We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza”

Restaurant la Chamade
Ranked #14 of 164 Restaurants in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had a truly incredible pizza (Savoyarde) after a long day boarding in Avoriaz. Hands down the best pizza I have ever had. Wasn't the cheapest, but would happily pay the same price again. Service wasn't the fastest, but they were very busy at the time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craigmire69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    170
    72
    61
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Looks aren't everything...”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The building looks fantastic and as does the food however... The service from the owner and waiters was some of the worse service I have ever had. I have eating here several times with guests and the last time with my boyfriend, as keep wanting to give it another chance, given up now. The last time I went, they took about half an hour to ask if we would like anything to drink, served raw fish that then took 20minutes to return cooked, thus my boyfriends food was nearly finished. We asked to see a dessert menu and failed to order anything as this took another half hour for them to come back to the table. We asked for the bill and it failed to arrive so went to the till to pay and the owner didn't even look us in the eyes or say good evening or thank you. Overall you expect great things from this place and it could be amazing, which makes it even more disappointing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tries to hard?”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This restaurant should be very good. It had a great feel to it and attentive, friendly staff. The problem is the food. It's certainly not bad, it just needs some thought as to what goes on the plate and in what quantities. There were so many different things it became over-powering. I have to say the quality is fine (excepting the profiteroles! I couldn't find the pastry - it was all cream, ice cream and gloop!)
Don't dismiss it. Just be aware that you will get a lot for your money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you want something different in Morzine”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have been visiting Morzine for the last 15 years now and I can say that I have eaten in almost every restaurant there. In general the food is good in each one of them but at the end of the day they are all the same and do not leave any lasting impression.

The only exception is La Chamade. This restaurant is not the typical restaurant of the skiing resorts and can easily compete with any of the gourmet restaurants in any big european city.

A modern ambience, an excellent service, imaginative dishes full of flavors and aromas that reflect the freshness of the local ingredients and products, presented in a sophisticated way are some of the elements that represent the restaurant´s philosophy of good eating and the chef´s passion for cooking.

It is an expensive restaurant especially if you choose one of the excellent wines that are included in their extensive wine list.

A must for a special holiday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aragon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Over priced food served by miserable people.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is the only restaurant in Morzine that we found that did not seem to be aimed at either family dining or stag/hen/loud groups.

The result, the entire staff from greeter, through waiter and servers were all miserable and clearly did not want to be there or serving people.

The food, OK, but arranging it like something from Tate Modern does nit make it taste better.

Probably the worst onion soup in France...

1 euro tip...

Walk across the road and eat at Le Grillon... So much better

The only real positive here... you won't have a problem getting a table...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellinBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant la Chamade also viewed

Morzine, Haute-Savoie
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Restaurant la Chamade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing