We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for us and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Location was convenient for us as we wanted to be in Villerbanne area. There is good access by metro, tram and bus. Rooms were clean and comfortable but rather small. Service at reception was generally good. Only issue was that we were misinformed as to time of breakfast on the second day and almost missed it. Overall, the hotel represents good value provided you do not mind being away from the centre of town (but only 10 mins on the metro).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NossDaChoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear customers,

I thank you for your comment interesting on our establishment and I take rating of the point at once of the meal where there is an incomprehension with the guide of the group.
In the pleasure to receive you again in our beautiful City of Lyon.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was a stopover hotel and we were made welcome from the start. At first the bar service was very slow. When we later discovered that the bar waiter was also the restaurant waiter and chef the delay was understandable. There were only two staff on duty and this chap filled all these roles with a smile on his face.
Good clean rooms with a nice bathroom.
The only downside was the noise out in the street. But that can't be held against the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeyd46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear customers,

Thank you for your comment on your stay and on the compliments on my waiter who very well filled his role according to the activity.
We renewed our bathrooms this summer and I can read in your comment that it pleased you, we are very satisfied with it.
It is with a big pleasure that I wish to welcome you again in our establishment, I remain at your disposal for this next booking.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed one night on way back from Italy. One member of staff appeared to do everything and boy did he do well. He served dinner (which I think he also prepared) served drinks,both in the dining room and the bar and generally looked after a group of 30 extremely well. The rooms are a little dull and I am not that keen on carpet on the floors but they were adequate. The selection for breakfast was superb with the highlight being a perfectly rip and runny Brie with dried fruit. The Bain Marie for hot food was left tantalisingly empty but there were enough alternatives. For a city centre hotel located next to a hospital and student halls of residence we had a really peaceful night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieAnne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear customers,

It is with the big pleasure that we note your comments on the stay which you spent in our establishment because the quality is important for us.
I have very kind and very helpful employees and I thank you for having noted it in your comments. I take well note of the other points for ever to improve us in the quality.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The price was right and its located right next to a metro station. Unfortuantely the room was not clean at all (condom underneath the bed and hairs in bathroom) and the bed was broken. Second room was fine though pretty noisy, breakfast surprisingly good.

Room Tip: Get quiet room not facing the crossroads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xxx N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear customer,

We thank you for your comment on your stay because the quality of service is a subject very important for me.
I am surprised reading your comment on the cleanliness of the family room while we always make a double check that it is a family room because there are children and to avoid the objects which you note. We apologize for the points which did not satisfy you completely.
If you return on Lyon soon, I invite you to contact me so that I take care personally of your booking.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel is in line with it's rating. Your typical Mercure

It is slightly outdated but still adequate. The staff is nice and the location facing Charpennes subway station and tram stop makes it convenient.

The location is in the neighbouring city of Villeurbannes, but you can walk to the center area in 20-25 minutes or hop on the subway for 3-4 stops and voila.

Room Tip: The last room at the end of the corridor has a big terrace with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixiematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear customer,
I follow upon your stay spent in our establishment and thank you for having made us share your remarks on the arisen problems because effectively the quality of service and the satisfaction is a priority for me.
Having made the renovations in rooms, restaurant, breakfast room, lounges, we make this summer of the renovations in all our bathrooms to offer you always more comfort.
It is tramway rails at feet of our hotel which separates the city of Lyon with that of Villeurbanne that is why we are closer of the center of Lyon or of the center of the Station Part Dieu that of the center of Villeurbanne.
I remain at your disposal for your next stay and wish you a very good summer.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Just at the Charpennes Metro station
Comfortable bed, nice and practical bathroom...
Efficient night!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for your positive comment on our establishment.
You have effectively the opportunity to take advantage of our hotel situated on the Place Charpennes to visit Lyon or make you to your meeting by the public transportation, with the subway A and B, the Tramway T1 or the taxis, without using your car that you will have left in our undercover car park and closed of 80 places.
In the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Very guide location, right across from the metro. But the price is high, especially concerning the small rooms (that could use a renovation).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siemensstadtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear customer,
I thank you for your comment and we take note of the positive and negative points.
Further to the new classification of hotels in France, our hotel which possess that only rooms from 23 to 30 m2 was classified in 4-star category. The standard minimum for rooms in this category is of 16m2.
Our rates correspond to the rates of 4-star hotels on Lyon but I invite you to go on our web site Mercure or Accor where you can benefit from promotional rates if you know your dates of stay in advance.
We began last year a program of renovation of our rooms and this summer we are going to renew bathrooms. I hope to have soon the opportunity to show them to you.
Do not hesitate to contact me for your next stay where I shall have a big pleasure to welcome you and to help you in your booking.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeurbanne
Hotel des Congres
#1 of 6 in Villeurbanne
342 reviews
Jules Ferry - Récamier
Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles
#2 of 6 in Villeurbanne
246 reviews
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel

Address: 7 Place Charles Hernu, 69100 Villeurbanne, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Villeurbanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Price Range: £61 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
98 rooms located between La Part Dieu CBD and the Cité Internationale, Convention Centre and Lyon (5 min). A strategic hotel for your professional and cultural stays.Opposite subway. Restaurant & bar. Meeting facilities. Paying covered carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Lyon Charpennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing