We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great breakfast.”
Review of Hotel l'Ours Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel l'Ours Blanc
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value, great breakfast.”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We booked this as a last minute cheap hotel on the resort. The room was quite basic but well heated. Breakfast had lovely fresh baguette and croissants delivered to your table and then the cereal, boiled eggs, cake, cheese and ham were self service as much as you want. We wanted to ski the Morzine/Les Gets area so the Pleney lift (super fast no queues even at opening time) is on the other side of town. Takes 15 mins to walk in normal shoes. We rented skis right next to the lift so left boots there over night. Good variety of runs in Morzine and the food in the restaurants is out of this world! Average main meal in town is around €20 but worth it. Had a great holiday would come again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Initially, after having read some reviews was a little concerned about the distance to the ski lifts. I would admit that for those in ski boots a top tip would be to rent lockers in the town but , as snowboarders, it was so no problem whatsoever (plus it is flat). Very obviously a very (friendly)family run affair with three generations making an appearance. Such a refreshing change to experience proper (Savoyard?) French cooking rather than the more international fare offered in chalets. Admittedly it may be not to the taste of more cautious palates. Equally un- chalet like was the space we had in our room (including the ensuite). All this at a very reasonable price. Was looking to return this year but saw that it was booked.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Outside the village but not a problem - an easy walk to the lifts.

Clean, large room with new fixtures and fittings. Didn't try the food here, mainly because we were out early and ate in town.

Nicer than most budget ski hotels I've stayed in!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likesgoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed in the hotel only a couple of nights but it was enough to feel utterly amazed by the region and the hotel. We stayed in a nice, well-furnished and spacious room in the style of the region with a magnificent view over the valley. The owners are dynamic and driven to make their hotel a success. Only point of attention: parking space. Parking space is limited when the hotel is fully booked resulting in cars parking behind each other, sometimes blocking each other.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy_dw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

L'Ours Blanc is a nice hotel located in an amazing mountainous region offering great opportunities for mountainbiking, hiking and enjoyable walks in the nature. The cozy rooms come with small balconies providing a great view and you will also find wifi available in the rooms.
Special thanks go to the hotel staff, who just left the keys on the reception desk for late night check in after our reservation by phone the same afternoon, and who made the rooms available for late check out the next afternoon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juergen_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Just returned form a long weekend here and was really impressed.
A family run hotel about 10 minutes walk from the Avoriaz cable car and Morzine town. The Morzine cable car is about 15 mins walk. However most of the ski rental shops have areas where you can leave your boots etc at the end of the day.
Hotel l'ours Blanc is, as most people have said, a really nice, clean hotel, that could do with a bit of soundproofing and the rooms need a bit of decoration and modernising, but, the evening meals were fantastic and the breakfast was a "continental" version, fresh and sufficient to get you going in the morning. The couple that run it were very friendly and helpful.
For a long weekend (5 nights) and it was perfect!
The hotel was about to close for a couple of months for re-decs before re-opening in June for the summer.
Morzine is a fantastic ski area, where you can ski Avoriaz and over to Champery in one direction and Morzine/Les Gets the other way. Also, it is just over an hour from Geneva airport.

Room Tip: It's about 10 mins walk out of town so is in a quiet area. However, the room noise depends on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I booked last minute via booking.com for the busy March ski period and this was one of the few places that didn't require you to book for a full 7days. I was a little nervous as it was a 2star hotel but was pleasantly surprised with the experience. Its a lovely wooden structure,which makes you feel like you are in a chalet and its run by the most lovely French family who do a stellar job of helping you out. They are always friendly and approachable and when we had to figure out how to get from Morzine to Annecy, they helped us figure it out and also dropped us off at the bus station personally. They cook lovely dinners and obiviously love the food they serve and the dining room has a lovely view of the mountains over breakfast.

The rooms are clean and the decor is quaint and slightly dated but charming nonetheless. The rooms and bathrooms are small and yes being a wooden structure the walls are thin. There are no elevators so be sure you can carry your luggage up the stairs. The walk to the Supermorzine ski lift and town is only about 10minutes and the great thing is you can leave your gear at the ski store (Huberts) affiliated with the hotel which is around the corner from the ski lift. They of course also have a ski room for gear at the hotel.

I was super pleased with my experience at this lovely little gem of hotel and would not hesistate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Bruyeres
Hotel Les Bruyeres
#20 of 50 in Morzine
104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#13 of 50 in Morzine
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#28 of 50 in Morzine
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#45 of 50 in Morzine
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Ours Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ours Blanc

Property: Hotel l'Ours Blanc
Address: Route Bois Venants, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Ours Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel l'Ours Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing