We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel le Soly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Soly
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Over the last 12 months , I've stayed here 3 times. It's family run and has been for over 30 years. You are made to feel very welcome. The rooms are adequate, with most balconies over looking a beautiful River. Wet snow gear , was taken, dried each night. A lovely little hotel I would go back to again and again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    42
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
32
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
176 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We've been to Morzine many times but this was our first stay at Hotel le Soly - but it won't be our last.

This was a last minute trip and, still being in-season, all our usual places were still very expensive for short stays. Hotel le Soly was very reasonably priced so we didn't expect too much - but were very pleasantly surprised.

We received a friendly welcome, our room was clean, comfortable and with a lovely view of the river and towards the mountains. There was a flat screen TV in the room with a couple of English channels and the bathroom was very good.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but one of the other guests told us that the food was very good. There is a hot spa, so next time we will be sure to pack our swimmies!

Finally, the hotel gives easy access to the lower half of the town, is on the bus routes and had a good amount of free parking - quite a rarity for Morzine!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The twin room maybe basic but it is well cared for and clean.

I arrived after midnight and by communicating by e-mail and mobile I was able to gain access and locate the allocated room which was good.

The bathroom is basic but does the job well on a budget and I was only looking to stay the night before moving on.

Excellent breakfast which I would strongly recommend at Euro 10 over going somewhere else locally as good very value with plenty to eat by way of fresh hot drinks, warmed breads, freshly cooked or cold buffet options.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Got back a week ago having had a lovely time in morzine. We drove to france and arrived well before check in but they made arrangements for our rooms x2 to be cleaned first to allow us an earlier check in time. Hotel is exceptionally clean. rooms cleaned every day. leave towels on floor if you want new ones! location wise it was a 5 minute walk to shops, cafes and bars. 1 mins from free bus service which takes you either into morzine centre or to avoriaz. lots of free parking. we didn't get to use the pool due to the time of year but did make use of sauna which you need to book a slot for in the morning. also a table tennis table and running machine all free. 10 euros per person for continental breakfast a day which is pricey on a budget for a week, carrefour is down the road for a grab and go munch! all staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. you only have one room key and they lock front doors from 10:30pm so you have to use back door which isn't a problem unless you come back separately from your partner then you have to let them in when they get back if after this time! could do with being a key pad lock rather than key. boot room was safe and has boot warmers.our balcony was shared with people we didn't know but this was not a problem luckily and nothing was taken from the balcony if we left it out.would definitely stay there again as price matches the accommodation and location.

Room Tip: choose a bedroom that backs onto the river as it sounds very peaceful and you get more sun throughou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Le Soly for New Years and few days of skiing. For a 2 star hotel, this is a very good deal! The price is cheaper than everything else around, but the service is friendly and nice, the room is bit plain but cosy and has a wonderful view on river and snowy forest. Recommend to take the breakfast at 10 euro at hotel, it is cheaper and much better than u ll end up paying outside. They have a sauna, which is perfect after skiing- but you need to book the time slot in advance

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dari O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed here for weeks skiing in March. The hotel is conveniently located within a short walk of the towns restaurants and bars. The bus stop for the ski bus is only a couple of minutes walk.The hotel itself was quiet, the staff were friendly and helpful.

I booked directly with the hotel and arranged with the hotel to store luggage after check out which allowed extra days skiing. The room was traditionally furnished, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was usual selection of fresh bread, croissants, cheeses and meats with fruit juice etc all which were acceptable. I did not use the restaurant which was meant to be ok, choosing to eat out in Morzine instead . For skiers and boarders the hotel has its own ski room with boot heaters etc.

I plan to return to Morzine as the Portes du Soleil is such a great area to ski and I would definitely consider staying at Le Soly again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowball19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We had an extra day to stay at the end of our ski holiday in Morzine and Hotel le Soly was a good find. Just off town centre so it was peaceful, also comfortable and good value. We didn't use the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberfeldyWatermill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.7 mi away
Beau Regard Hotel
Beau Regard Hotel
#18 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#40 of 50 in Morzine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#11 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Tetras
Hotel Le Grand Tetras
#12 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Soly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Soly

Property: Hotel le Soly
Address: 234 route de la Manche, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Soly 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a lovely France hotel, the Le Soly Varnay Hotel is a great choice. It is located in the Avoriaz ski area, which is part of the peaceful town of Morzine. You can stroll here to explore the many quaint shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. Mainly, however, people travel to this area in France for the outdoor activities. The winter in Morzine is perfect for skiing as the Portes du Soleil ski area is close by. Guests can also find snowboarding, alpine and downhill skiing, lessons are also available. There are over 650 km of ski slopes and trails that connect through France and Switzerland for your enjoyment. In the summer, many enjoy mountain biking, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, rafting and more. No matter the season, you will simply love the invigorating nature of Morzine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel le Soly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing