We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Morzine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great base for Morzine”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days in late March for a short skiing trip. It's difficult to find a hotel in Morzine that let's you stay on a room-only or B&B basis rather than half-board, and especially one that you can book on the internet, so I was glad to find this as we like to eat out in the restuarants in Morzine rather than eat at the same place each evening.

The hotel is about 5mins stroll from the centre of Morzine and super morzine lift and 10mins to the Pleney lift. It's too far in ski boots or with ski gear but not a problem as we rented our gear from intersport near the pleney lift and left our shoes there while we went skiing.

The room we had was really big with balcony and kitchen area. We didn't cook anyway but the fridge was useful for wine and snacks! The bathroom is a bit dated but very clean. My only negative about the room is that the bath has a shower attachment but no actual hook on the wall to put it on - a bit annoying if you prefer showers to baths but not a huge problem. They brought breakfast to our room each day which was coffee, pastries and bread and on all days we had enough bread left to leave in the fridge each day for our lunch.

The customer service from the staff is excellent. As the reviews below say, they don't speak fluent English but the lady speaks enough to cover the basics to get you checked in and out etc and goes out of her way to help you and speaks as much English as she can. When we needed something else (e.g. we needed to know the code for the safe) then we just googled the phrase for it on the ipad and went and asked her!

On the last day we wanted to leave our luggage somewhere whilst we spent the day skiing as we weren't leaving morzine for our flight home until 6ish, and the hotel let us leave our luggage in the snooker room.

All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Member1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLesCotes, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
We are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant time for you! We work every day to give to our guest full satisfaction! We take in account comments and try to improve. We thank you for this very nice review and hope to welcome you soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    67
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
122
90
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I spent a week there, 3rd week in March 12.
Very comfortable, very welcoming, family run hotel.
The lady is really nice.

I note comments below about their English language skills.

I'm not sure how much English they speak, since I'm a fluent French speaker, but hey? Isn't having fun with the local language, supposed to be part of going on holiday to a foreign country?
For those who find this a problem, I suggest you have a think about how foreign tourists to the UK get on, if they have no, or little, English.
What they're chances are of finding hotel staff, bus drivers, even tourist information staff in provincial towns, that can speak anything apart from English.
Think about it.

The pool and jacuzzi are great after a days hard skiing.
Breakfast brought to your room. OK, the usual continental breakfast. If you want bacon and eggs, holiday in the UK/US.

We had one of the little apartments that has cooking facilities, thought we never used them. It did however mean we had a nice big fridge for the white wine, and beer!
We also had a balcony which was lovely. If I went again, I'd try and get a room with a south facing balcony. We were facing roughly East, so lost the sun at 3 pm.

It's a 10 minute to town, or the shuttle stops at the door, though note the last shuttle leaves Pleney, for its’ round of the town, at 8 pm, so one has to walk back in the evening. The steep hill referred to by some people can be avoided by take the Passerelle (Suspension Bridge) back from town.
All in all a great place, that I will return to.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing south, to gte the sun late afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLesCotes, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
We are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant time for you! We work every day to give to our guest full satisfaction! We take in account comments and try to improve. We thank you for this very nice review and hope to welcome you soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here during ski season and had a great time.

We had a superior room on b&b, and the room had a nice balcony with good views, a good kitchenette and a clean and well-working bathroom. The bed/pillows were a little uncomfortable (too soft for me) but thats subjective. Small touches like the free safe, free wifi, sky news etc made our stay very pleasant. The hotel was generally very quiet even though it was full, and it was nice to have jacuzzi/sauna/pool facilities available.

The breakfast is brought to the room each day which was very civilised. this consisted of a tray with crusty bread and 2 choices of croissants, plus jam, butter, good coffee and warm milk.

Location-wise its around a 5 minute walk into town/the supermarket, although the free shuttle stops directly outside of the hotel if you are feeling lazy. Its about 10 minutes stroll to the Pleney or the Super Morzine bubble. The walk back to the hotel from town is uphill so beware if you are planning to carry your ski gear back and forth! its best to rent a locker at one of the shops closer to the lifts.

One point to be mindful of is that this is a family run place and none of the staff speak fluent english. This was not a problem for us as i speak reasonable french, but i imagine visitors with no french at all might have some difficulty making themselves understood. take a phrasebook and im sure it will not be a problem.

All in all, a lovely hotel away from the hustle and bustle of town while still being convenient for all that Morzine has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BecR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLesCotes, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
We are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant time for you! We work every day to give to our guest full satisfaction! We take in account comments and try to improve. We thank you for this review and hope to welcome you soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here on the first week f the season. After driving from Calais over night we arrived and was able to go straight to our room. Our 3 year old looked forward to using the bunk bed under strict instruction not to climb the ladder! Our 7month baby was able to use our own travel cot in the room - there was plenty of room for this.
The swimming pool was ideal for our two but a bit too cold for the baby after the first day.
The owners and staff were all very friendly - very little English was spoken but I liked this...it made me try to remember my old school French!
I suppose the only complaint is my the 5th day we were a little bored with the bread and croissants for breakfast, but if I were to stay here again (which we hopefully will) I would bring more food and make more use of the kitchen facilities within the room i.e tea bags, cereals and other quick easy to make food stuff. There is a restaurant in the hotel which we used twice but for our young children the service started too late(7.30pm) but the food itself was of good quality.
The hotel is a ten minute walk to the super Morzine cable car but if you want to use Le Pleney lift then there is a train to get you there. (we hired boots etc from Intersport next to the SM to avoid lugging skis back, but there is a garage to store equipment if needed.
Parking is in bays opposite the hotel.
We used a nanny for the children during the day which the hotel was most accommodating. There is a small play area too.
In short, a real gem, relatively good price

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JC977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLesCotes, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
We are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant time for you! We work every day to give to our guest full satisfaction! We take in account comments and try to improve. We thank you for this very nice review and hope to welcome you soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I came across this hotel on a google search for Morzine. I usually always use Tripadvisor but didn't on this occassion. This hotel does not do itself justice on its website. Its really amazing. Facilities are fabulous. Swimming pool area, Jacuzzi. I don't think they have many English people staying as they are not able to communicate with much English at all, however they were SO pleasant. Lovely family. Brought breakfast to our room daily, fresh rolls, croissants. Their son took us into town at the drop of a hat. The accomodation is located opp the Pleney lift. You could walk, but we had a car and parked in the underground car park for skiing daily for a cheap price. Very clean. We had a suite for 5 people and it was faultless. Cheap for ski resort hotel. Would 100% recommend. You would not be disappointed. :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeepyLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLesCotes, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
We are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant time for you! We work every day to give to our guest full satisfaction! We take in account comments and try to improve. We thank you for this very nice review and hope to welcome you soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Club Le Cret
Hotel Club Le Cret
#5 of 50 in Morzine
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#6 of 50 in Morzine
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#24 of 50 in Morzine
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets

Property: Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Address: 265 Chemin de la Salle, 74110, Morzine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Cotes combines the appartment independance and the hotel comfort, a little pinch of charm and it's the perfect holiday. Enjoy all the activities of the hotel for free : Indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, UVA, Tennis court, Game room and Fitness. YOU decide : an Hotel room or an Appartment ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing