We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorified sports bar”
Review of Hotel Les Rhodos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Les Rhodos
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glorified sports bar”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

From the start the word "hotel" is a misnomer. This is a sports bar with rooms. Have stayed in better appointed youth hostels . It is being used as a hotel as there obviously is a captive market using it for weekend breaks . You can't enjoy the meals due to the eating area not being separate from the bar which is noisy especially during rugby matches .. advise. Only stay if can't get anywhere else .. rooms postage stamp sized and you can barely stand up in the bathroom .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isobelsRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    66
    15
    18
    31
See reviews for
35
32
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Recently visited Morzine and had a lovely time, apart from the snow being perfect we Enjoyed staying at the hotel, it was dead central which we were not expecting considering the price. We got a transfer with the Morzine shuttle - think its run by the same company, it was prompt and efficient and they did not charge us extra for the skis.

In all if your looking for a Morzine bolt hole from which you have good access to both sides of Morzine and are partial to a few beers in the evening this place is good.

Room Tip: They all looked about the same, think the 2nd floor is best as gets you away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We first visited Hotel Les Rhodos last year and had a good meal there. This year, however, things have changed and not for the better. We asked the previous night as to whether we should book a table and were told no, as long as we arrived after 7.30pm. We therefore arrived at 8pm to be told that all that was available was pizza or burgers! Not put off by this we ordered three different burgers which on arrival only one of which was edible. The veggie burger was nothing more than a vegetable paste and the mexican burger was raw! We sent them both back and their replacements were only marginally better. The veggie burger seems to be only paste.
After complaining to the management we weretold there was nothing they could do, although they didn't charge for one of the burgers. All in all I found it a very poor dining experience and sthe staff were not willing to try and improve this

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morzine hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I definitely wouldn't recommend hiring your skis/boots through Morzinelets. The shop is out of town and closed during the day, not good if you arrive mid day and want to ski in the afternoon. There are loads of great places near the lift where you can store stuff overnight too.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole0762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I've just returned from a five day break in Morzine snowboarding and stayed at the Rhodos with a medium sized group of friends, I'll break this down into the following:-

Good points

The staff were very friendly and were always on hand with help and any assistance we required
The rooms were clean and modern, plus they seemed fairly new
The evening meals were included within our trip and on the whole were very good
Bar was relaxed but lively with plenty of seats for the football and rugby that was being shown
Plenty of drink available
Good bar food - pizza, burgers, pies etc

The bad points

Some of our group were flying back in the afternoon so could get 1/2 day on the slopes but checkout was at 10am with no facility to store their clothes or ski equipment
The rooms although cleaned daily, in reality this was hit and miss, rooms were not cleaned until 4pm onwards, the floors were not cleaned each day, the bedding and towels were not replaced within the 5 days we were there
The breakfasts were very limited and basic, no hot food, fruit, yoghurt, meats, cheese etc just cereal, bread, pastries, butter, jam, tea, coffee, juice
I mentioned above the evening meals were good but some weren't so good, one desert consisted of what I can only describe as a polystyrene block drizzled in caramel sauce floating on single cream!
The boot/board/ski locker wasn't a boot/board/ski locker, it was outside with only a flimsy ill fitting door to prevent your ski gear from being stolen, the room was tiny with no racks, lockers, boot or glove driers or any seating, you had to put your boots on outside standing up in the cold (signs in the hotel strictly forbidding any ski equipment in your rooms)
Our room was big enough for 5 people (I think it was designed for 4) but had ample space, others had twin rooms where there was limited space to walk around the beds and also small bathrooms
As this is also a bar you can hear the music and people downstairs if you are in bed trying to get some sleep
We heard several fights outside during our stay, typical Brits and beer not the hotels fault by any means but location could be an issue

In summary

Plenty of this to shout about and be positive about the Rhodos, but also plenty that could be improved upon, I'd probably return if I couldn't find something better.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Okay, lets start with the + points. Check-In very good, informative & polite. The rooms are new in decoration and have a modern look (not traditional). TV, Shower gel/shampoo etc., towels in the room on arrival & plenty of hot water.! The food was excellent in quality & the service faultless. A great bar with a cool atmosphere, free WiFi and Mutzig on draught + SKY sports if its your bag.?
For Snowsporters (if that's a word?), there is a warm outhouse for boots/skis/boards etc. with access 24/7 on a coded lock system that seems to work pretty well. Now for the negatives, Rooms..No remote control, petty I guess but frustrating all the same. No TCMF in the rooms (tea and coffee making facilities). Towels not changed all week even when left in the bottom of the shower, we resorted to raiding the linen cupboards situated on each floor (top tip!). Poor cleanliness in the rooms throughout the stay, a room service seems to be simply making the beds, nothing more nothing less. Shower gel/shampoo not replemished thoughout the stay, not a biggy but it really wouldn't hurt. We had room No. 9 (a cheap one), this was very small as expected and have no issue with that but beware when booking, remember, you get what you pay for! There was a large burn on the wardrobe - not sure how this had happened but just leaving it is not acceptable. No heated handrails in the rooms - a must for a Winter Ski trip. Small Bedrooms have storage issues by definition so more coat hangers would have been helpful. The location is good but not Great as some reviewers have insisted, the bus is the best option from outside the hotel to either Gondola OR even to head out to Avoriaz (Bus 'A' to Avoriaz or 'U' to Super Morzine, all buses apart from 'A' seem to head to the Morzine/Les Gets area). Dixies bar next door is a fine venue for late night entertainment but has it's drawbacks when an early night is needed after a full days ski, please consider this as we had a couple of difficult sleeps. The food was very good in quality but not so fabulous in choice, Breakfast was the biggest issue for us as bread/Croissant/Butter/Jam/Pain Au Choc/Cereal/Juice/Tea/Coffee on offer is quite simply not a good enough selection. All it would have taken would have been some boiled eggs, ham, cheese (this is France you know!) and a few pots of yoghurt to keep all residents happy. Dinner was also very good in quailty but no choices other than 1 starter, 1 main, 1 pud. Moan over and having said all that we would go back. We booked our stay via Morzinelets to include Transfer (GVA) and ski pass, this worked incredibly well with no hicups at any stage..a very slick operation, well done to all involved.

Room Tip: Room 9 is very small but fine all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We booked this hotel as a base for skiing and it did not disappoint. The rooms were excellent having recently been refurbished throughout and we could not fault the quality of the evening meal.
I would expect tea/coffee making facilities in the room but these are not available.
The staff were very helpful.
Checkout is at a relatively early 10am. We had an evening flight on the departure day and wanted to ski all day. At first we were told there was no facility for storing our bags. Fortunately we were able to get around this because we checked out on a Sunday and the hotel office is not used. I would not book here again if I knew bag storage may be a problem, so check if you need this facility.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#29 of 50 in Morzine
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#14 of 50 in Morzine
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Rhodos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Rhodos

Property: Hotel Les Rhodos
Address: 18 Rue du Bourg, 74110, Morzine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Rhodos 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rhodos Hotel is open all year round and offers great accommodation with a choice of 19 en-suite bedrooms including doubles, twins, triples,and a five person room. The Hotel has free Wifi access, it is close to restaurants, bars, shops and local amenities and what's more, it has it's own lively bar, with great Apres, showing all major sporting events and has a great restaurant. Excellently located in the centre of Morzine, just off the main square by the Mairie (Town Hall). It's in easy walking distance of the ski lifts with a free shuttle bus stop right outside the front door, with buses to Avoriaz, Ardent and the Pleney, giving you brilliant access to all the pistes. When the sun is shining you can enjoy the south facing terrace and take in the stunning views over the town square and across the valley to the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Les Rhodos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing