We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three stars but good”
Review of Hotel des Congres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Congres
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

3 nights for business, single


+ Front staff was very nice and attentive.
+ Near Palais de Congress and Tete D'or Park.
+ Clean rooms
+ Free Wifi
+ Good beds


-The room outfitting is like a Bond movie from the 70ties. Nothing has been changed since except the TV
-Breakfast is ok, nothing special
-The look from the window is suburban Lyon: nothing inspiring.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourtimeisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

Arrived via the back door as it was not altogether clear where the entrance is if you are coming from the tram stop - this area is a bit of 60's architect's wonderful dream of the future - i.e. a lot of reinforced concrete! Once in, I was a bit worried about what I had let myself in for, as it seemed a bit deserted. Remembering that this is a hotel at the budget end of things, I gave it the benefit of the doubt. As it turned out, the room seemed recently refurbished and clean. The bed was nicely made and the mattress was comfortable. Breakfast is standard continental fare, but a good variety-the crepes and maple syrup are highly recommended. Staff very professional and friendly and the free wifi worked very well. The bar is not open on a Sunday, and on week days they shut at 10:30pm, but as I was there for work reasons this was not a problem. This seems to be a bit of a student/residential area, and seems very quiet at night. Nearby is the park which is a gem. Just turn right, cross the amusingly named boulevard Stalingrad and the best of Lyon opens up to you.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spagnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here 3 nights - the hotel was recommended and chosen because it was within walking distance of the Centre of Congres at which I was attending a conference. The room and bathroom was a good size with plenty of storage space. Free wifi which was great! Staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to pay extra to hire a fold-out bed when we had an extra guest come to stay with us. The hotel is in a good location - very close to the park and within a short walking distance of the Metro station and Lyon Part Dieu train station.

Unfortunately the air conditioning did not work well when we stayed and it was very hot. Sleeping at night was uncomfortable because of the heat. We heard other guests complain of this also.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

the location of this hotel is far away from city center..approx 10min by taxi
breakfast was of limited quality and we went around 9 o clock and there were only a few things to eat!!!
room was ok, quite clean i must say and the reception personnel very helpful (especially the guy in the night shift who spoke very good english and was more than wiiling to help us in our enquiries)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisgr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Congres, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear traveler,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel des Congres.

We have taken due note of your review and are really sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our breakfast, which is made fresh daily. For your next stay, if you need assistance , do not hesitate to ask any member of the breakfast staff, they are at your entire service.

As regards the distance between the Hotel des Congres and the city center, we are, indeed, located 10 minutes away from Bellecour square by car.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Customer Relations Group Metropole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The location is good if you are there for a conference. The Tram is only a five minute walk away and will get you into the centre. The area directly surrounding the hotel is a bit strange, a little shabby but okay, many appartment buildings and a weird maze-like shopping area. There is a convenient grocery store right beside the hotel.
The staff was friendly. The breakfast was really good; had a lot of variety including a nice selection of fresh fruit.
The rooms were big enough. Not the newest looking but kept acceptably clean. The peice of glass in the bath to keep water from spraying everywhere was too small and I couldn't wash without drenching the whole bathroom. Beds seemed new-ish and were comfortable. Carpet seemed old. Tissue wasn't replaced the entire time we were there but that's not really a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artisticlcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2006

I only spent one night in this hotel on a business trip. Was unlucky to get a room close to the elevators, but overall my stay was fine, and I found the staff to be quite helpful. The location is excellent if you're coming to Lyon / Villeurbanne to visit the university campus which is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
My room was a bit dated but of a decent size, with separate bathroom and toilet, but the hotel has generally good facilities, including a quite good (but traditional) restaurant, safe parking and wifi (you have to pay for it though, 10 euro for 2 hours :-( ).
Please note the hotel is being renovated until the 29th of may 2006. I got a very good rate (about 70 euro) for a "prestige" room, I think this is good value for money. I would only recommend this hotel to a person in a similar situation (on his own, needing the location and a good rate)

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hepeoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2005

Very grim, shabby hotel in a fairly run down area of Lyon. Whilst close to the convention centre it was quite a way out of Lyon.

Take a look at my photos - they say it all really.

All in all, quite depressing.

  • Stayed: December 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Roseybud73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeurbanne
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles
Ibis Styles
#2 of 6 in Villeurbanne
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles
1.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Lyon Villeurbanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lagrange City Apart'Hotel Lyon Lumiere
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel & Spa de Chassieu
5.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Lyon Eurexpo
Golden Tulip Lyon Eurexpo
#1 of 10 in Saint-Priest
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Congres

Address: 1 Place du Commandant Riviere, 69100 Villeurbanne, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Villeurbanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Price Range: £48 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Congres 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel des Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Congres Hotel
Des Congres Villeurbanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing