We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Struggling to scrape three stars, could do better.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is in a lovely location, you won't be disappointed with the views. It is a little bit tired inside and out but has a fairly homely feel about it and generally speaking the staff tried fairly hard to please everyone. The food was excellent, plenty of variety and some things were cooked really nicely, my girlfriend is gluten free and this was catered for pretty well. We had a good week overall but feel it essential to make potential visitors aware of a few negative things that happened and therefore what to look out for.
The knowledge of the resort was lacking by the activities coordinator, any activities had to be arranged through her, however my girlfriend nearly missed an expensive horse riding session after being given incorrect directions. On her late arrival , she was also informed she should have been there 15 minutes early for fitting etc. Again we weren't told this. I had similiar experience with a paragliding session, having paid the money I was left hanging as to which paragliding supplier I had to turn up at, as there were several. It felt as if the important bit was extracting the money from the residents, details like directions were not really important. This theory was confirmed when we were harassed on a daily basis for more money, e.g to go on a pub crawl, we declined the offer of mystery free drinks etc and a tour of the town. We were later informed by those that did go that there were no freebies, no surprise there and a few euros saved. Later in the week, the in-house pub-style-quiz we had been told about all week, turned out to be a nonsense when the staff asked everyone for an entrance fee, which ironically turned out to amount to more than the prize fund anyway! Needless to say most of the 40 residents, had a good laugh about it and declined the offer. This was offered again to us the following night at a reduced rate, they just didn't get the message and the whole hotel disappeared indignantly in to town.
Be aware that some deals include the use of a mountain bike for three days, on our first night we were told which days these would be. In our case, the final three days, this was news to us and was not made clear that we couldn't pick our days, or indeed spread them out so they don't run in a concurrent block. We felt this was inflexible and should have been advertised.
On another note, every door in the hotel squeaked and banged continuously, I am not being over-critical here, it was ridiculous, everyone complained about it. It made it very difficult to sleep before the last resident had gone to bed, or sleep beyond the first person up. The door outside our room was finally fixed two days before our return, funnily enough this was the same day that one of the staff who stayed there complained about it too. The other 50 or so doors continued to crash but it did provide some respite!
Our most serious complaint came to a head on the last night. A large group of residents, probably around twenty were in the habit of getting rowdy as the nights wore on. I have no objection to anyone having a good time/late night/few drinks. After a few mid-week disturbances, this finally came to a head. We were woken around 1am by a terrible racket, people were shouting, banging, chanting, generally causing havoc. They were climbing on the roof of the hotel, throwing things into the pool (all sorts....), then for the second time in the week the hot tub was out of action, I'll leave that one to the imagination as to why. Over breakfast we discovered that some residents had used the corridors as toilets. The racket continued for quite a while that night, frankly I would compare it to a zoo. Considering that there were families with young children staying there and an older couple, furthermore some people had to get up at 5am to catch transfer coaches, we were disgusted as well as exhausted. We voiced our complaint and (not coincidentally) the area manger was there (having been called in the early hous of the morning to try and sort it out). She appeared to take it very seriously and whilst we accept that Alpine Elements can't be responsible for a few bad residents or their behaviour, the problem here was that the situation escalated through the week, lttle was done and on the final night, one young staff member was left to confront twenty rowdy drunks. Not an enviable task for anyone. We feel that that the behaviour should have been controlled earlier in the week and that that there should be staff staying at the hotel with the authority and experience to deal with these situations, in all honesty it was a police matter. Some of these residents were repeat visitors, so we doubt the sincerity of the claim that these people will not be allowed to holiday with Alpine Elements again. We have since received a minor discount voucher from Alpine Elements, for any future bookings.
Morzine was lovely, we did some great activities in a beautiful setting. Maybe we will go back there but almost certainly not to La Renardiere. The staff are all very young and pleasant, helpful where they can be, I think with a bit more direction from someone senior the whole experience could be improved.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abm_traveller_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

Only just got round to writing this review eight weeks after staying at the Renardiere so apologies if job titles and names slightly mixed up but staff will know who they are. Stayed on the 12th of August for one week with myself,wife and two daughters aged 12 and 8. Although this hotel is rated two star it is by far superior to this, yes it is no thrills and basic. However it is spacious, clean, comfortable, friendly and very relaxing. All of the staff are really friendly , however one or two go that extra mile to give you that vip feeling. Craig ( the Manager), Adam (assistant Manager) and Vicky ( child entertainment) all gave our holiday a five star feeling , many thanks. The food was excellent every day (Ian) I believe, with both flexibility and information. Our rooms where again well above there 2 star rating with lovely views over the valley. The choice of activities are excellent, the white water rafting is excellent for families, possibly a little tame for thrill seekers, mountain biking again ideal for novice families , however those with bike experience will need to upgrade the bike package. Parascending was fantastic but book early to avoid disappointment, our first flight was cancelled due to bad thermals , just managed to squeeze another flight time in. Stacks of good walks especially over to Les Gets where you can stop for a couple of beers on route, also nice lake to swim in over at Les Gets. The girls really enjoyed the entertainment provided by Vicky especially the chocolate night and film night. Hopefully covered most things there however we are going for two weeks next year so should have more activities to write about next time. Once again a big thank you to Adam, Craig, Vicky and (Ian) I think , and all the team at Alpine Elements for a fantastic family holiday.

Room Tip: Any room facing the resort valley or pool, but not mountain facing rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The evening meals were outstanding.

The garden area with pool and hot tub is small but a pleasant place to relax and enjoy afternoon tea and cakes.

The mountain biking is not really suitable unless you are experienced and have all the protective gear. The family route still involves steep and rocky paths. Stick to the roads. The multi pass includes use of the ski lifts which gives great access to some fantastic walks. We took a chain of ski lifts all the way over to Switzerland. Great views.

Loved the white water rafting.

The main pool in the town is fabulous.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catchthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here in June 2012 and had a great time. Although the hotel is pretty basic the food and service from the staff was way above what we expected on first impressions. We were on an activity break with Alpine Elements and thoroughly enjoyed it. If you are thrill seeker I would advise against booking the white water rafting in your package as its pretty tame ( I've had more fun in the bath) otherwise plenty to do and see but be prepared as it can be quite tiring if you pack a lot in. The mountain biking is a bit extreme on the hills/mountains but theres a few nice tracks to go on in the Morzine area however you are in the Alps so expect hills were ever you go.
Please note also that although the Hotel has a pool its a lot smaller than it looks in the pictures.
All in all though a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saragosa0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have just returned from a week at La Renardiere with Alpine Elements. Alpine Elements I would say were pretty good overall, the staff definately made up for the shoddiness of the hotel. The hotel is in need of some work, however I think if you prepare yourself for this you won't be disappointed. The bar/restaurant area was lovely, the garden and pool, although a lot smaller than they look in the brochure, were lovely. Very few hotels in the area had a private outdoor area or pool. The rooms were basic and small but were clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were very outdated but perfectly functional. We had a problem when booking, as we had booked a quad room and were then informed that this was an error and that the room we booked was in fact a triple, so they added another room to the booking. With our children being only 8 and 10, we did not want them in a separate room, especially as it was on a different floor of the hotel, so my partner ended up in one room, with myself and the kids in the other, which we definately would not have booked for. We were offered bunk beds in one of the triple rooms but were told that there would not be room to swing a cat and no discount for over occupancy would be offered, which was really very poor service as the error was entirely Alpine Elements. Other hotel issues were the stained sofas in the lounge area and the smell of raw sewage on the outside steps. The hotel was however regularly cleaned and it seemed that the staff improved the issues that they had control of. The breakfast had a budget hotel feel to it, baguette, various jams, 3 types of cereal and breakfast which had different items each day, i.e. some days no sausage, some days no bacon, some days no hash browns etc. The cakes in the afternoon were average, however the evening meals were outstanding. Starters included risotto, rosti, roasted red pepper and tomato soup; and main meals included fish cakes, duck, tartaflette, chicken wrapped in bacon with mozzarella; the desserts included pannacotta, chocolate brownies, and berry crumble. The evening meals really were delicious and so well presented. The service at meal times was excellent.
The one issue that was not resolved whilst we were there, despite asking, was the staff dragging the table and chairs in the restaurant around at just after 7am each day, and just after 5am on the day of leaving. One of our rooms was directly above the restaurant and this woke us all every day, and this continued despite me asking if they could simply lift the furniture rather than drag it around on the wood floor.
The kids club rep was amazing, the activities offered within the kids club were great, not your usual hotel creche type set-up where you leave them in a room colouring for the day. The rep took them on half day trips out such as games by the river, raft building, orienteering, and trips up the mountains in the lifts. The rep was a qualified nursery nurse and quickly built up a good relationship with all the children in the hotel, of differing ages. She was also the most helpful and informative of the staff, she promptly got me a copy of her CRB disclosure faxed over from the UK, and had good knowledge of the local area. All the staff however were friendly and helpful.
The resort of Morzine itself was fantastic for families, it was more well populated and busier than I have seen in a ski resort before, probably around 1,000 hotels, and the main town, which was a 5-10 minute walk away was quite busy. There was lots to do in the local area, and the staff could arrange this for you. We did parapenting, which was fantastic, the company was called Aireole and it was 70 Euros each, plus 15 Euros for a cd of pictures and video. We did the white water rafting which was included in the free multi-pass, this was also very good, and calmer than we expected. The photos there are very expensive, between 25 and 35 Euros for the cd of photos (up to 10 photos). We attempted to take the bikes on a green run locally, the green runs are described as very easy and the description mentions that they are mostly on tarmac, mostly flat etc; which was largely inaccurate. We completed about 50 metres of the run before it got too crazy and we had to take a 3 1/2 hour detour along the main roads down to Les Gets and back again. We did not try that again. Parts of the green run had almost sheer drops with netting either side to catch you! Quite a few of the other residents sustained injuries on the green runs, including a lady who needed stitches. I would say that the green runs are very easy for very experienced mountain bikers, not normal bike riders, and certainly not suitable for children, although they are signposted as the family route!
We made good use of the lift passes and took many trips up the mountains which were breathtaking. We also walked to Lake Montriond, which took 1hr 45mins with the kids, and this was well worth the trip. The lake is beautiful and there are pony rides, 30 mins for 10 Euros, and you can hire paddle boards, kayaks, canoes etc. We hired a paddle board, 2 person canoe and 1 person kayak for 30 mins for only 19 Euros. There is a bus to and from the lakes, which is free with the multi-pass but the first bus is not until 1pm. We also took a horse and cart ride around town which was 20 Euros for about 30-40 mins.
We ate out in the town a few times, we would recommend La Grille and La Chavoyard. It is expensive to eat out however, 24 Euros for a steak, 21 Euros for frog legs, 6 Euros for a bottle beer. The hotel staff did not seem to mind people buying food from the supermarket at lunch time and eating it in the hotel, they provided plates and cutlery when asked.
The airline we flew with was called Small Planet and I would not book if this was the airline again, although at the time of booking you can upgrade to Easy Jet for £25 per person. Our flight home was delayed by 7 hours and the Alpine Elements staff did not appear to give us much information as to what was going on, we found we had to keep seeking staff out at the hotel and again at the airport for updates. One staff member, Adam, was however very helpful and informed us that they had not been given sufficient information by the Airline, which was why they had been vague in answering our questions. Adam spent some time sat with us on the floor at Geneva Airport as they closed the seating areas/shops/bars etc. This was a nice touch and it would have been appreciated if the other staff had acknowledged us occasionally while we were waiting, as they were also waiting for the incoming flight to arrive which was delayed but the staff appeared to go into hiding! One other point is that the female staff member who arrived with the coach to collect us for transfer to the airport was rude and curt.
However, despite the state of the hotel, the problem with the room booking, and the world's worst airline (with a fleet of two planes!), I would still recommend this hotel, and Alpine Elements. Just prepare yourself for a tired hotel, check and double check that they have booked the right room for you, and upgrade to Easy Jet flights!

Room Tip: The upstairs room was far away enough from the restaurant that you would not be woken too early. Bot...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in the last week of july. We went as a family, of four, with two teenage daughters and found that all the staff were very friendly and accommodating especially Jonathan and Hayley. The white water rafting was fantastic with excellent instructors and the bike hire was very efficient however you had to upgrade to get your bikes up the mountain which was necessary if you wanted downhill tracks. The food was a three course meal every night ,with bread, and certainly was outstanding. The chef was also very friendly and would prepare other dishes if you did not like what was on the set menu. Breakfast was average, you could have bread and jam, yogurt, cooked breakfast, cereal but no fruit which my daughters especially like! The rooms and pool were very clean but two of the mattresses in our room were too soft also the bathroom needed a bit of TLC! The hotel certainly had a lovely atmosphere and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 835Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We spent the last week of July here and had a great time. The food was of a very high standard considering the chef is only 21. The bar staff especially Millie were so friendly, the waitresses and Johnathan were also great always asked us everyday what we had been up to and had we enjoyed ourselves. Nothing was to much trouble. The only thing that spoilt it for me was the customer services guy Sam I have to say he was not very helpful or knowledgeable. The room was kept clean could have down with the towels being changed during the week though as with 2 boys biking everyday they soon got dirty. All in all it was a lovely place to say and I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 which was perfect they only thing is it is up 2 flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawlishKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for your kind review about your stay at the Renardiere. Im sorry to hear that the high level of service wasn't consistant throughout your holiday and i will investigate your comments. Im glad that your overall holiday was enjoyable and i hope that we can welcome you back with us in the future

Best Wishes
Clare Smith
Head of Operations UK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermine Blanche
Hotel Hermine Blanche
#24 of 50 in Morzine
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Dents Blanches
Hotel Les Dents Blanches
#29 of 50 in Morzine
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Bruyeres
Hotel Les Bruyeres
#20 of 50 in Morzine
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#7 of 50 in Morzine
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#37 of 50 in Morzine
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere

Address: Route de Combe a Zore, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Morzine
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing