We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine Elements great, hotel needs upgrading, Small Planet airline awful!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have just returned from a week at La Renardiere with Alpine Elements. Alpine Elements I would say were pretty good overall, the staff definately made up for the shoddiness of the hotel. The hotel is in need of some work, however I think if you prepare yourself for this you won't be disappointed. The bar/restaurant area was lovely, the garden and pool, although a lot smaller than they look in the brochure, were lovely. Very few hotels in the area had a private outdoor area or pool. The rooms were basic and small but were clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were very outdated but perfectly functional. We had a problem when booking, as we had booked a quad room and were then informed that this was an error and that the room we booked was in fact a triple, so they added another room to the booking. With our children being only 8 and 10, we did not want them in a separate room, especially as it was on a different floor of the hotel, so my partner ended up in one room, with myself and the kids in the other, which we definately would not have booked for. We were offered bunk beds in one of the triple rooms but were told that there would not be room to swing a cat and no discount for over occupancy would be offered, which was really very poor service as the error was entirely Alpine Elements. Other hotel issues were the stained sofas in the lounge area and the smell of raw sewage on the outside steps. The hotel was however regularly cleaned and it seemed that the staff improved the issues that they had control of. The breakfast had a budget hotel feel to it, baguette, various jams, 3 types of cereal and breakfast which had different items each day, i.e. some days no sausage, some days no bacon, some days no hash browns etc. The cakes in the afternoon were average, however the evening meals were outstanding. Starters included risotto, rosti, roasted red pepper and tomato soup; and main meals included fish cakes, duck, tartaflette, chicken wrapped in bacon with mozzarella; the desserts included pannacotta, chocolate brownies, and berry crumble. The evening meals really were delicious and so well presented. The service at meal times was excellent.
The one issue that was not resolved whilst we were there, despite asking, was the staff dragging the table and chairs in the restaurant around at just after 7am each day, and just after 5am on the day of leaving. One of our rooms was directly above the restaurant and this woke us all every day, and this continued despite me asking if they could simply lift the furniture rather than drag it around on the wood floor.
The kids club rep was amazing, the activities offered within the kids club were great, not your usual hotel creche type set-up where you leave them in a room colouring for the day. The rep took them on half day trips out such as games by the river, raft building, orienteering, and trips up the mountains in the lifts. The rep was a qualified nursery nurse and quickly built up a good relationship with all the children in the hotel, of differing ages. She was also the most helpful and informative of the staff, she promptly got me a copy of her CRB disclosure faxed over from the UK, and had good knowledge of the local area. All the staff however were friendly and helpful.
The resort of Morzine itself was fantastic for families, it was more well populated and busier than I have seen in a ski resort before, probably around 1,000 hotels, and the main town, which was a 5-10 minute walk away was quite busy. There was lots to do in the local area, and the staff could arrange this for you. We did parapenting, which was fantastic, the company was called Aireole and it was 70 Euros each, plus 15 Euros for a cd of pictures and video. We did the white water rafting which was included in the free multi-pass, this was also very good, and calmer than we expected. The photos there are very expensive, between 25 and 35 Euros for the cd of photos (up to 10 photos). We attempted to take the bikes on a green run locally, the green runs are described as very easy and the description mentions that they are mostly on tarmac, mostly flat etc; which was largely inaccurate. We completed about 50 metres of the run before it got too crazy and we had to take a 3 1/2 hour detour along the main roads down to Les Gets and back again. We did not try that again. Parts of the green run had almost sheer drops with netting either side to catch you! Quite a few of the other residents sustained injuries on the green runs, including a lady who needed stitches. I would say that the green runs are very easy for very experienced mountain bikers, not normal bike riders, and certainly not suitable for children, although they are signposted as the family route!
We made good use of the lift passes and took many trips up the mountains which were breathtaking. We also walked to Lake Montriond, which took 1hr 45mins with the kids, and this was well worth the trip. The lake is beautiful and there are pony rides, 30 mins for 10 Euros, and you can hire paddle boards, kayaks, canoes etc. We hired a paddle board, 2 person canoe and 1 person kayak for 30 mins for only 19 Euros. There is a bus to and from the lakes, which is free with the multi-pass but the first bus is not until 1pm. We also took a horse and cart ride around town which was 20 Euros for about 30-40 mins.
We ate out in the town a few times, we would recommend La Grille and La Chavoyard. It is expensive to eat out however, 24 Euros for a steak, 21 Euros for frog legs, 6 Euros for a bottle beer. The hotel staff did not seem to mind people buying food from the supermarket at lunch time and eating it in the hotel, they provided plates and cutlery when asked.
The airline we flew with was called Small Planet and I would not book if this was the airline again, although at the time of booking you can upgrade to Easy Jet for £25 per person. Our flight home was delayed by 7 hours and the Alpine Elements staff did not appear to give us much information as to what was going on, we found we had to keep seeking staff out at the hotel and again at the airport for updates. One staff member, Adam, was however very helpful and informed us that they had not been given sufficient information by the Airline, which was why they had been vague in answering our questions. Adam spent some time sat with us on the floor at Geneva Airport as they closed the seating areas/shops/bars etc. This was a nice touch and it would have been appreciated if the other staff had acknowledged us occasionally while we were waiting, as they were also waiting for the incoming flight to arrive which was delayed but the staff appeared to go into hiding! One other point is that the female staff member who arrived with the coach to collect us for transfer to the airport was rude and curt.
However, despite the state of the hotel, the problem with the room booking, and the world's worst airline (with a fleet of two planes!), I would still recommend this hotel, and Alpine Elements. Just prepare yourself for a tired hotel, check and double check that they have booked the right room for you, and upgrade to Easy Jet flights!

Room Tip: The upstairs room was far away enough from the restaurant that you would not be woken too early. Bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in the last week of july. We went as a family, of four, with two teenage daughters and found that all the staff were very friendly and accommodating especially Jonathan and Hayley. The white water rafting was fantastic with excellent instructors and the bike hire was very efficient however you had to upgrade to get your bikes up the mountain which was necessary if you wanted downhill tracks. The food was a three course meal every night ,with bread, and certainly was outstanding. The chef was also very friendly and would prepare other dishes if you did not like what was on the set menu. Breakfast was average, you could have bread and jam, yogurt, cooked breakfast, cereal but no fruit which my daughters especially like! The rooms and pool were very clean but two of the mattresses in our room were too soft also the bathroom needed a bit of TLC! The hotel certainly had a lovely atmosphere and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 835Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We spent the last week of July here and had a great time. The food was of a very high standard considering the chef is only 21. The bar staff especially Millie were so friendly, the waitresses and Johnathan were also great always asked us everyday what we had been up to and had we enjoyed ourselves. Nothing was to much trouble. The only thing that spoilt it for me was the customer services guy Sam I have to say he was not very helpful or knowledgeable. The room was kept clean could have down with the towels being changed during the week though as with 2 boys biking everyday they soon got dirty. All in all it was a lovely place to say and I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 which was perfect they only thing is it is up 2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawlishKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for your kind review about your stay at the Renardiere. Im sorry to hear that the high level of service wasn't consistant throughout your holiday and i will investigate your comments. Im glad that your overall holiday was enjoyable and i hope that we can welcome you back with us in the future

Best Wishes
Clare Smith
Head of Operations UK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My partner and I chose this hotel to go on our honey moon 2 weeks ago, I know this is not a typical place to on your honey moon but we fancied doing some adrenaline activities and we were definitely not disappointed. From the start we have had 1st class service from all of the Alpine Elements staff. I booked this trip early February 2012 with Laurel Wright and we paid less than £500 each which included everything from flights, transfer, all food, accommodation, white water rafting, mountain bike, lift pass and much more. Laurel was extremely efficient and helpful from start to finish.

When we arrived at our hotel we were greeted by several staff who were all so bubbly, full of smiles and very accommodating. The hotel is only a 2 star, the rooms are quite basic, but more than comfortable and the shower was really powerful and each room has a balcony with lovely views of the mountains.

What really made our holiday was the Alpine Elements staff and the 1st class food, they were fantastic and so lovely (all of them). I still can't believe that this hotel is a 2 star, the food is 110% more like a 5 star, Ian the chef is outstanding and so passionate about his job. The taste and presentation of his food was 1st class and the best food I have ever tasted. Every evening he come and spoke to every single person in the hotel to make sure they enjoyed their meal and check to make sure we liked everything on the next days menu, if we didn't he would personally make you a different dish. Ian you are the best! Other staff who deserve a special mention is Sam who helps to book all your activities for the week and was extremely helpful and fun. Jonathan who made me smile every single day, so lovely and excellent customer service. Adam for calling back the mini bus for us and giving us so much advice for booking our ski holiday and Milly who was always so positive and helpful.

Once a week the chef get a night night off and they put on a BBQ for 10 Euros. On the day of the BBQ it was a baking hot day and the staff bought all the dining tables outside which was fantastic. I strongly recommend this if it's a hot day as you can eat as much as you want for this price. Down in the town the restaurants are quite expensive and the food is not as good at the hotels.

The activities were all great fun and well organised. I personally would recommend the cannoning, it's brilliant and your be buzzing for days.

The only thing I would ask Alpine Elements did would be to invest in a few more outdoor tables and more seating area and it's so lovely outside.

I've now been back 2 weeks and have already booked my Ski holiday for 16 of us to go to Tignes in 2013, we can't wait. I booked this with Gary Munro, who again has been absolutely fantastic and so helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review about your stay at the Renardiere. I am so pleased to hear that you a brilliant time and the staff were always bubbly and accommodating. I will pass your comments on to the staff involved both in resort and the UK, it is always great to hear positive comments as it really does motivate the team.
I look forward to you coming back with us in the winter


Best Wishes
Clare Smith
Head of Operations UK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed here the second week of June2012 on an Alpine Elements holiday. Staff were really helpful and friendly. The rooms where clean but basic howevere it is an adventure holiday not a luxuary one. The food was amazing and the sort of quality you would expect from a 5* resturant, thank you Ben and Ian for that. The hot tub and pool were always clean and got used by everyone most days then if you got up early you seen the staff cleaning for the day ahead.Located just up the road from the town center an easy 5minute walk.

Room Tip: rooms 15 and 16 have the best pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pigxexon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed with Elderon and Clarissa for New Year and had what can only be described as our best skiing holiday ever!
Not only did we get excellent service, fantastic food, superb overall hospitality and value for money but we met some great people.
It was like staying with a family and 40 of their friends.
If you are looking for a home from home look no further...and if Rick is still working there ask him for anything he will do his upmost to get it.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomAuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at the La Renardiere, a small hotel/chalet, with basic but clean room's and lovely view's from the balcony. Small and relaxing garden with swimming pool and hot tub. The staff were great and were always more than happy to help out in anyway or just to chat about your day you'd had. The food was lovely, and if there was something you didn't like they would do there best to make you something else. Lots of activity's on offer, canyoning was fantastic although I wouldn't recommend to kids unless completely fearless!!
All in all a great holiday and we wouldn't hesitate to return!

Room Tip: Bring your own towels - one per person just isn't enough especially if your going to the swimmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Dents Blanches
Hotel Les Dents Blanches
#23 of 50 in Morzine
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermine Blanche
Hotel Hermine Blanche
#24 of 50 in Morzine
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#6 of 50 in Morzine
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#36 of 50 in Morzine
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Airelles
Hotel Les Airelles
#35 of 50 in Morzine
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere

Address: Route de Combe a Zore, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Morzine
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing