We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place but disappointing operator”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but disappointing operator”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hello there,
I went there in June and I wrote a review straight away to be able to help/warn people from Alpine Elements. I pasted the whole 2-page letter on here but of course it was moderated...
I would like to say the positives that I wrote:
I would like to start by saying thank you for so many things that we found excellent with Alpine Elements.
Graham Goddard was great with all the booking and preparation so I would like to extend our gratitude to him and his booking team in London.
I was amazed by the sheer professionalism of some of the Hotel Assistants at Le Renardiere particularly Jasmine and Jo (shy but very kind and professional). It was nice to come back after a long day out to find that your room was tidy and at times, your clothes folded. It meant a lot to us and they evidently went beyond the call of duty.
As for the food, I have never met a 20 year old as talented as Lewis – a lovely guy too which is strange for a chef! The food was outstanding and we were not expecting such high gastronomic standards. So thank you.
The bike mechanics Darren and Pete tucked away in the Scottish den were great too and very cheery and helpful. It was a pleasure to meet them.

As for the negatives, there were too many. The AE crew were just hell-bent on gaining commission and were just 'advertising' the lucrative activities (to them). Thonon-les-bains is an hour away on the bus and worth a visit where you can chill by the French side of Lake Genava. Not a mention of it.
Natasha, the manager was very inept and seemed to be on Facebook a lot. They messed up a lot of things expecially their lucrative trip to Chamonix. We left late as she had forgotten to prepare our packed lunches. We got there and she had no idea where to tell the driver to stop. I tried to help because I am bilingual but it was extra stress I didn't sign up for. What broke the camel's back was when we nearly missed our flight the next day. The lovely coach driver picked us up on time but the chalet assistant responsible for getting everyone else on that bus probably woke up late and missed the bus. We had to make a u-turn 40 minutes into our journey to the airport. A family on the bus were very worried as their plane left earlier than ours. Stress, stress and more stress!

Also, we were sold these multi-activity passes when 95% of these activities were not available in mid-June when we went. Surely, the manager would do their research?
A lot of families there were very disappointed and a lot of complaints were made unfortunately. It's a shame to those there who worked so hard to make sure we had a comfortable stay...
I would recommend going to Morzine, it is just so amazing but maybe not with that tour operator! For your peace of mind.
Enjoy if you do go!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SairaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    45
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Renardiere in the penultimate week of August. Having been concerned about noise and guest profile from previous reviews the Alpine Elements booking staff (Sarah) was reassuring and our concerns proved to be unfounded on arrival. We did though get the best deal of the week I think. We had the two bedroom apartment and got a fab deal of 100 euro bar tab per person. This effectively turned our holiday into being all inclusive as we either ate in the hotel at lunchtimes or took their packed lunches. The communal seating area of the hotel were a bit tired but the restaurant area, pool and hot tub were fine. The meals were great for us, there was a children's meal and proper vegetarian alternative every evening. While we are not really into organised holiday entertainment we found that the mix of guests (all families with either 5 - 10 year olds or teenagers) worked really well. We enjoyed sitting down to dinner in the evening and the evening activities laid on by the staff we well received by guests. While we did not make the most of the mountain bikes included in the detail we made full use of the Morzine pass with access to pools, cable cars/ski lifts and the brilliant white water rafting. We will definitely return, next year when our youngest is eight and old enough to white water raft!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Rachel H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review following your holiday and I am glad that I was able to reassure you prior to your departure as the Renardiere is a great property in a wonderful location.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy the 100 euro bar vouchers and we are currently offering these for selected properties next year.

All of our properties are inspected at the end of each season and any furniture that needs replacing is arranged in time for the next season and we do hope to see you again next year!

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed the last week of August with Alpine elements, We enjoyed the activities on offer and most of the guests were a friendly happy bunch so we all got on fine, My only criticism would be the room we were allocated. We booked very early and asked for advice on the room to choose for three. What a waste of time that was - we ended up in a double with an extra bed - very cramped. I was irritated as fellow guests got proper triples for the same price! Apart from that I have no criticism of the hotel or the staff taking into account the price of the holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a room over the garden, not the wooded hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charles092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear charles092,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the room you booked. I can see from your booking that the lead booker booked online and chose the room that you stayed in which was a triple, room number 6. The majority of our triples are the same size, contain three single beds and a floor plan can be found on our website and in our brochure.

We always recommend that if guests are unhappy with the room they have booked or have particular room requirements that these are discussed with our sales team as we may have other rooms available that we could move you to for your stay however rooms do book up quite quickly but as you booked very early then this would have been possible prior to departure.

All of our staff in resort are on hand to help with anything our guests may need and can also look to change your room once you have arrived in resort if you are unable to contact us before your departure.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the activities in resort and that your holiday with Alpine Elements was great. I would be interested in knowing your thoughts regarding the hotel and invite you to contact me directly.

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
sarah@alpineelements.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two week family holiday in Morzine.
It is an incredible resort and we very much enjoyed both walking and cycling as well as the white-water rafting and the high ropes at one of the adventure parks in the resort.
I would agree with a previous poster that it is essential to buy a proper map if you are going to explore by bike or on foot. Also be aware or take advise regarding the technical difficulty of some of the cycling.
La Renardiere was a pleasure to stay in, well located and with beautiful views. The rooms are fairly basic for some tastes but prefect for the sort of holiday where you are out all day and want somewhere comfortable, clean and cosy to lay your head.
What really makes La Renardiere is the atmosphere and that was generated by some outstanding young staff.
During the time we were there two different chefs served incredible evening meals, of a standard you'd probably struggle to find in an restaurant in the town.
The "front of house" staff were generally excellent, they were hard working and made us welcome from day one. Always busy but never too busy to smile.
Jas and Alex deserve a mention for their friendly service as does James who is great with the kids as well. Emma the kids club rep has a rare gift with children of appearing relaxed while remaining in complete control and provided the environment for our 10 year old son to make some great friendships. Millie, the bar manager was thoroughly professional, while making us all feel relaxed and very welcome and ran a fun and informative wine and cheese tasting evening.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Chris B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your two week holiday at the Renardiere and that you made the most out of the activities on offer.

We do provide a map of the area for all of our guests but it is advised to purchase a more detailed one for more experienced walkers and bikers.

It is great to hear that you found our staff friendly and hardworking and that the chefs provided great food for your stay. We have passed your feedback on to the team in resort and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week with my husband and two children and we had a fantastic holiday with Alpine Elements, which proved excellent value for money. The hotel is very cosy and in a fantastic location - only ten minutes walk from the centre of Morzine and the main chairlifts. The staff absolutely made our holiday - they were fantastic with the kids and even made my son a birthday cake at very little notice and for no extra cost. The staff were also very knowledgeable about the resort, pointing out child friendly bike routes and had plenty of ideas for us on the one rainy day we had when biking was a no-go. The food was excellent: breakfast, afternoon tea and a three course meal were provided everyday apart from Wednesday as part of our package and the lunch menu proved considerably cheaper and just as good as the cafes in the centre of town. Our reservations from previous reviews about sleep quality before we went were proved unfounded - our rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable and the squeaky door problem had clearly been dealt with before our arrival as we all slept very well. Overall we had a lovely holiday and I'd like to thank all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Sarah H,

Thank you for leaving a review following your family holiday with Alpine Elements. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and it is lovely to hear that our staff made a birthday cake for your son!

We are sorry to hear that you had a rainy day during your holiday however we are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy alternative activities.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our hard working staff and w have passed your comments onto the team.

We hope to see your family again in the future.

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

abm_traveller_123 review was spot on and well written. In addition to his comments - Due to the noise (rowdiness, squeaking and banging doors), every night I had to wait until everyone had gone to bed to get to sleep. Usually 12.00 a.m. the last night, it was 2.30 a.m. and then we had to contend with early departures. Disgusting language in the dining and lounge areas were not contested by the staff, neither was the guy who came down to the dining room in the morning wearing just underpants. Our holiday was ruined by this and everything else abm_traveller_123 noted. Definitely not a family hotel and follow the information provided by staff at your peril. Activity rep clueless. Not a walkers paradise, some lifts you could not go up unless you had a bike, some lifts you could go up but not back down, many lifts you could not reach without a bike. This "Hotel" was one up from a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walker782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
We are very sorry to see that you were disappointed with your recent holiday with Alpine Elements.

I don't seem to have received anything directly from you and I would really appreciate the opportunity to respond in form and try to rectify any problems that you experienced.

It upsets me to hear that you were disturbed on your holiday by a group of rowdy guests, a manager was called to the hotel to deal with the guests but we can only apologise if this affected your stay. We do provide an out of hours telephone number so that all of our guests can reach a member of staff should there be any problems. This was an isolated case and we do not tolerate this kind of behaviour from any of our guests.

I would really appreciate it if you would get in touch with me.

Please find my contact details below:
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
sarah@alpineelements.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Definitely book the weeks when you get the free activities pass. You get 3 days bike hire, however you don't get to choose when you use the bikes and you have to use the bikes on consecutive days, for example I had to use the bikes for the first 3 days, maybe not such a problem, you’re definitely fitter by the third day! but I think I would have preferred to have spread the cycling over the week. The free maps of the area to be found in the hotel, might look reasonable but are in fact a nightmare to follow, navigating the biking and hiking routes will leave you frustrated guaranteed! Saw lots of other hikers at signposts with names not to be found on the maps, probably a school boy error but should have gone to the tourist info centre; there you can buy a detailed map for about 6 euros, a good investment for sure. As for the hotel the other reviews describe it pretty well, pretty basic but O.K. for the money, the staff are really friendly, the food is good and filling. Last words to reiterate, if you plan to hike/bike around the very beautiful countryside PLEASE BUY YOURSELF A MAP! save yourself some time and frustration.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Graham K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you were able to make use of the active pass. We have to allocate the bikes for certain days so that all of our guests are able to make use of the bikes that we have in resort and we are sorry if you were disappointed with the days you were allocated.

We do provide a map for all of our guests however we do recommend that guests who are experienced walkers or bikers do purchase a more detailed map in order to explore the whole area.

We are glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed the food that was served.

We hope to see you again next year.

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermine Blanche
Hotel Hermine Blanche
#30 of 50 in Morzine
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#27 of 50 in Morzine
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#13 of 50 in Morzine
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.8 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere

Property: Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere
Address: Route de Combe a Zore, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Morzine
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing