We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Grand Tetras
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I have had two stays at this friendly, family-run hotel in a quiet spot in Morzine. I had a comfortable room with a great view of the village and mountains. The owners were amiable and helpful. If you are looking for a good value hotel with great access to the local ski area, then I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brightonbelle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2009

A great little hotel within walking distance of everything you will need in Morzine. Myself and 4 friends stayed over the skiing season and had a great time the staff were very friendly and always keen to help. The rooms are small but contain all you need for a good stay, the hotel was warm and very clean. We stayed full board and the food was fantastic. This hotel is wonderful value for money and would happily recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Morzine. One tip maybe bring an extra pillow!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christofb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Simple, unpretentious hotel in a quiet part of Morzine. Very pleasant and helpful owner Cyril. About 8 minutes walk to the telecabin. Good value with no hidden costs

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Myself and 9 friends stayed for a week in Tetras and were all sad to leave. One of the cheaper hotels in Morzine but offers a very good standard of clean and modern accommodation. On the edge of the town centre , but still only a short walk to bars and restaurants. Easy access to Avoriaz via a short bus ride. Hotel managers are the nicest I have met. Couldn't help us enough and the food was great. Would recommend Le Grand Tetras to anyone wanting a good value, clean, friendly hotel in Morzine.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Just completed my second stay in this hotel, absolutely first class, the hotel is warm & very frendly with an owner who is a local to Morzine and can give you first class information for the area. Good food aswell, the restaurants in town vary !
An almost central location,walkable in ski boots or the town circular bus passes the road end.
The rooms are on the small side and it is fair to say basic but are very clean and you are there for the skiing arn`t you?
Your room will have a geat view however, across the town to the slopes and lifts.
I have told the hotelier "Cyril" to look at this web site as he has alot of British visiors but had not heard of this one, he now has wi-fi installed but do you really need a lap-top ?

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexcannotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We had a super stay here over Christmas - the room was tiny but very warm with a bath, balcony & amazing view across Morzine & the Pleney. The food was excellent every night & we were made to feel very welcome. It was a real bargain in comparison to all of the restaurants in Morzine, where everything is very expensive. It is in a perfect location just moments from the village & has free parking, a bonus in the Alps nowadays! A great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2008

On my second trip to Morzine Avoriaz this season we decided to stay at Hotel Le Grand Tetras and I have to say that all in all it exceeded our expectations by miles.

The room was basic but very clean, comfortable and with modern pine fittings and ample wardrobe space for two people. We also had access to a reasonably big shared balcony with a table and deck chairs which would have been a very pleasant place to relax after a day on the slopes if the weather hadn't been so poor during our stay.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and if your French isn't up too much they do speak good English (but that's no excuse for not trying to speak the lingo!).

The food at the hotel was also very good. We stayed on a B&B basis and breakfast was pretty simple; bread, croissants, cheese, cereal and a variety of juices and hot drinks but I wouldn't have expected anything else and it was enough for us. The real surprise came with the evening meal. As the food in Morzine is generally expensive, generic (pizza, pasta, tarteflette and steak) and poor value for money we thought we'd try eating in. The evening meal was 3 courses plus coffee and home cooked. It's also made to order therefore you have to let the hotel know you're eating before 5pm. For starters we were served a pastry goats cheese salad followed by salmon steak with vegetables and rice all topped off with raspberry tarte and cream and coffee for only €18 each. Considering it will cost you €15 for a pizza in most other places in Morzine we found this to be excellent value for money. The only downside was the price of the wine, €17 for a half bottle of (quite nice) Chablis is a bit pricey but this didn't really bother us too much given the food was such good value.

The location was also convenient, a couple of minutes walk to the navette which takes you to the Ardent Telecabine and a navette which stops right outside that takes you to the Pleney Cable car and the centre of Morzine. In the evening when the busses have stopped it's only a five minute walk into Morzine.

I would definitely return to this hotel if I were to visit Morzine again. It's not the Ritz but it is exceptional value for money and I'd recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#13 of 50 in Morzine
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#7 of 50 in Morzine
214 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Tetras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Tetras

Address: La Salle, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: £135 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Grand Tetras 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Tetras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing