: Be careful of bad surprises at check-out: in our case, they over charged us 120 Euros for a room upgrade that we actually did not get !

In short, this hotel is a good option if you do not want to go for more pricey options.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thierry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hotel is on the other side of the village to the (main) Pleney ski lifts. However, as we hired our skis from Berger Ski which is right next to the main lift we kinda liked walking through the village center each morning passed the chocolate shops and cafes. The hotel stay also qualifies you for a 20% discount at Berger Ski.

The hotel sits quite high up and if you lucky to get in to room 16 you're in for a delightful view. Our room was clean, comfortable and the manager, Cyril is quite attentive and open for requests.

My only gripe is that I don't eat meat and even though they catered for us their vegi food was pretty poor. My wife needed to calm me down from complaining most times when they served the mains. This is probably like many French establishments whom finds vegi food nearly impossible but I find it very hard to forgive the chef when everyone else is eating beef bourguignon and we had mashed sweet potatoes. Why on earth could they not make some simple vegi casserole or stewed mushrooms with thyme on mashed potatoes? Other easy to make recipes with similar ingredients. I told this to the manager and I can only hope he takes this on board. This really let down what could have been an excellent visit.

If you're not a vegi this place is well worth a visit and is also worth a visit if your a vegi and you're ok with omelette for dinner.

Room Tip: Room 16 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
2.1 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
282 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#12 of 50 in Morzine
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Tetras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Tetras

Address: La Salle, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: £88 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Grand Tetras 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Tetras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing