We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday but hotel has seen better days!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great holiday but hotel has seen better days!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed the last week of August with Alpine elements, We enjoyed the activities on offer and most of the guests were a friendly happy bunch so we all got on fine, My only criticism would be the room we were allocated. We booked very early and asked for advice on the room to choose for three. What a waste of time that was - we ended up in a double with an extra bed - very cramped. I was irritated as fellow guests got proper triples for the same price! Apart from that I have no criticism of the hotel or the staff taking into account the price of the holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a room over the garden, not the wooded hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charles092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear charles092,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the room you booked. I can see from your booking that the lead booker booked online and chose the room that you stayed in which was a triple, room number 6. The majority of our triples are the same size, contain three single beds and a floor plan can be found on our website and in our brochure.

We always recommend that if guests are unhappy with the room they have booked or have particular room requirements that these are discussed with our sales team as we may have other rooms available that we could move you to for your stay however rooms do book up quite quickly but as you booked very early then this would have been possible prior to departure.

All of our staff in resort are on hand to help with anything our guests may need and can also look to change your room once you have arrived in resort if you are unable to contact us before your departure.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the activities in resort and that your holiday with Alpine Elements was great. I would be interested in knowing your thoughts regarding the hotel and invite you to contact me directly.

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
sarah@alpineelements.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    45
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two week family holiday in Morzine.
It is an incredible resort and we very much enjoyed both walking and cycling as well as the white-water rafting and the high ropes at one of the adventure parks in the resort.
I would agree with a previous poster that it is essential to buy a proper map if you are going to explore by bike or on foot. Also be aware or take advise regarding the technical difficulty of some of the cycling.
La Renardiere was a pleasure to stay in, well located and with beautiful views. The rooms are fairly basic for some tastes but prefect for the sort of holiday where you are out all day and want somewhere comfortable, clean and cosy to lay your head.
What really makes La Renardiere is the atmosphere and that was generated by some outstanding young staff.
During the time we were there two different chefs served incredible evening meals, of a standard you'd probably struggle to find in an restaurant in the town.
The "front of house" staff were generally excellent, they were hard working and made us welcome from day one. Always busy but never too busy to smile.
Jas and Alex deserve a mention for their friendly service as does James who is great with the kids as well. Emma the kids club rep has a rare gift with children of appearing relaxed while remaining in complete control and provided the environment for our 10 year old son to make some great friendships. Millie, the bar manager was thoroughly professional, while making us all feel relaxed and very welcome and ran a fun and informative wine and cheese tasting evening.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Chris B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your two week holiday at the Renardiere and that you made the most out of the activities on offer.

We do provide a map of the area for all of our guests but it is advised to purchase a more detailed one for more experienced walkers and bikers.

It is great to hear that you found our staff friendly and hardworking and that the chefs provided great food for your stay. We have passed your feedback on to the team in resort and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week with my husband and two children and we had a fantastic holiday with Alpine Elements, which proved excellent value for money. The hotel is very cosy and in a fantastic location - only ten minutes walk from the centre of Morzine and the main chairlifts. The staff absolutely made our holiday - they were fantastic with the kids and even made my son a birthday cake at very little notice and for no extra cost. The staff were also very knowledgeable about the resort, pointing out child friendly bike routes and had plenty of ideas for us on the one rainy day we had when biking was a no-go. The food was excellent: breakfast, afternoon tea and a three course meal were provided everyday apart from Wednesday as part of our package and the lunch menu proved considerably cheaper and just as good as the cafes in the centre of town. Our reservations from previous reviews about sleep quality before we went were proved unfounded - our rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable and the squeaky door problem had clearly been dealt with before our arrival as we all slept very well. Overall we had a lovely holiday and I'd like to thank all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Sarah H,

Thank you for leaving a review following your family holiday with Alpine Elements. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and it is lovely to hear that our staff made a birthday cake for your son!

We are sorry to hear that you had a rainy day during your holiday however we are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy alternative activities.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our hard working staff and w have passed your comments onto the team.

We hope to see your family again in the future.

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

abm_traveller_123 review was spot on and well written. In addition to his comments - Due to the noise (rowdiness, squeaking and banging doors), every night I had to wait until everyone had gone to bed to get to sleep. Usually 12.00 a.m. the last night, it was 2.30 a.m. and then we had to contend with early departures. Disgusting language in the dining and lounge areas were not contested by the staff, neither was the guy who came down to the dining room in the morning wearing just underpants. Our holiday was ruined by this and everything else abm_traveller_123 noted. Definitely not a family hotel and follow the information provided by staff at your peril. Activity rep clueless. Not a walkers paradise, some lifts you could not go up unless you had a bike, some lifts you could go up but not back down, many lifts you could not reach without a bike. This "Hotel" was one up from a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walker782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
We are very sorry to see that you were disappointed with your recent holiday with Alpine Elements.

I don't seem to have received anything directly from you and I would really appreciate the opportunity to respond in form and try to rectify any problems that you experienced.

It upsets me to hear that you were disturbed on your holiday by a group of rowdy guests, a manager was called to the hotel to deal with the guests but we can only apologise if this affected your stay. We do provide an out of hours telephone number so that all of our guests can reach a member of staff should there be any problems. This was an isolated case and we do not tolerate this kind of behaviour from any of our guests.

I would really appreciate it if you would get in touch with me.

Please find my contact details below:
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
sarah@alpineelements.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Definitely book the weeks when you get the free activities pass. You get 3 days bike hire, however you don't get to choose when you use the bikes and you have to use the bikes on consecutive days, for example I had to use the bikes for the first 3 days, maybe not such a problem, you’re definitely fitter by the third day! but I think I would have preferred to have spread the cycling over the week. The free maps of the area to be found in the hotel, might look reasonable but are in fact a nightmare to follow, navigating the biking and hiking routes will leave you frustrated guaranteed! Saw lots of other hikers at signposts with names not to be found on the maps, probably a school boy error but should have gone to the tourist info centre; there you can buy a detailed map for about 6 euros, a good investment for sure. As for the hotel the other reviews describe it pretty well, pretty basic but O.K. for the money, the staff are really friendly, the food is good and filling. Last words to reiterate, if you plan to hike/bike around the very beautiful countryside PLEASE BUY YOURSELF A MAP! save yourself some time and frustration.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Graham K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you were able to make use of the active pass. We have to allocate the bikes for certain days so that all of our guests are able to make use of the bikes that we have in resort and we are sorry if you were disappointed with the days you were allocated.

We do provide a map for all of our guests however we do recommend that guests who are experienced walkers or bikers do purchase a more detailed map in order to explore the whole area.

We are glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed the food that was served.

We hope to see you again next year.

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is in a lovely location, you won't be disappointed with the views. It is a little bit tired inside and out but has a fairly homely feel about it and generally speaking the staff tried fairly hard to please everyone. The food was excellent, plenty of variety and some things were cooked really nicely, my girlfriend is gluten free and this was catered for pretty well. We had a good week overall but feel it essential to make potential visitors aware of a few negative things that happened and therefore what to look out for.
The knowledge of the resort was lacking by the activities coordinator, any activities had to be arranged through her, however my girlfriend nearly missed an expensive horse riding session after being given incorrect directions. On her late arrival , she was also informed she should have been there 15 minutes early for fitting etc. Again we weren't told this. I had similiar experience with a paragliding session, having paid the money I was left hanging as to which paragliding supplier I had to turn up at, as there were several. It felt as if the important bit was extracting the money from the residents, details like directions were not really important. This theory was confirmed when we were harassed on a daily basis for more money, e.g to go on a pub crawl, we declined the offer of mystery free drinks etc and a tour of the town. We were later informed by those that did go that there were no freebies, no surprise there and a few euros saved. Later in the week, the in-house pub-style-quiz we had been told about all week, turned out to be a nonsense when the staff asked everyone for an entrance fee, which ironically turned out to amount to more than the prize fund anyway! Needless to say most of the 40 residents, had a good laugh about it and declined the offer. This was offered again to us the following night at a reduced rate, they just didn't get the message and the whole hotel disappeared indignantly in to town.
Be aware that some deals include the use of a mountain bike for three days, on our first night we were told which days these would be. In our case, the final three days, this was news to us and was not made clear that we couldn't pick our days, or indeed spread them out so they don't run in a concurrent block. We felt this was inflexible and should have been advertised.
On another note, every door in the hotel squeaked and banged continuously, I am not being over-critical here, it was ridiculous, everyone complained about it. It made it very difficult to sleep before the last resident had gone to bed, or sleep beyond the first person up. The door outside our room was finally fixed two days before our return, funnily enough this was the same day that one of the staff who stayed there complained about it too. The other 50 or so doors continued to crash but it did provide some respite!
Our most serious complaint came to a head on the last night. A large group of residents, probably around twenty were in the habit of getting rowdy as the nights wore on. I have no objection to anyone having a good time/late night/few drinks. After a few mid-week disturbances, this finally came to a head. We were woken around 1am by a terrible racket, people were shouting, banging, chanting, generally causing havoc. They were climbing on the roof of the hotel, throwing things into the pool (all sorts....), then for the second time in the week the hot tub was out of action, I'll leave that one to the imagination as to why. Over breakfast we discovered that some residents had used the corridors as toilets. The racket continued for quite a while that night, frankly I would compare it to a zoo. Considering that there were families with young children staying there and an older couple, furthermore some people had to get up at 5am to catch transfer coaches, we were disgusted as well as exhausted. We voiced our complaint and (not coincidentally) the area manger was there (having been called in the early hous of the morning to try and sort it out). She appeared to take it very seriously and whilst we accept that Alpine Elements can't be responsible for a few bad residents or their behaviour, the problem here was that the situation escalated through the week, lttle was done and on the final night, one young staff member was left to confront twenty rowdy drunks. Not an enviable task for anyone. We feel that that the behaviour should have been controlled earlier in the week and that that there should be staff staying at the hotel with the authority and experience to deal with these situations, in all honesty it was a police matter. Some of these residents were repeat visitors, so we doubt the sincerity of the claim that these people will not be allowed to holiday with Alpine Elements again. We have since received a minor discount voucher from Alpine Elements, for any future bookings.
Morzine was lovely, we did some great activities in a beautiful setting. Maybe we will go back there but almost certainly not to La Renardiere. The staff are all very young and pleasant, helpful where they can be, I think with a bit more direction from someone senior the whole experience could be improved.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abm_traveller_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Only just got round to writing this review eight weeks after staying at the Renardiere so apologies if job titles and names slightly mixed up but staff will know who they are. Stayed on the 12th of August for one week with myself,wife and two daughters aged 12 and 8. Although this hotel is rated two star it is by far superior to this, yes it is no thrills and basic. However it is spacious, clean, comfortable, friendly and very relaxing. All of the staff are really friendly , however one or two go that extra mile to give you that vip feeling. Craig ( the Manager), Adam (assistant Manager) and Vicky ( child entertainment) all gave our holiday a five star feeling , many thanks. The food was excellent every day (Ian) I believe, with both flexibility and information. Our rooms where again well above there 2 star rating with lovely views over the valley. The choice of activities are excellent, the white water rafting is excellent for families, possibly a little tame for thrill seekers, mountain biking again ideal for novice families , however those with bike experience will need to upgrade the bike package. Parascending was fantastic but book early to avoid disappointment, our first flight was cancelled due to bad thermals , just managed to squeeze another flight time in. Stacks of good walks especially over to Les Gets where you can stop for a couple of beers on route, also nice lake to swim in over at Les Gets. The girls really enjoyed the entertainment provided by Vicky especially the chocolate night and film night. Hopefully covered most things there however we are going for two weeks next year so should have more activities to write about next time. Once again a big thank you to Adam, Craig, Vicky and (Ian) I think , and all the team at Alpine Elements for a fantastic family holiday.

Room Tip: Any room facing the resort valley or pool, but not mountain facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morzine
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermine Blanche
Hotel Hermine Blanche
#25 of 50 in Morzine
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Bruyeres
Hotel Les Bruyeres
#20 of 50 in Morzine
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere

Property: Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere
Address: Route de Combe a Zore, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Morzine
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing