We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”
Review of Hotel Ariana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ariana
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Reviewed 1 November 2010

It's dirty, do not correspond to the pics you will see on the Internet
The staff is not nice-French "style" -artificial courtesy

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank e4i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

This place was absolutely appalling. It was DEFINITELY not a three star - questionable as to whether it would even be a two star. The hotel is, overall, old and dirty and the service is exceptionally unhelpful. The room was much too hot to sleep, and if you opened the window, it was much too loud. When I went downstairs to ask if they had a fan or anything I was treated terribly by both members of staff. Everything in the room was dirty. Underneath the "table" (which did not look as if it had been cleaned in a year), there was a broken piece of wood propped up in an attempt to cover some pipes. The "shower" had no place to be rooted on to the wall (just a hose) and there was no shower curtain - so, needless to say, the place was covered in water but I was not particularly clean. The TV lost its signal after being on for 20 minutes and the internet connection continually dropped. The site displays many photos of a beautiful hotel, and when I asked the staff what these photos were, they were hostile in response. The site also says this is close to the train station - it's actually an hour walk. An absolutely terrible experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fluffy827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

This hotel is very small, old and dirty. The staff is not very friendly. There were small bugs in the bathtub and sink and bed. There is no restaurant or lounge. Breakfast was mediocre. Food and shopping nearby was not so bad.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PhoenixFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

this hotel does not deserve a 3 star status. during a trip around europe i arrived at hotel ariana to be surprised at how gloomy the hotel was. the lobby area was tiny and dull and as pleasent as a public toilet. when i recieved my key from the unpleasent receptionist me and my partner crammed into the lift for "4" people and went up to the 6th floor were are room was. when the doors opened we were hit by a damp musty smell in the corridor which lingered for our intire stay. the corridor as my girlfriend phrased looked like something from a horror film.

the room allocated to us was still occupied by someone therefore we had to change. this took about half an hour to explain to the guy at the reception who could care less. when we eventually got our own room i immediatly wanted to leave. the room was roasting hot and the aircon didnt work properly. its hidden behind the units and cant be adjusted. the windows opened but then the noise from ouside was too loud. the tv couldnt be turned up and therfore couldnt be heard. even with the windows closed. the decor in the room isnt whats seen on the internet pictures its dark and depressing with dirty dark blue carpet.

the bathroom was another issue the bath shower was dirty. you could see where the cleaners had poured bleach on and then just rinsed it off and there was one small clean line around where the bleach had landed. the shower head was hand held and there is no shower curtain or door and the fan doesnt work. also there was only one towel supplied for two people to use which wasnt clean as it has some brown stain on it. dont even want to know what it was.

our second night her i noticed the floor near the window was extremly damp and i discovered that it was the air conditioning unit was leaking. i reported this to the receptionist who said he would check it and never did.

if you cant speak french dont attend this hotel as the receptionists dont want to speak to you other wise. i was in paris before staying here and the hotel staff and manager where very pleasent and could have made our stay any nicer it was a 2* hotel which could have passed for a 3*. hotel ariana doesnt deserve a 3* rating.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Destination_Unknown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank ISABELLE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank DEHON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeurbanne
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Lyon Villeurbanne
0.9 mi away
Hotel des Congres
Hotel des Congres
#1 of 6 in Villeurbanne
352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel
Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel
#3 of 6 in Villeurbanne
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles
Ibis Styles
#2 of 6 in Villeurbanne
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariana

Address: 163 cours Emile Zola, 69100 Villeurbanne, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Villeurbanne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Price Range: £54 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariana 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ariana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariana Hotel Villeurbanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing