We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Lyon Charpennes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Charpennes
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Room large enough for couple with baby. Traveling bed was provided. Bathroom with bath. Nice room service choice. Slightly expensive but very convenient location next to villeurbanne center. Parking can be booked for small car. Generally good service. Copious breakfast with mixed English and continental.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear customers,

We thank you for having taken time to announce us your opinion concerning your stay in our hotel.

My team and myself sums very sensitive to your appreciations, they encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the service which we bring you answers at best your expectations.

It's with pleasure we wait of your next travel
Sincerely Yours.
Stephane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    152
    78
    30
    5
See reviews for
50
77
45
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
STRASBOURG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Bonjour,

Business trip for one night. Convenient location so I selected this hotel. 12 minutes walk from the Part-Dieu train station, close to subway and some restaurants in the neighborhood.

Got a room on the square side. Has been ok regarding noise but I sleep with earplugs. My room and corridors would need to be refreshed. Furniture in the room was stained and worn out. However sheets and towels were 100% clean. Bed was comfortable, had a good night.

Service is good. Did not go to the hotel restaurant apart from breakfast, but girls at breakfast service were very professional, polite and quick. People at the front desk are also very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear customer,

I thank you for your very good comment left during your stay in our establishment. My employees join me and also thanks you.
After have renovated all bathrooms soon we go to renovate ous rooms but like you say there are clean and it's very important.
I remain at your disposal for your next stay in Lyon where I shall have a big pleasure to welcome you.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi,Thailand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 people, together with another 23 tourists from Thailand stayed one night here on April 13,2014
The hotel is obviously excellent for traveling, namely a street in the front, tram stations at the side and across the street,the underground train.
Anyway, the hotel lobby is too small,particularly when all of us rushed inside with our luggage.
Our rooms are fair size and clean. There are all standard devices including TV with English speaking channels, as well as high speed WiFi
The receptionist is welcomed and very helpful. The breakfast was disappointing. It was basic continental breakfast, no egg, no sausage.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank borvornchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Google Translation
Chers clients,

Nous prenons note de votre commentaires et c'est avec un grand plaisir que nous accusons réception de votre satisfaction concernant notre établissement ainsi que de la qualité de service et le professionnalisme dont mes équipes ont fait preuve.

Nous sommes désolés pour la composition des produits pour votre petit déjeuner mais nous n'avons fait que respecter les engagements passés avec le prestataire qui à réserver votre voyage dans notre établissement.

Vous souhaitant de très bons séjours dans nos hôtels Mercure,

Bien cordialement

Stéphane Robillard
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunshaughlin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times on business and I have found it to be a very basic functional hotel.
If you just a bed and shower this is it.
Be warned it is expensive for a basic hotel.
The Breakfast is also a basic affair and the food in the restaurant is the same.
The staff are friendly and helpfull.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear customer,

We thank you for your message left on this site concerning your stay and the good points which you note concerning the quality of service of our staff.
We wish to bring a precision by insisting on the fact that we are not a hotel which possesses basic rooms as hotels classified in 1 or 2 stars but indeed 4-star hotel having received the official classification on behalf of an office of control authorized to make this certification. Our rooms comfort standart soundproofed by 25 m2 approximately possesses a large bed 160*200, a big work work-top, the heating-air conditioning, a flat-screen television with more than 20 chains of which channel canal + and foreign channels, a minibar, the offered WiFi internet, a closet, and a bathroom equipped in shower or bathtub and quite renewed in 2013.
As regards our displayed rates we are the Mercure hotel situated in the most cheaper Lyon of the group Mercure.
The hotel also possesses an undercover car park and closed very important to park in a big city as Lyon.
We remain at your disposal for any piece of information and any booking during your next stay.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Good location in a business area but with excellent metro and tram connections. Bit tricky getting into the car parking which is under the hotel and requires going the wrong way up a one way street or driving along the tram line. Parking was secure and seemed reasonable value for a city centre hotel (E13 per day). Room was spacious with complementary coffee and soft drinks. Unusual and welcome in France. Breakfast was a bit expensive at E16 so we down the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nick186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear customers,

I thank you for your very good comment left during your stay in our establishment. My employees join me and also thanks you.
It is true that since the setting of the Tramway on the place Charpennes, the customers have to by-pass now Tramway rails and pass by the street of HanoÏ to access our closed car park. I am anxious to specify that this street is in one-way street but our customers have the authorization to borrow it because there is a sign " ban except local residents or customers of the hotel ".
For the breakfast buffet in 16.90 € you can eat a real complete meal because you have cold and warm products, sweet and salty dishes, at will cold and hot drinks. And for our customers who wish a breakfast more light, we have the breakfast Express*Co in 8.50 € with hot drink, fruit juice, bread, butter, jam or croissants and similar products.
I remain at your disposal for your next stay in Lyon where I shall have a big pleasure to welcome you.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The staff were particularly helpful when the coffee machine failed to work.
The hotel's location is very convenient for transport. Just across the street is a metro station which is two stops from the TGV. There is a tram stop right outside and numerous buses. We did find there were very few restaurants near by and I think it is in the business district so perhaps serves those clientele more that tourists like us. As this is a city famous for its great restaurants, you must use the metro to get a good choice of food.
Breakfast was included and was of a high standard with a buffet.
The hotel represents very good value but be prepared to travel to get some of that famous Lyon food.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with a big balcony but there was a lot of noise from the street. While t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEMerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear customers

We thank you for your comment where you inform us about your satisfaction concerning your stay in our establishment.
We have a restaurant with regional products, menus or choice of dishes "à la carte" which our Head Chef advise to our customers.
To take advantage of your stay in leisure in the city of Lyon, we recommend to our customers to leave their car in our closed and covered car park and to take advantage of all the transport in front of on the place Charpennes in front of the hotel. You have in particular the Subway "A " which brings you from the hotel to the center of Lyon or the Old Center of Lyon with all its restaurants special Lyon in 5 minutes.
The hotel is very well situated to visit all the places of Lyon, city classified in the heritage of Unesco, with these transport.
You are also that in 5 minutes on foot to take advantage of brasseries of the big Head Chef of Lyon on the place Brotteaux.
We remain at your disposal for your next stay in Lyon and in the pleasure to meet you.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeurbanne
Hotel des Congres
#1 of 6 in Villeurbanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Jules Ferry - Récamier
Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles
#2 of 6 in Villeurbanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Charpennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Charpennes

Property: Mercure Lyon Charpennes
Address: 7 Place Charles Hernu, 69100 Villeurbanne, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Villeurbanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Charpennes 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
98 rooms located between La Part Dieu CBD and the Cité Internationale, Convention Centre and Lyon (5 min). A strategic hotel for your professional and cultural stays.Opposite subway. Restaurant & bar. Meeting facilities. Paying covered carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Lyon Charpennes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Lyon Charpennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing