We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gems At Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Winter Haven Inn(Clarence Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casuarina Villas(Pitts Town)
View Hotel
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas(Long Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
108
12
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
12
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonor barprivate beachdean's blue holelong islandrental carfull kitchensouthern partget awaygorgeous propertyyour disposalatlantic siderooms were very cleansouthern tipweather was perfectfish tacosexplore the islandgranola bars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

If you want: fantastic ocean views, friendly people everywhere, wildlife, birding, home cooked healthy, delicious food, fun people, people knowledgable about the island, peace, quiet, clean beaches...MANY clean, beautiful beaches, Fresh coconut water everyday, clean ocean air, did I mention friendly people? Then come here! Hans will get the coconuts for you, Shavonne will fill you in on all of the wonderful things of the island, and Sandy will treat you to the wonderful food that will comfort you. It is wonderful, unless you want lots of people and crowds and loud noise, then, maybe not for you-but it would probably do you good anyway if that is the case.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenfromBuckhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

KarenfromBuckhorn, thank you for sharing how much you loved the natural beauty of Long Island and the hospitality at Gems. We look forward to providing you with another fantastic vacation soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My wife and I had an amazing trip. We went to long island to be secluded and celebrate her birthday. Gems at paradise has a perfect location for what I was looking for. It is overlooking a gorgeous cove right out of a post-card and every room has a view of this. We ended up canoeing all over the cove. Was so amazing. The food was cooked by a local and was perfect. My favorite food there was the snapper. Room always very clean. Full bar and you can make whatever you want. They have snacks, soda, wines, etc. There are several local restaurants too. I recommend renting a car. Very easy to drive as one long road only. Ended up going to the sound end for a secluded beach. The north end to see Christopher Columbus monument (recommend swimming there in the cove as it is all sand bars and you can basically walk in the middle of the cove. It was like I was in a dream. Probably my best vacation. Owner gave my wife and I Ice cream cake on her birthday which finding ice cream is very hard on the island :) was much appreciated. Will go back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quackymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Q MD, it was our pleasure to help you provide your wife with a memorable birthday trip. We at Gems thank you for rating your experience here as your best vacation ever and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Awesome stay at Gems. A visit here is highly recommended. Very nice accommodations and great location. Shavonne and Hance are great hosts and they made our stay very enjoyable.. thanks so much for the fresh fish!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Chris K, it was our pleasure to arrange delivery of fresh fish from local fisherman for preparation in your unit. We look forward to welcoming you and your family I again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This place has it all. Beautiful property in a quiet secluded spot, own beautiful beach, well protected by a coral reef ring out in the harbor, smack in the middle of the Island, so it's close to everything, but far enough from development that you feel that you have your own piece of paradise, and last but not the least the incredible hosts Shavonne and Hanse, who did their absolut best to help us with regular (like a low tire on the car) and unusual stuff (a machete to explore the back bush for caves!)

We spent a week in a 1 brdm suite, having very nice kitchen was great for breakfast/dinner (but beware, groceries are quite expensive on the island). We had dinner every night on the property, delicious fresh fish (we asked for fish every night, they have other options).

We rented a car (inexpensive and gladly arranged by Shavonne at the time of booking - do get a 4 wheel drive if you want to explore all what the island has to offer), complete with airport pickup/dropoff, and saw at least 4-5 beaches, wonderful blue water, powdery sand beaches, and mostly deserted, all for ourselves. Long Island also has totally awesome caves, from the grandiose Hamilton's Cave (tours by Leonard Cartwright), to the less explored but definitely so interesting Deadman's Cay Cave (ask Shavonne how to get there, I left her a map!). These are live caves, water and bats - lot of bats - and an entomologist's dream (i wish I was one). According to Leonard, many more caves exist on the island, all mostly unexplored. I will definitely try to do that we come back to Long Island.

Food = excellent, stick with the smallest, least touristy place you can find. Sights = awesome. Mosquitos? The property is on a well protected cove (Clarence Town harbor) on the Atlantic side, so most of the time you have a very nice constant breeze to keep the bugs away.
But, if the wind dies or you go exploring anywhrre else, yes, they're there - and the noseeums. But you have to use common sense, long sleeves in the evening, bug spray (buy picardin based, non toxic, non smelly and very effective), or use the cream Shavonne has set in the main lobby. And again, don't go outside in teve evening before you make sure you're protected. The is a _tropical_ country, take precautions and you'll be fine. We really only heard/felt the mosquitos.

And last but not least, the night sky. We have brought an 8" telescope in the suitcase, binoculars, and assorted astrophotography equipment. The place did not dissappoint. You can stargaze right off the property (expecially if you ask them with help turning off some of the outside lights), anf if you drive across the island (on the seaside = west side), to a gorgeous beach 2 miles away, you get to the darkest, best sky you've seen in your lifetime. This is an astronomer's paradise.

We're going back there and we're staying at Gems.

Room Tip: Get one with a kitchen, it'll give you a lot of flexibility.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alintolea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Alin T, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of Gems and highlight all the tropical wonders of our property and the island. We look forward to welcoming you both back soon to explore yet more caves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful Easter break at Gems at Paradise. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with amazing views. The hospitality of Hance was second to none. If you are looking for an idyllic spot for a perfect break then Gems is ideal

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Judith G, thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your Easter experience. We are happy our level of service exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews