We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish chalet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of GourmetSki

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
GourmetSki
Ranked #108 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stylish chalet”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great chalet with spacious bedrooms fitted to a high standard. All the food and wine was excellent, the hosts Richard & Fiona were very pleasant, transfers all easy with no hassle and the hottub fitted 8 of us after a long day skiing. Would recommend to others!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our second trip to Morzine staying with Richard and Fiona - and once again absolutely superb!!

From the swift airport transfers with the ski equipment awaiting our arrival, through to canapes at the end of a day on the slopes, this place is faultless. These extra touches really put Gourmet Ski above and beyond anywhere else we've stayed. High quality luxurous chalets - love love love it!

Thank you again - we'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in Chalet Gourmet in Morzine over the new year, and were a party with 11 adults and 5 children (aged 8 - 12). The 6 bedroom chalet worked very well for our group, as all the rooms were a good size, and two were specifically dedicated as family rooms, with alcoves in the eves in which children's beds were fitted. These proved to be perfect "dens" for the kids. The chalet was beautifully fitted out, with the original barn beams, and double-height ceilings in the main lounge which made it feel light and airy. There is a small second lounge / playroom in the basement which proved popular with the kids while the adults were eating dinner. All the bedrooms were characterful and spacious, while the fittings were excellent quality, with lots of quirky details. The hot tub deserves a special mention, and was well used.

The food was impressive. We eat incredibly well (as did the children in a separate early supper), and our hosts coped brilliantly and consistently with all the food allergies and foibles of our party. The wine was plentiful and of good quality, and there was an honesty bar for other drinks.

The chalet is owned and run by a couple - Richard and Fiona. Both were responsive, friendly and helpful. Richard is a fabulous cook, but he is also a charming and gracious host. He engaged with us (and our children) so well, that he felt like part of the family. Indeed, if we could have bottled him and brought him home, we would have done!

The only downside is the remote location, as we had to rely on Richard, Fiona and the team to give us lifts everywhere. They never seemed to mind, but we did feel guilty at constantly calling to ask them to collect us from the slopes, the town or the swimming pool. We tried to use the local bus system, and on the third attempt made that work. My advice would be to ask one of the team for very precise instructions about the public buses before trying to use them!!

Overall, we went to Chalet Gourmet with very high expectations. These expectations were met in terms of the chalet and the food, and more than met in term of the quality of service we received. We cannot praise Richard and his team highly enough.

Room Tip: The family rooms are up in the eves and are therefore very characterful. The other four rooms are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic week of skiing staying in Chalet Gourmet. We had booked out the whole chalet, which is an absolutely beautiful chalet! Richard and Fiona could not have been better hosts, they looked after us beautifully and we had the most amazing meals every single night including cheese boards which had been locally sourced by Richard. Louise who was the chalet host was brilliant and made sure we got to the slopes nice and early so we missed the morning rush.
I could not recommend Gourmet Ski highly enough to do it justice.

Thank you for a brilliant week!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaLambert, Owner at GourmetSki, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We are thrilled you had such a lovely Christmas at GourmetSki and for some of your party their 2nd Christmas at GourmetSki. Do stay in touch and we hope to see you out here in lovely Montriond again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Visited with my young son in November and had a great time. The chalet and rooms were brilliantly finished. It was very child friendly, and the bunks and cabin beds in the windows provided much fun and games. And when it was time, I felt very happy leaving him tucked up in bed and having a beer in the front of the log burner in the lounge area with the other guests. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kit E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

This is the third time I've been to Gourmetski but the first time I've been out of season.. It's beautiful and I'd highly recommend it. 13 of us went on a girls trip and had a blast. Fiona and Richard are fabulous hosts, the food is always fantastic and there's so much to do. The scenery is simply stunning. Thanks for another fabulous visit guys!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was a girls relaxing weekend away - and lived up to all expectations. Fiona's hospitality was 24/7 and Richard catered for all quirks in our parties eating! The food, wine and ambiance was lovely. Unfortunately the photos do not do this chalet justice as it has been completed to a very high standard and everything has been thought of! We went on amazing walks and both Fiona and Richard were extremely helpful with outlining walks and their time/difficulty. The hot tub and sauna eased the limbs after some breathtaking walks. A definite return in the winter - although seeing the late spring emerge on our walks was breathtaking. Thanks for making this a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentTully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet du Chene
Chalet du Chene
#27 of 48 in Morzine
4 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#27 of 50 in Morzine
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
4.5 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
731 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#40 of 50 in Morzine
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GourmetSki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GourmetSki

Property: GourmetSki
Address: 154 Chemin des Plagnettes, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet du Chene is a beautiful oak framed chalet situated on a sunny plateau 20 minutes walk from Morzine centre (or a 3 minute drive). It has 5 beautiful en-suite rooms, including 2 family suites, a fantastic living room with a separate games room, massage suite and bar area. We serve 5 course gourmet meals each night (except Wednesday) along with a daily breakfast and afternoon tea. Open as a fully serviced and catered ski chalet in the winter and catered, self catered or b&b for the rest of the year. Positioned close to slopes and Morzine, free chauffeur service, to Pleney and Super Morzine (3 minutes drive and theres a free bus too). Hot-tub with fabulous mountain views, and off road parking. Enjoy the beauty of the French Alps in style at Chalet du Chene. Open all year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing