We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, Dull area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Lyon Charpennes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Charpennes
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Dull area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The staff were particularly helpful when the coffee machine failed to work.
The hotel's location is very convenient for transport. Just across the street is a metro station which is two stops from the TGV. There is a tram stop right outside and numerous buses. We did find there were very few restaurants near by and I think it is in the business district so perhaps serves those clientele more that tourists like us. As this is a city famous for its great restaurants, you must use the metro to get a good choice of food.
Breakfast was included and was of a high standard with a buffet.
The hotel represents very good value but be prepared to travel to get some of that famous Lyon food.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with a big balcony but there was a lot of noise from the street. While t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEMerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear customers

We thank you for your comment where you inform us about your satisfaction concerning your stay in our establishment.
We have a restaurant with regional products, menus or choice of dishes "à la carte" which our Head Chef advise to our customers.
To take advantage of your stay in leisure in the city of Lyon, we recommend to our customers to leave their car in our closed and covered car park and to take advantage of all the transport in front of on the place Charpennes in front of the hotel. You have in particular the Subway "A " which brings you from the hotel to the center of Lyon or the Old Center of Lyon with all its restaurants special Lyon in 5 minutes.
The hotel is very well situated to visit all the places of Lyon, city classified in the heritage of Unesco, with these transport.
You are also that in 5 minutes on foot to take advantage of brasseries of the big Head Chef of Lyon on the place Brotteaux.
We remain at your disposal for your next stay in Lyon and in the pleasure to meet you.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    152
    78
    30
    5
See reviews for
50
77
45
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I use this hotel regularly on business and am never disappointed. The staff are friendly and the rooms are good and spacious. the hoels is also convenienly situated next to the Charpennes Metro Station so that getting to/from the railway stations and the town centre is easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank slavutich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear customer,

It is with the big pleasure that I read your laudatory comments on our establishment.

I announced these to my employees who join me to thank you.
I hope to have soon the opportunity to welcome you during your next stay.
I remain at your disposal for any piece of information,
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is a Mercure Hotel with Ibis standards (Ibis being good, but at the cheaper end of the Accor group). It is ideally placed very close to tram and metro stops, which allows easy access to the city centre and within walking distance of the Parc de Tete D'Or.
However, in common with other Accor hotels, the system only allows for either heating or air conditioning - we were there just after a cold spell and were unable to access air con when needed. We tried to sleep with the window open, but it was far too noisy (many of the rooms are overlooking the front street, where traffic is coming and going all night and it was very noisy.
The breakfast was a buffet (limited hot items) and was adequate - the bread was fresh - but was nothing out of the ordinary and not as good as we had been offered on a previous visit at the Ibis at Part Dieu.
The water to our room was cut off before breakfast on the last morning, although someone had phoned up from reception and advised us of the plans for this (in English). Don't know how long it stayed off, but we had to use water from the kettle to brush our teeth as it hadn't been restored before we left the room.
Room had a kettle and facitlities for hot drinks, hairdryer etc. Went to the bar for ice on Friday night, but it was in darkness and no staff around, so not sure what we would have done had we wanted to buy a drink there and relax in that area!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 2509Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear customers,

We thank you for your comment on your stay in our hotel and we take note of your positive and less positive reflexions.
We apologize for this cut of water, independent from our will, further to works made by the city of Lyon. The technicians cut the water inlet when they preferred it without that we know the hour and without requesting for the opinion of the storekeepers. The previous days they had prevented us, that is why we had also warned you so that you are not surprised and for your organization.
After check of your room, we notice that the air conditioning operates well on the other hand an advice of use would have been sensible can be. The window has to be very well closed so that the air conditioning operates perfectly what is logical and it is the purpose. It is also for it that our windows are thick, it is to soundproof very well the room otherwise I agree with you, the noise of the street can be very annoying especially in town.
As regards the breakfast buffet and after daily checks, we respect the presence and the arrangement of products requested by the group Mercure.
Further to your release in the city and to the Ice Bar, your comment can be important for reassuring the customers who wish to go on this place.
I remain at your disposal for your next stay by hoping to have the possibility to meet you and to demonstrate you that the quality of service and products which we deliver is an essential point for us and to explain you the use of equipments.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel while visiting our grandson who is studying at university in Lyon. It is very well positioned near Metro station. We flew from Edinburgh to Lyon and booked hotel through Easy jet
It was excellent value for money. We booked the basic bedroom which was small but perfect for our 4 nights with a very nice modern bathroom. Breakfast was very good with a well stocked buffet and friendly service. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear customers,

Thank you for your very positive comments on our hotel left during your last stay which correspond perfectly to our professionalism and to the quality of service which we are of use to the everyday life to our customers.
One thank you also to recommend our hotel to all other customers.
In the pleasure to welcome you during your next stay,
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Basic business hotel.Clean,quiet,by local standards room size is good.Very good location for either walking (30 min.most of it through a beautiful park) or public transit to the convention centre and also to the whole city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear customer,
First of all we wish you all our best wishes for this year of 2013.

We are delighted to see that your stay in Lyon and in our establishment very well took place.
You are right, what of more pleasant than to walk by going of our hotel to the Congress center by way of the Park of the Golden head.
If you have less time, as we are placed near the international congress center or Double Mixte, you can use the subway or the streetcar which walk past the hotel and you are returned within 10 minutes.
It is with big pleasure that we hope to have the next opportunity to welcome you in our establishment, do not hesitate to contact me if this opportunity appears.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights over a weekend to get to know Lyon. It is a nice and clean hotel, very near the subway, trams and buses and thus offers a good starting point to explore the city. Service was very friendly, especially in the restaurant. The rooms were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franziska300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear customers,

We thank you for your elegant and rewarding comments that you left with us further to your stay in our establishment whether it is at the level of the accommodation and of the catering.
You are right to insist that our hotel is situated on a strategic place of Lyon because you can with the public transportation visit all the most important places of the city of Lyon without blocking you of your car.
We remain at your disposal for your next stay in Lyon and wish you all our best wishes for this year of 2013.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeurbanne
Hotel des Congres
#1 of 6 in Villeurbanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Jules Ferry - Récamier
Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles
#2 of 6 in Villeurbanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Charpennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Charpennes

Property: Mercure Lyon Charpennes
Address: 7 Place Charles Hernu, 69100 Villeurbanne, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Villeurbanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Charpennes 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
98 rooms located between La Part Dieu CBD and the Cité Internationale, Convention Centre and Lyon (5 min). A strategic hotel for your professional and cultural stays.Opposite subway. Restaurant & bar. Meeting facilities. Paying covered carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Lyon Charpennes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Lyon Charpennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing